1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Can't update to Catalyst 6.9

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by valiant65, Oct 2, 2006.

  1. valiant65 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    I just got an ATI 1950xtx card but I am not able to update Catalyst to 6.9 (the version on the CD is 6.8 I think although the version numbers are a bit confusing in the About box). When I try to run the 6.9 installer I get an "inf not found" error message with a recommendation to install a "standard VGA adapter" before running the installer. One of the big reasons for getting this card was to run both HDR and anti-aliasing on Oblivion but I can't install the "Chuck patch" either - same error message. I've googled around a bit and found other people with the same problem but no solution :(

    Hoping someone here will be able to help since ATI's support has not done anything (other than sending an automated reply about installing new drivers).

    I'm running XP Pro SP2 by the way.
     
  2. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Ok, did you remove all traces of the previous video drivers? Use drivercleaner and make sure. Then make sure any other video adapters have been fully removed from the device manager.
     
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    the ati un-install tool generally works :)
     
  4. valiant65 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    Thanks - I followed the ATI instructions to a) uninstall all ATI programs, b) delete all ATI folders (including Temp files), and c) deleting ATI entries in the registry but I still got the error message. I'll try drivercleaner if you think that will make a difference but I don't understand how a "inf not found" error can be related to insufficiently clean uninstall? Have you experienced this error and been able to rectify it with drivercleaner?
     
  5. valiant65 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    I tried drivercleaner and still no luck - same "inf not found" error message. I run RAID0 - could that be the reason (although it doesn't make sense that I'm able to install the Catalyst 6.8 on the install CD then). I've also tried to redownload the new Catalyst in case my download had a problem earlier but still the same problem. :( Very frustrating - mever had driver update issues when I used nVidia cards.
     
  6. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Yeah, I have gotten some creepy errors if the old drivers aren't fully gone, but I think you've got it all covered. What files did you download? Did you dowload the complete "highspeed" folder, or the low speed segments? It seems like something is missing from the drivers.
     
  7. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,910 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    469
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Its not about the drivers he has in there, its that ATI in there divine wisdom forgot to put the X1950's .inf in the driver package. Im sure if you look around at the modded drivers one of them will have tweaked the .inf.
     
  8. hmorphone New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That's exactly what happened. You have to either manually add it to the inf file, download one of the tweaked drivers that someone has already fixed, or just wait and upgrade with 6.10 towards the end of the month.
     
  9. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Catalyst 6.9 doesn't support X1950XTX. You have to find Catalyst 6.9 Beta which supports X1950XTX or to manually add X1950XTX in to the .inf file as recommended above.
     
  10. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,259 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    Please RTFM

    I think if you READ the readme you will see that X1950XTX is not supported in the 6.9 driver set.

    Google the issue and you will see lots of websites that show you how to hack the 6.9 drivers to work on the X1950. (Essentially, you will run the X1900 drivers on the card... not a big deal... same silicon).
     
  11. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    lol i think he gets the message that it isnt supported :p
     
  12. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,259 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    Two answer posts... my mistake, was half way through answering and went to lunch. Came back to "help", only to find that AFTER I posted, Dolf had got there earlier. :nutkick:

    Oh well, 2 answers... Yes, I'm sure OP can't miss the message now!:laugh:

    Try http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1101516 for your answer.
     
  13. valiant65 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    Hehe - didn't read the Readme I'm afraid. :) I somehow thought that ATI would include support for their flagship product in their latest driver version - silly me... ;)

    Anyway, thanks guys for the input. I was very happy for a short while since I was (seemingly) able to install the modified driver (from http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1101516) without the dreaded "inf not found" error. I followed the instructions to the letter (first I removed all ATI installs, ran drivercleaner, then installed the modified driver, next the separate WDM driver and separate Catalyst Control Center from the ATI site and rebooted). I didn't get any error message so I thought I was finally past my troubles, but for some strange reason I can't start the Catalyst Control Center and there isn't an ATI icon in my systray either. The drivers seem to be there and functioning (from looking at the Windows Device Manager) but Catalyst won't start so I can't set my antialiasing, etc. I'm at my wits end - the other people who tried this seem to be able to make it work so what could be the problem? Am I just a dork and missing something obvious here??? ;)
     
  14. dolf New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    2,058 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    I have X850XT PE AGP (well known product) but I have had the same problem with the CCC. I have done almost all (reinstalling the net faramework and the drivers, uninstalling the CCC and fresh installation but it still doesn't work). In order to make it work you have to reinstall the Windows (unfortunately :cry: ).
     
  15. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,259 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
  16. vortexkrow New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    45 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  17. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,722 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    When it happened to me .NET framework was missing (I swore I had it!).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page