1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cant't access my Wifi router WRK54g

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by GLeN, Dec 8, 2007.

  1. GLeN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Ages ago when i could logon to the router and change settings, I change the ip address by accident then foolishly saved :shadedshu I need to get back on to turn on the wifi encryption. I would like to know how can i access this router without knowing the IP any ideas?
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    right click network ikon
    go to status
    support
    and look for default gateway

    that ip should be that of the router
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2007
    GLeN says thanks.
  3. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    what router is it?
    It will probably have a hard reset button that will return it to its original state with the IP being either 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.0.1

    and password dependant on make but usually:
    admin / pass
    admin / admin
    admin / password
    administrator / password

    Please note that resetting the wifi router, you will have to have your broadband connection username password ready to re-enter as it will reset itself to the day it rolled out the factory. so only do this if you sure you have all the info to get yourself back online again.

    ;)
    GLeN says thanks.
  4. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,598 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,568
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I've always found a router to be one of these two, but then I've only messed with a handful of routers from a couple companies.

    192.168.0.1
    or
    192.168.1.1

    twicksisted beat me to it. :toast:
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,690 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    US
    you can find out the gateway IP by making sere DNS and DHCP services are running. Then Goto Control Panel \ Network connections \ Connection name ( Click It ). Then click the tab at the top called Support.. To find more click Details you can highlight all text there and use CTRL+ C to copy it.
  6. GLeN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    243 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Thanks guys I type in ipconfig in command.exe, the ip was 192.168.2.1. Thanks alot very helpful.

    It is a WRK54g linksys wifi router.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page