1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cat driver install error.. anyone ever seen it before..

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by trog100, Nov 18, 2007.

  1. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    what i get when i try and install the cat drivers that came with my new 3870 card.. i also get exactly the same with the new downloaded hotfix drivers.. they are exactly the same driver package so it aint surprising.. he he


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    the drivers unpack okay but as soon as the big ATI splash-screen pops up it freezes and when minimized the error messages are visible one after the other..


    i have manually installed the drivers but the weird error puzzles me..

    anybody have any clues..

    this error only occurs with the new hotfix and drivers that come with the card.. these are the only drivers that will work with the 3800 series cards.. it also only happens with the XP install.. the vista install works i assume for folks with vista..


    trog
     
  2. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    this is bound to happen to other folks as these cards come online..

    i have found one other instance of this being ask about on the OC/UK forums.. i dont post there so couldnt comment.. like here it didnt receive any answer..

    trog
     
  3. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,469 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,170
  4. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    looks to be on the right track.. i am only getting the error with this card drivers and of course the hotfix ones which are the same.. but nice to have some idea of what it is..

    trog

    #####

    ps.. sadly my registry entries seem to be okay.. but i at least its a "known" problem.. it certainly aint a dirty cd.. he he

    [​IMG]

    i have bookmarked the link for future reference.. gonna wait and see what happens with the next real cat release before i dig much deeper..

    thanks again..

    trog
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2007
  5. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    just an update on this.. i get exactly the same problem with the new official cat 7.11 package.. the ati site dosnt acknowledge the existence of the 3870 series yet in its driver update link.. this seems odd to me..

    the cat 7.10 package dosnt do it.. just the hotfix and 7.11 ones..

    still baffled..

    trog
     
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    But it does on it's GPU compatibility lisy for cat 7.11......tho very strange error there, maybe another BIOS error on the card U think?
     
  7. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    dunno.. i did find one other guy reporting it on the OC/UK forums.. it just disapeared thow like mine did on here..

    its a simple thing.. the setup.exe just cant call the windows install shield for some reason.. the vista setup can which sounds daft.. the 7.10 cats can.. but not the newer ones..

    it only happens with the setups in the actual driver folders both the hd audio and the vga setups.. all the other junk install as they should..

    this is going thru the folder trying each one at a time..

    still baffled.. he he..

    trog
     
  8. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,782
    same issue with 2600 and 2900 + cat 7.11
     
  9. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    so its not just me then..;)

    things seem to be going wrong from hotfix onwards.. i assume its only an XP thing..

    trog
     
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I have the exact same problem. Ive run driver cleaner pro, all the bells and whistles and what not, go to install the package and I get the damn exact same error. Anyone know how I can install these manually or if nothing else, link me to the 7.10 drivers? This is seriously pissing me off.
     
  11. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    yes i do know that.. its nothing to do with old cats or anything like that.. just the new ones cant run the windows install shield for some unknown reason..

    let the new cats unpack.. the error happens after they have unpacked.. find the ati driver folder on C.. the new drivers and everything else will be there.. just not installed..

    go into the device manager.. right click on VGA driver.. select update driver.. follow the wizard.. browse and point the wizard at the XP driver folder in the unpacked cats.. windows will then install the new driver.. u have to do the same with the hd audio driver point windows at it.. seems to be a hardware thing..

    all the rest of the stuff (software junk) that comes with new cats can be manually installed just by running the individual setups from within their own folders..

    its just the vga and audio drivers that u have to point windows at in the old fashioned way..

    trog
     
  12. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    a pic of where to find the driver..

    [​IMG]

    if u need a pic for the device manager i can do one..

    trog
     
  13. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I used the omega drivers (3.8412.xx) (7.10) and it works flawlessly.
     
  14. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    update on this.. its all over the planet.. ATI seem to have f-cked up.. kinda hard to believe.. how the hell could they release a set of drivers to the world and sell a new grafix card that dosnt work on XP..

    it caught me out cos i was a week in front of everyone else but the release of the new 7.11 drivers have brought it to the for..

    these cards are also not appearing in the stores as quickly as they should be either.. OC/UK have them all on pre-order and wont say (for definite) when they are expected..

    trog
     
  15. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,748 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,544
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Damn Trog.....nice work and good research but you are putting me off taking this card outta the box......wait a minute, I have a brand spanking new copy of Vista Home premium.....yay!!!!
     
  16. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,969 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,782
    if you get the "notify" issue and cant install the driver, remove all drivers so that windows pops up the "found new hardware" dialog, select the driver manually, browse to the inf directory under drivers and install from there. after that install ccc from the ccc folder and you are good to go.
     
  17. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    ATI are holding these cards back for some reason.. they are pretty much as unobtainable as the 8800gt.. we know why there is no nvidia cards but ATI were sposed to have had 250,000 3800 cards ready for launch..

    without knowing how to get around the install problem in essence the cards dont work in XP.. fair enough but with the new 7.11 cats doing exactly the same thing in XP i begin to wonder exactly whats going on at ATI..

    trog
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page