1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't start my ASUS K8V after 1 RAM removed

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Alx, Nov 24, 2007.

  1. Alx

    Alx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Middle of Nowhere
    Hi!
    My friend has an ASUS K8V board (2*512 kingston ram ddr400, x1600Pro, 2800+ and seagate 160gb sata1). We tried to put one more 512mb, it worked well on 333mhz. But the system couldn't start after i removed it. No beeps even when i remove all the RAM and video card. Cleared cmos several times, removed the battery, but no good. Can the BIOS be damaged somehow?? What's the couse???

    Thanks...
     
  2. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    US
    are you using the right slots for RAM? the first slot should always have RAM.
    did you try to change RAM? like take the one that doesn't work out and place another one in.
     
  3. Alx

    Alx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Middle of Nowhere
    The first slot is always in use of coz. Tried them one by one, no change. Also we tried the ram on another machine, no problem.
    Before removing i pressed pause\break while the BIOS was showing the sata hard drives, and then pushed the power button and turned the system off. It couldn't start any more...
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,980 (12.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,401
    Re-flash the bios? Reset CMOS? Disconnect all power from the machine?
     
  5. Alx

    Alx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Middle of Nowhere
    @erocker, I cleared CMOS several times, removed the battery, disconnected all the power chords and plugged them again but still i just get all the fans running. No beep. How can I reflash the BIOS? I dont't have the required device.
     
  6. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    US
    hmm... i don't know what to say.
    sorry. hope you still got warranty.
     
  7. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    put the memory back in?
     
  8. Alx

    Alx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Middle of Nowhere
    @DaMulta. Put the memory back, still nothing. Warranty expired 1.5 year ago :(
    There is one more thing, mobo made the same when I put the third RAM, but i just cleared CMOS and it worked well. Other suggestions??
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page