1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't run dx11 games on Mobility 5650

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by daerragh, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. daerragh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've encountered several problems with with my new Acer 5740g (1.22 BIOS) and I'm afraid these are connected with Mobility 5650 or its drivers.

    I run Win 7 HB x64 (DirectX June). Civilization V in dx11 crashes just after 'Firaxis Games' intro sequence (dx9 .exe doesn't work either). The same thing happens to Dirt 2 (also dx11) - game crashes just after developer's and publisher's intros.

    Different thing happens to Metro 2033. Running it in dx11 in 1366x768 causes the game to display black vertical stripes running all over the screen (stripes each two millimeter wide and two mm space between them, so they look like narrow bars), although game graphics is generated (displayed) 'under' those black stripes. What's more bizzare, the game runs fine in 1360x768 in dx11. In dx9 and 10 game also runs fine with all settings possible. Metro 2033 benchmark runs fine even in DX11 1366x768, until I turn DOF on, then black stripes appear again.

    Bad Company 2 (dx11 again) displays only a dark blue screen after running single player intro movie (the one that consists only of subtitles, e.g. "This is what really happened that day").

    All games were patched to their latest versions.

    I thought I somehow have problems with dx11 but Unigine Heaven 2.1 runs fine. dx11 graphics demos like ATI Ladybug and Mecha also run fine. Nvidia's Stone Giant (dx11) too doesn't make any problems. Even STALKER Call of Pripyat benchmark runs well with all settings. So basically benchmarks run ok, dx11 games don't.

    On the other hand, Sniper Ghost Warrior runs completely fine, but it is only dx10 or dx9 game. Oblivion too runs great, so as even Quake III Arena.

    I even reinstalled Windows for 7 x86 (DirectX June), tried a couple of different Catalyst drivers before and after using Windows Update feature but the problem still persist. I even downloaded two different DX11 hotfixes from Microsoft but they solved nothing.

    I really feel hopeless about this and I'm considering returning my laptop. Any help would be much appreciated.
     
  2. Mr McC

    Mr McC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    I don't pay much attention to laptops and am therefore quite ignorant, but could it be that you are asking too much of the card? What other settings are you using in the games you mention? Metro, for instance, will quickly bring most systems to their knees if you try to enable all the advanced DX11 settings. I found that I experience problems subsequent to 10.4, which are more or less fixed in each accompanying "hotfix" release for the Radeon series, but I'm not sure if that is of any help to you.

    Are you sure that you removed all traces of previous drivers prior to each fresh install?

    I wouldn't rule out faulty hardware, but there are bound to be other avenues to investigate before taking that decision. Wait until the resident experts reply.

    Sorry I can't be of any real assistance.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2010
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,966 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    I know it isn't really going to help your problem, but a mobility HD 5650 isn't going to be able to handle any DX11 effects/games anyway, at least not at playable framerates.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. Mr McC

    Mr McC

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    I was afraid of that. How would the Mobility HD 5650 compare to the Radeon series? Where would it fit in on the performance scale, what would be its equivalent?
     
  5. daerragh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the really quick replies. I know 5650 isn't much capable of running dx11 on high details but the problem is I can't even run a dx11 capable game at low details (despite metro) or any details for that matter, all games either crash on startup or after choosing a campaing.

    I mean games that doesn't support dx11 run fine (Oblivion, Sniper). But even Civ V dx9 executable gives appcrash (c000005) error during initial intros. In BC2 I can enter the menu but after I select single playar campaign (at various graphics settings) the game displays only a dark blue screen after single player intro. Dirt 2 similarly to Civ V doesn't even want to show me the game menu - it appcrashes just after initial intros.

    As to the 5650's performence, I can run Stalker CoP dx11 ultra settings benchmark at about 30 fps. Other dx11 benchmarks run pretty well too. I wonder if I installed the Stalker game itself (not only the benchmark), would it be running fine?

    And yes, I did as clean driver installations as I could.

    @up: it's equivalent is desktop 5550 - 400 stream processors, gddr3.
     
  6. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    pretty much spot on with that, as for not bring able to even run DX11... thats very very bizarre, I have the exact same chip (mobility 5650) albeit overclocked from 550/800 to 700/950 and I can run DX11 just fine in Dirt2, almost maxed out @ 1366x768.

    you may get bad fps, but the games should at least be launching. latest mobility drivers are 10.8 and they run just fine for me too.

    I'm thinking it over for you dude... nothing springing to mind yet.
     
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,966 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    It could be drivers, or it could be bad hardware.

    I suggest running a round of Unigine Heaven Benchmark, making sure to use the maximum settings possible to ensure the VRAM is filled completely.

    Then the standard memtest, OCCT, Linpack tests. Keeping an eye on temps during all of this.

    If none of those show any errors, I'd try a clean install of Windows 7.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    C000005 is an access violation. Perhaps a problematic DLL.
    You said you have the June DX11 installed. Do you also have the C++ 2010 redistrabutable?
    (You can installed both the C++ 2008 and 2010 redists at the same time)
     
  9. daerragh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies. I really appreciate that you guys trying to help me out.

    @Kreij: I'm installing it now. As soon as I try it I'll post you the feedback.

