1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Card Failing?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by JhnStorm, Sep 2, 2014.

  1. JhnStorm

    JhnStorm

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hello, recently I've been experiencing a certain issue while playing Guild Wars 2. It seems whenever a lot of particles show up on screen, my monitor fades to black and shows no signal. I still have audio and power to my computer, and I can't do anything except reset my computer manually. I'm wondering if it's a power issue or my GPU going out on me. Thank you.
    =====================
    PC Specs:
    Motherboard: BIOSTAR TA970
    Power: Rosewill ATX 12v 700W
    Monitor: AOC e2243fwk
    Processor:AMD FX(tm)-8350 Eight-Core Processor
    Manufacturer:AMD
    Speed:4.0 GHz
    Number of Cores:8
    Video Card:AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series (Radeon HD 7770 XFX CORE Edition)
    Manufacturer:ATI
    Chipset:AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
    Dedicated Memory:1.0 GB
    Total Memory:738.4 MB

    Memory:8.2 GB
    Operating System:Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition Service Pack 1 (build 7601), 64-bit
    Service Pack:1
    Size:64 Bit
    Edition:Home Premium
     
  2. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,085 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,413
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    check the heat first, or try to replace your thermal paste too and the fan then test it
    it looks like overheat
     
  3. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,374 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    GMT +2
    uninstall vga drivers.
    clean up old drivers with driver sweeper or something similar
    install 14.4
    if this doestn help look for hardware issues.
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  4. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,265 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  5. Timmen

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    21 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    gpu chip solder or memory is failing due to heat, try the baking trick, i revived many graphic cards, incl. laptop's that way, but i used a heatgun instead, many how to's on Youtube.
    if fixed, make sure to clean al dust and put new thermalpaste on it, or make a fan profile with higher fanspeed.
     
  6. JhnStorm

    JhnStorm

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Okay so I ran a temp test on and it peaked at around 54°C before going out again (While playing GW2). Is this too hot? I should also probably mention that this ONLY happens when I play Guild Wars 2. Other graphically demanding games run fine without problems.

    Thank you all for your input.
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  7. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,374 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    GMT +2
    54 is ok temp for vga. try cleanup and reinstall driver. if problem doesnt show up with other games (even with more demanding) then it could be problem with game itself rather then issue with your pc
     
    JhnStorm says thanks.
  8. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    If you were playing without issue until a recent driver update, go back.
    Go into device manager and see which drivers were installed around the time it started happening and revert...

    If you find it's a driver issue...cool
    If you've done that and it still happens the game may need to be reinstalled...keep your save files and try to reinstall...try it with the new drivers first tho...if it still happens uninstall the new and the game and try with the old.
     
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,420 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,175
    To the OP dont use that DDU shit trust me.

    Just use the add/remove programs and un-install from there.

    If you still have issues I'll link you to clean the reg of ATI shit left over ok!

    @erocker link this guy your un-install guide. I looked but it's not a sticky anymore and it will save me a shitload of typing to help this dude out :respect:
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  10. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Open CMD as Administrator
    Type or Copy Pasta
    SET DEVMGR_SHOW_NONPRESENT_DEVICES=1

    Then start Device Manager by typing:
    devmgmt.msc

    Then in "View" click "Show Hidden Devices"
    Click on the device tab and remove the "Ghosted" Hardware....It will be the gray translucent device

    Remove your unwanted items now....as long as you know what they are...click on the display adapter if you have a gray translucent device you may have an unwanted device issue
    If you do remove and uninstall the drivers for it...

    Not all gray translucent devices are bad...some are simply USB devices that are not present at the moment like an Xbox 360 remote...keyboard
    HID mouse etc...don't uninstall anything you are unsure of...just focus on seeing if you have unwanted display adapter...I highly doubt it tho..
    [​IMG]

    If you still have issues
    driver wiping may be the only way...but a reinstall may work
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  11. JhnStorm

    JhnStorm

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Just tried to play again after a driver wipe. No luck :/. I don't think it's a driver issue. I re installed the game itself and it still happened.

    I can't figure out what might have caused this either, and unfortunately I don't have my system restore set up so I'm pretty much stuck.

    Would replacing my card do me any good? I've been meaning to get an upgrade soon.
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  12. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,884 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,110
    if its a specific game it might be a driver issue.
    a quick google search shows how many people with the same card has the same problems. i.e. game is not compatible. but those are with older versions of drivers.
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  13. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,374 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    GMT +2
    did you checked with other games (try with most graphic heavy game you have). do you get same problem with other games after driver reinstall.
    do you remember when exactly problems have started. was it after game patch (even minor one) or it was just like that.
    check gw2 forums if someone else reported similar porblem.
    i think your problem comes from gw2 not from card or drivers.
    upgrade will be nice (if you have $) cause your vga is a bit on the week side.

    edit:
    https://www.google.bg/#q=gw2 black screen
    http://www.google.bg/url?sa=t&rct=j...9AFC-gZ6QDEsmPJX42uQ7-A&bvm=bv.74115972,d.ZWU
    https://www.google.bg/url?sa=t&rct=...rCQJQiKN1jgVyHNmH-HcrqA&bvm=bv.74115972,d.ZWU
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2014
    JhnStorm says thanks.
  14. JhnStorm

    JhnStorm

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I just finished testing with Rome II Total War and Star Wars The Old Republic at High settings. SWTOR ran flawlessly and I played for ~30 mins before moving to Rome 2, which gave me a little less than 35 FPS, but doesn't present the same problem GW2 gives me.

    I don't think my black screen problem is the same as others reported on the forums, as they are able to force quit out of the game, whereas my problem seems to be the equivalent of removing the VGA from my monitor.

    It appears my problems originate from the game itself.

    Anyways thank you all for the suggestions. I suppose I'll have to manage without GW2 until I can get an upgrade or something else.
     
    ne6togadno says thanks.
  15. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,374 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    607
    Location:
    GMT +2
    you still can try some of the sugested fixes and see if any of them can solve your problem or at least increase appearance interval.
     
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,392 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,715
    Im starting to think if the temp sensor of a cards only for the gpu itself. Doesnt mean vrm or ram are staying cool let alone the video jack used on card itself. But if only 1 game is having the problem but others arent Id say the problem is the game itself...
     
  17. Timmen

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    21 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    have you tried looking for an update from that specific game, could be a bug in the game itself my opinion.
     
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,893 (13.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,297
    It's still a sticky at the top of the Graphic Cards section.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page