1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

card detection

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by otismp1, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. otismp1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I took my rig apart the other day to clean it and after i put it back together my graphics card is no longer being detected. It gets power enough to spin up the fan on my gtx 570 and send a carrier signal to my monitor but if i go into my device manager it only shows the on board graphics card. I also tried installing updated drivers for the card and had no luck because the installer that NVIDIA has needs to detect a graphics card to allow installation.

    --edit--
    Sorry if i posted this in the wrong section
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2013
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,050
    try disabling onboard graphics?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,793 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    Location:
    New York
    Did you remember to plug in the six pin or eight pin (power) which ever it has...? You may also need to disaBLE ONBOARD gpu probably via the bios.
     
  4. otismp1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes i plugged in the power, it's two 6 pin connectors. No i haven't disabled the on board graphics yet but i will try that.

    Here's what i've done so far:
    1)Try using 2 different 6 pin connectors. result-no change
    2)tUsed alternate pci slot. result-no change
    3)tried driver update. result-couldn't instal the update because no card was detected
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,674 (9.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,152
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Would you have extra hardware or a friend with a PC that you could test in?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. otismp1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Im going to ask my friend at school today if i can stop by his house and test it on wednsday. Im really hoping it's just something stupid and not my graphics card being fried :(
     
  7. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,175 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Are you sure you plugged in your monitor in the output of the graphics card and NOT the onboard graphics? Try clearing the BIOS also and disabling onboard VGA.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page