1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't set speakers as 2.1

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Irish_PXzyan, Mar 12, 2013.

  1. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Well lads,
    I'm using a Windows 8 laptop and I'm trying to set my speakers as 2.1 as I've just bought a new little speaker system for it.

    When I'm in audio config, it only shows stereo 2.0 and nothing else can be changed??

    I'm unable to get any bass/treble control or any special features! even the realtek/dolby audio control thing doesn't allow any bass/treble changes... it only has EQ changes and that's it.

    Does anyone have any suggestions??
     
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,402 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,253
    Location:
    Oregon
    You can use the EQ in WMP. Just leave it as 2.0
     
  3. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I don't use WMP :p I use JetAudio for all music as I mainly listen to Internet radio!
     
  4. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,239 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    2.1 isn't an official standard. It's stereo. The speaker system will self manage itself and redirect the low frequencies to the subwoofer or .1 channel automatically. Set it to 2.0 and forget about it.
     
    Irish_PXzyan says thanks.
  5. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I've no choice anyway :p I would prefer to be able to mess with the bass/treble for better results but it looks like I'm out of luck :/ ah well,
    Cheers anyway
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  6. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,239 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Those treble and bass options are on a driver level. Windows 8 is new so the soundcard manufacturer is probably more concerned about stability than extra features. Hopefully with time your features will return.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2013
  7. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,446 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I hope you're right :p
    Thanks for your help.
     
  8. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    823 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Get A Decent Audio Player

    Ever heard of Foobar 2000? It's a free open source audio player that can handle any type of file and resolution (most of my music files are 24/96) and it's got a decent EQ built in, plus it can be configured any way you want it. Another good player is the Clementine Music Player 1.1, it has a lot of internet radio options and automatically displays the lyrics of each song.
     
  9. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,067 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    703
    Jriver media jukebox has the following DSP studio options:
     

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page