    EDIT: Unfortunately, VC2010 Redist didn't bring any improvement to the situation ;(

    @newtekie1: Yes, all of that has already been done unfortunately with no positive results on my problem. Temps are really well. First day I got this lappy I teared it down and applied Coollaboratory Liquid Pro to ensure low temps. Memtest didn't find any errors in RAM. I even used memtestcl (Memtest86 in OpenCL) for testing VRAM but it can only test 256 MB out of my 1 GB. It didn't find any errors.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2010
  10. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,151 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    daerragh,

    The traditional desktop 5650 is piss poor for gaming, the mobility version is typically scaled down to reduce power consumption so its even slower. Although I believe the crashing is driver related , either way there is no way you'll be able to run the latest games well, and in DX11 mode its not going to happen, for that matter DX10 mode isnt going to happen either. If there is a DX9.0 mode .exe I sugguest you use it. Its for this reason the community only advocates any level of serious PC gaming on a desktop.
     
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,966 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    Well, it could be a bad GPU, but then that doesn't explain why Unigine works.

    While I agree with you somewhat, the point is that the game should still start up, even if they have horrible framearates. So we need to figure out that problem.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. daerragh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't know if it's going to help but I'm sending you Metro 2033 image. It may seem from the picture that the bars are somewhat dark but they are actually all black.

    http://img693.imageshack.us/img693/6084/05102010029.jpg

    What is really interesting (and annoying too) is that Metro 2033 benchmark works well in dx11 1366x768 (game itself in 1360x768), but it only goes wrong (i.e: black bars appear) if I turn Depth of Field on in the benchmark options.
     
  13. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,151 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    The bar looks like something that you'd occur if a particular feature like a shader was forced to be enabled if it was unsupported. It could be a physical hardware fault with the card itself. I'm not sure what "we" can do.

    This just spells out that some features are not supported on the 5650, hence the abnormalities.
     
  14. daerragh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    @up: But other people with Mobility 5650 didn't report such problems as I do...

    Is it possible that one particular part of the GPU core that is responsible for a particular effect is broken? Wouldn't it just be like everything was broken if only some part of GPU was broken?
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2010
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,966 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    The 5650 should support these features, but that doesn't mean the GPU isn't damaged in some way, and a lot of stability testing programs will not pick up on all the issue.

    I'm leaning towards bad graphics card.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. daerragh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This is the appcrash i'm getting with Dirt2:

    Podpis problemu:
    Evant name: APPCRASH
    App name: dirt2_game.exe
    Version: 1.1.0.0
    Time signature: 4b598827
    Name of the faulty module: dirt2_game.exe
    Its version: 1.1.0.0
    Time signature of the faulty module: 4b598827
    Exception code: c0000005
    Exception movement: 0016e2ef
    Wersja systemu operacyjnego: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.2
    Identyfikator ustawieĊ„ regionalnych: 1045
    Dodatkowe informacje 1: 0a9e
    Dodatkowe informacje 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
    Dodatkowe informacje 3: 0a9e
    Dodatkowe informacje 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

    I translated it form polish, so I'm sorry for any translation misaccuracies.

    And Civilization V error:

    Event name: APPCRASH
    App name: CivilizationV_DX11.exe
    Its version: 1.0.0.20
    Time signature: 4ca37045
    Faulty module name: CvGameDatabaseWin32Final Release.dll
    It's version: 0.0.0.0
    Time signature of the faulty module: 4c9c5ebd
    Exception code: c0000005
    Exception movement: 000067b4
    OS version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.768.2
    Regional settings ID: 1045
    Additional info 1: 0a9e
    Dodatkowe informacje 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
    Dodatkowe informacje 3: 0a9e
    Dodatkowe informacje 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

    As you can see, both exception codes are the same - c0000005.

    As far as I know this is a memory problem. My RAM is ok (tested), so maybe this is connected to VRAM? I have to admit that I did some overclocking with the card and I pushed it to as far as C:730 M:995, but when some artifacts appeared during testing I instantly set the clocks for 700 and 950 and left it that way (no artifacts with ATItool). I could play Oblivion, 3dmark06 with these clocks without any problem. Unigine and other dx11 benchmarks also run well with these clocks (no artifacts). But it was only after the overclocking I installed real dx11 games. So I don't know if they would run well before first overclocking attempt. I believe I didn't break the GPU because with the first artifacts I underclocked the card. Highest temperatures I got on the GPU were mere 71*C.

    In other games I don't get such errors - I already described their misbehaviors in the first post.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2010
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,966 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    So are you still overclocked when you are getting these errors? If so, try returning your card to its default clock speeds, you might even try underclocking your card to see if the problem goes away.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. daerragh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I currently run the card at stock clocks and I get errors with this setting. Few days ago I even underclocked it to C:450 M:600 but I was still getting the same errors as before.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2010
  19. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    thinking a driver error
    reinstall, using driver cleaner
     
  20. daerragh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply.
    I did clean driver reinstallations several times using different driver versions. I even reinstalled Win 7 x64 to x86 but with no positive result to the problems.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2010
  21. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    What version of .net frameworks do you have?
     
  22. daerragh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have Windows' built-in 3.5.1 and 4 from Windows Update. Do you think it would make a difference for me if I installed older versions?

    There is a hope! Stalker CoP works very well in dx11 enhanced full lighting; generaly all option set to max. In the place where single player starts I get about 30 fps.

    But unfortunately non of the other games has started working...
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2010
  23. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    why don't you try to RMA it?
     
  24. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    ffs, please read, he said SOME games, obiviously software issues :banghead:
     
  25. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page