1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cant wake up! help!

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by 3870x2, Jan 23, 2011.

  1. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    The title is used to catch your eyes.:)

    My computer will go to sleep when left alone for some time obviously, but ever one in 7 times or so, will NOT wake up. To wake it up, I have to turn it off by the power button in the PS (no other way of turning it off works, not even cussing very loudly at it :) )

    ASUS Crosshair iv (ROG)
    AMD Pii 945
    4GB 1600 DDR3 (forget ramtype, but it checks out fine)
    quite a few hard drives, totaling up to about 10TB internal storage, 2x150GB in RAID-0
    Thermaltake Soprano Case
    2x5750 CFX (amazing, can still play everything today max with AA)

    Notable software:
    Windows 7 ULT
    AVG (not pro, computer checks out in malwarebytes and hijack this!)
    Fences)

    1. There is power going to the computer, everything is lit up including the mouse, etc... Mouse will light up for just a second when click, like the computer is going to turn on, then goes off.

    2. Computer passes all tests, and has been dusted out thoroughly.

    3. Computer temperature maintains great, my airflow is amazing, nothing is overclocked (Hasn't been since this problem, and wont be again until the problem is fixed)

    4. Behavior points to it being a motherboard issue, but then again im asking the many experts we have here at TPU to be sure.

    5. There have been no known issues with this computer with me, or it's parts' previous owners. The buttons on the case, and the buttons on the motherboard (has 'start' and 'reset' on the motherboard)

    6. No known pattern as far as I can tell in terms of what might cause this.

    7. Works perfectly once the computer starts back up and resumes windows.

    Thank you very much in advance for your help everyone!
     
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    You have to shut it off by using the PSU switch?
    Holding the power button in for 4 or 5 seconds does not work?
     
    3870x2 says thanks.
  3. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    that is correct. Even when turning it back on with the computer, I have to wait about 10 minutes before it turns back on.

    That being said, it may sound like a heat issue, and will not turn back on until it cools back down.

    Obviously the fans will not be running in sleep mode, so could there be something heating up abnormally?

    I wish I could test, but the computer will cool things down before I could run a HWmon or something like it.

    BTW Kreij, how are you in PHP?
     
  4. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Maybe the PSU is flakey. Do you have another one you can try?

    @PHP question ... it's taboo to speak of programming in the M&M section.
    Post in P&W. ;) Always happy to try and help.
     
    3870x2 says thanks.
  5. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Yeah, wasn't going to ask the question here, but I should have known you know something about php. Look there, im going to ask you a question about an algorithm.

    I do have another PSU, but it does not support the array of connections that I require. I will begin whatever tests I can conduct on this one and let you know the results.

    BTW PSU is a RAIDmax 700w. The power to the system is above marginal, the same PSU was used in my system before, which had a power hungry 9800GX2 among other electric bill catalysts.
     
  6. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Singapore
    try re-seating all the peripherals. Start with the ram and CPU and if it persists, vontinue with the VGAs, Sound card , network cards, etc. Sounds to me like something isn't seated properly and shorts out returning from sleep mode.
     
    3870x2 says thanks.
  7. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,793 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Why don't you prevent it from going to sleep altogether? I've had some boards do that, it was a pain in the ass trying to fix it for some people, since it is random like you say.
     
    3870x2 says thanks.
  8. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Thank you very much for the response!

    This is one of the checks I do before ever posting on any forum. Too many peoples time is wasted figuring out that the ram is sticking out halfway :D

    This is kind of like a computer aficionado's "Sir, is the Power cord plugged into the monitor?"

    I will have to agree with Assaulter_99, but what kind of hit will this take on the longetivity of the hardware, and the electric bill?
     
  9. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Was any hardware changed recently, or any new software installed? Is this a fresh new build? Any USB device's (Other than keyboard/mouse) plugged in?

    I would unplug all USB device's, and see if it hangs. Also check your windows Power Settings, and check the Sleep section and the Wake Timers. Make sure the Wake timer is set to Enabled.

    EDIT: Run Memtest, and test your Video Cards individually instead of XFire.
     
    3870x2 says thanks.
  10. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    None if you just shut it off when you know you are not going to use it for several hours. :)
    Leaving a computer run (awake) does not affect the longevity. I've had servers that were up 24/7 for years without a reboot or anything.
     
    3870x2 says thanks.
  11. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,793 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Yeah I read a theory out there that stated that some hardware are better off staying on all the time on than on/off, especially HDD's etc. Temps are then stable, which is good for electronics. Thats why like Kreij stated, servers sometimes have very long lifetimes. The electric bill is another story though, but as long as your power options/throttling down etc are on... :)
     
    3870x2 says thanks.
  12. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I was thinking more along the mechanical side of longetivitiy, but i guess if they arent actually writing/reading anything, it wouldn't hurt.

    Thank you all for your responses, due to it being hard to test because it happens rarely, I will leave the computer running.

    Solved, /thread.
     
  13. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Just as a side note, I've had computers that would not wake up all the time using the mouse but hitting the space bar on the keyboard would work. Never figured that one out. lol
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page