1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

case fan position

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by a111087, Sep 30, 2007.

  1. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
    Ok, the picture below tells everything, the red lines means plastic shroud.

    The biggest reason for it is gpu heatsink, while playing Bioshock the whole heatsink gets ridiculously hot to the touch.
    Well, tell me what you guys think.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Disable 'cool n quiet' in bios under pc health section.
     
  3. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
    why? what will it do?
     
  4. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Edited

    Cool n Quiet constantly changes the CPU speed and fans speed according to how hard your rig is running. When @ idle the cpu clock/fan speed is at it lowest, when gaming cpu clock/fan speed at it's highest. But when running high heat GPU's etc the low fan settings can build up heat.

    Disabeling it will run fans at a constant 100%

    You can also add an exhaust fan to that 80mm hole in the back of case to improve cooling.
    Does your case have an intake fan?
     
  5. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
    When running high heat GPU's etc the CPU also 100%, so CoolN'quite is not in my way, but right now GPU is being cooled by just 1 low rpm 80mm fan.
    and yes, I do have a fan in front, its 80mm ~30cfm
     
  6. Rainmann420

    Rainmann420 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    OZ
    It looks like you have room for a 120mm intake fan in front of your Hard drive and room for another 80mm in the rear. if you find this still not enough you can get one of these Sunbeams [​IMG]
    Here is their page check ir out http://www.sunbeamtech.com/PRODUCTS/WHEREVER PCI RACK.HTML my mates got one its cool as. Other than that i think your idea is a little overboard (But good if you want to MOD for the Hell of it) I have the 8600gt in SLI and also Heatpipe Cooled. And i only have 1x 120mm intake fan and 1x 120mm exaust fan. and my GPU temps are 30c to 45c sometimes after a good stint of gameing the fins feel hot but the GPU temps are alright it just means the passive cooling is doing its job...:rockout:
    What are your GPU temps???
     
  7. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
  8. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    You would be suprised that the gpu could be running hard but not the cpu so the cpu/case fans could be at 80%. Thats why people disable it.
     
  9. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
    well, ok, I will turn it off and see
     
  10. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
    Hey, today I tested the video card cooling.
    No plastic shroud yet, just placed 120mm 70cfm fan between HDD and video card.
    The load temp dropped just ~3c, but it didn't rise even after I oced it from 560core to ~700core :D
    so, will work on shroud as soon as I get time
     
  11. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,296 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,743
    maybe you could look into a better cooler for your 7600GT,from the pictures it looks as if you have a passive cooler
     
  12. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
    it is Thermalright V1 Ultra, there are holes for 2 80mm fans on each side and 3 heatpipe
    Right now it is being cooled by 1 80mm fan, it just not seen on picture
    but 1 120mm can also cool ramsinks

    You can't beat it for the price, it cost just $10 and has a good performance
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Thermalright/V1Ultra/4.html
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2007
  13. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,523 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    346
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    your shroud is good on paper but in practice you cant get the cfms you need for it to work. it just wont move the air around like it is supposed to because the fans arent strong enough.

    you need to get one of those 250mm fans for your side door and then you will run cooler.

    i also suggest a good 120mm or 140mm fan mounted on the top blowing hot air straight up and out of the case. position it midway between the psu and dvd drive. (leave about 1 1/4" of room to remove psu if needed)

    redrill all of those holes in the back and front panels with a 3/16" drill bit. this sounds like nothing but it will double the air they let in.

    also make sure all fans are not blocked. (cut out anything in the hole so all you have is a wire grill)

    switching to a psu with bottom fan will help remove heat from cpu cooler and improve airflow as well.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2007
    a111087 says thanks.
  14. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
    That are some good ideas, Keakar.
    It's not final design, so before I will do anything I will need to think about everything you guys said.

    EDIT: i will certainly redrill holes and I already got 1/4" Drill bit, my case is still, but this one can drill anyway, tested :D
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2007
  15. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,523 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    346
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    1/4" will be too big because holes are so close you dont want to blow out into another hole.

    trust me 3/16" is plenty big enough, by the time you drill the surrounding holes there will just be a small amount of metal left.

    you can always go bigger later but if you start too big you end up with a big oops!
     
  16. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
    lol, but that will be better for air circulation :D at firsts I actually wanted to cut the grills out.

    ok, IF they will be way to big then I have smaller, but I don't know if it will drill steel

    EDIT: I will try smaller first :D
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2007
  17. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,671 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,014
    Location:
    US
    Any chance you up to removing every thing and getting rid of the metal were the fans are as that looks VERY restrictive and block easy. As it looks to me only about 10% of air can get though those tiny holes.

    A Dremel would do it but it set ya back $40 though.
     
  18. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
    Yeah, I will just drill more and bigger holes
     
  19. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,523 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    346
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    the point was that the holes are so close it would cause the drill bit to pop into the hole beside it and make a big mess of things. if you cut too much metal out it wont have any strength left so keep that in mind. hex mesh grill is 3/16 holes so if you want to save time drilling just cut out the section and replace with hex mesh.

    many people never think about the floor of the case but if you leave about 1 1/2" on all sides you can cut the whole floor out and put in hex mesh grill and really let the air in.
     
  20. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :confused: why dont you turn your CPU HS and add a 120mm fans and add another fan to the back of the case ?
     
  21. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
    can't turn it, its the only way you can mount Ultra 120 on AM2, unless socket itself is turned (like on some rare mobos)
     
  22. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,523 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    346
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    swap it for an arctic cooler 7 and it will work great AND give you the directional airflow you wanted.

    ps - i noticed the second fan opening is removable so add a fan there like "Dom" suggested
     
  23. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,523 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    346
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    upon further review my suggestions to solve all you overheating issues are:

    1 remove the second rear fan opening cover grill and install another exhaust fan

    2 replace the Ultra 120 with an Arctic Cooler 7 to direct air to back of case

    3 replace the psu with one that has the 120mm or 140mm bottom fan

    4 drill out the small holes in the back and front of case with a 3/16" drill bit

    5 cut out the bottom of the case floor leaving 1 1/2" all the way around then install hex mesh grill

    if that is done you will no longer have heat issues
     
    a111087 says thanks.
  24. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    US
    thank you Keakar!
     
  25. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,997 (6.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,536
    This may come off a bit harsh , but Ive been watching this thread for a few days,and am really surprised thet no one has advised to you thatyour whole problem may be stemming from those whopping 11amps that PSU is supplying.

    It has been mine and many others experiences on TPU , that when a system is powered with a "lower grade" PSU it leads directly to heat and instability issues.

    I could be completely off base here , but from where I sit ....that would be my first move as to how to eliminate some heat, then go from there!
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page