1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't run Crysis in XP64

Discussion in 'Games' started by Ben Clarke, Feb 15, 2008.

  1. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    OK, so. I just installed XP x64, and Crysis. When I run the shortcut, it gives me "launch64 has encountered an error". When I run the Crysis64.exe from the Bin64 folder, I get the same, but with Crysis64 instead of launch64. Running from the disk doesnt work either. I'm running 1.0 of Crysis, XP has all the latest updates. Any ideas please?

    Thanks,

    Ben
     
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,261 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,805
    Location:
    US
    Umm had no problems with the demo. Maybe you need to turn off DEP and turn on compatibility mode ?

    How to turn off DEP

    Right click My Computer select Properties
    Left Click Advanced Tab
    Under Performance Click settings
    Tabs at top Ones is called Data Execution Prevention Click it.
    Select second option Turn on DEP for all programs and services except those i select.
    Reboot be needed i believe
    Add your program to the list

    How t turn on Compatibility Mode

    Right click the Crysis shortcut and select properties
    The tab called Compatibility click it
    Under Compatibility Mode tick the box and try putting it on Windows XP.


    Other thoughts are you the admin of computer ?. And have you updated XP x64 with SP2 and all other updates ?.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2008
  3. warhammer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    204 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
  4. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Just installed, no luck. Trying a repair install now.
     
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,261 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,805
    Location:
    US
  6. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Clicking in the directory does, but how do I set it so I don't need to do that everytime I play the game?
     
  7. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    OK, got it running with a shortcut. But... there are no objects in game. The intro movie had no trees, no statue... nothing. Just fog and a blue light. Why?
     
  8. surfsk8snow.jah

    surfsk8snow.jah

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    457 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    Ya I'm running the same, and I had to do some finagling with the in-directory shortcut vs. the default one installed on your desktop. You have to use the x64 one specifically. And also, I run dual monitors; that was causing some problems, but I just made sure to start on square monitor as default, with no other apps open in 2nd monitor, and I don't click alt-tab to the second monitor either, that crashes it. But I never experienced anything with the no objects. I've had a couple other weird visual bugs, (like the sky having water effects, mirroring the ground & trees, etc.) altho they never really mess anything up.
     
  9. daboggeyman

    daboggeyman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    114 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    N.E. Alabama
    I run Crysis with XP Pro 64bit with out problem. There is an opp. to run in 64 or 32 bit mod.
    Have you tried adjusting your video settings? Might try the default setting to start and go from there. Update your video card drivers also.
     
  10. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    I'm runniong the 7.12 drivers... the 8.x screw things up. (green lines all over the place, severe lag). I'm going to reinstall now, see if that helps...
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,979 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Honestly, I think you have too little memory (both vid. card and system) to be running Crysis on XP 64. It may be the reason you aren't getting any objects, it's lagging that much! I could be totally wrong, and it could be some sort of software problem, but good luck.
     
  12. joker71

    joker71 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    finland
    crysis

    1) u can not turn off dep in xp or vista
    2) crysis runs only on vista 32 & 64 bit
    3) its not build for xp or xp64 bit version
    4) look at the crytek website for support

    http://www.crytek.com
     
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    1.) You can most certainly can turn off DEP in XP and XP64. I know, I do it, and have a screenshot to confirm.
    [​IMG]
    2.) Crysis runs on more than Vista. Ask the dozens of members on this forum that run it in XP.
    3.) Please refer to #2
    4.) Fair enough. lol.
     
  14. joker71

    joker71 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    finland
    no not fair enough, u can´t shutdown dep only exclude u noob i work for microsoft more than 10 years so i know more than u think to know
     
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,261 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,805
    Location:
    US
    Umm Not sure about Vista but i can turn of DEP for my comp and my older one(Both XP 32bit\64bit ).

    Xp nt supported thats odd. However it don't say it supports 64bit there ( GAME PLATFORM
    PC (WindowsXP and Windows VISTA) )
    http://www.crytek.com/games/crysis/overview/

    Crysis played fine on this system with x64


    Try this link see what it says for you
    http://www.systemrequirementslab.com/referrer/ea_usa?registration_option_id=5610

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2008
  16. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,261 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,805
    Location:
    US

    But even if you were not able to disable it which you are ( I am sure Wile E would of noticed if you cannot ) you say your self you can exclude that means by pass DEP which means you CAN turn it off for each program you select....


    Me thinks MS need new workers if your the example..
     
  17. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I think even MS employees would be a lot more mature than that guy, I think he's lying.

    Also, I agree with erocker, you have too little memory, Even with 2Gb I get stuttering when loading new objects.

    I'm running XP64 right now, and I have absolutely no problems with Crysis. Runs everytime. I think you could do with doing a bit of maintenance. Uninstall, defrag, clean out your harddrives, spyware sweeps etc.

    Also, the 8.x drivers gave me big improvements on my 3870 over the 7.12s. Try using a driver cleaner program to get rid of 7.12, THEN install the 8.x drivers, there seems to be problems with just upgrading the drivers you currently have.
     
  18. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    The 8.2 was a clean install from no drivers, had the same problem with x32 drivers. Anyway, I swiched back to 32 bit XP, hopefully it'll fix some of my problems. Thanks for all the help anyway.

    @erocker - That may be. But it ran fine with just the 1GB before in medium quality, and pretty well in high, but lagging a little in high.
     
  19. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    If you exclude, it is off. Same damn thing. Don't come in here insulting my intelligence, when you're the one giving false information about Crysis. Post reported.
     
  20. joker71

    joker71 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    finland
    when u exlcude than its not off,the dep will not check the file thats it, and yes u are a noob simple and what about your intelligence that about 0.0 on the iq scale i dont give false info my info is correct, so report i am not scared not for u or anything else. :pimp:
     
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    If it is excluding everything, it is off. In case you didn't know (which is pretty apparent), you add the /noexecute=alwaysoff switch to your boot.ini, and it disables DEP.

    Here is proof straight from Microsoft: http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms791539.aspx

    Any other questions?
     
  22. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    lol what a nub, pwned, and i second wile's previous notion, you can't work for ms, and if you do your a porter nothing more. gg with being a nub buddy
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,979 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Joker 71, insulting people usually isn't tolerated here. It's also a bad way to make friends. And lying is bad too.:slap: Have a bad day today? Wile E is very smart. Everyone here knows that and will tell you that. Do you understand? Say your sorry and be nice.:)
     
  24. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,261 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,805
    Location:
    US

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page