1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cat6 Patch cables vs plain network cables?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by sttubs, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    645 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Would the patch cable be ok to run from my router to the PC, or should I just go with the plain network cable?
     
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,975 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,799
    what length are we talking about?

    define "plain network cable" .. cat 5 ? cat 5e ?
     
    sttubs says thanks.
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,697 (9.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Cat6 is Gigabit Ethernet and improved cable protection. I have two 100FT boxes under my desk ATM :)

    We have installed over 30 miles of cable in my plant. All are CAT 6 and Fiber

    Color code:

    WHITE-ORANGE
    ORANGE
    WHITE-GREEN
    BLUE
    WHITE-BLUE
    GREEN
    WHITE-BROWN
    BROWN

    IF you are doing analog it would be

    BLUE
    WHITE-BLUE

    *EDIT*

    Don't think that just by using cat 6 that you will have gigabit connection. You must have a gigabit hardware to produce those speeds (NIC, Switch, Router, EXC)
     
    sttubs says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    645 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    I'm looking at 75-100ft of CAT6. It seems that several CAT6e's are patch cables vs plain cables, meaning they are not the patch cables, just CAT6 cables. I've got the gigabit router & NICs, justneed to hook it all up.
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,697 (9.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    This may help.

    1000FT CAT6 boxes

    Make sure you do not go over 100FT runs or you may have degradation in your connection. We run fiber in a ring from switch to switch then copper from the switch to the device. Its well worth the extra effort.
     
    sttubs says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    There is no difference between a patch cable and a network cable.
    The term was originally used to refer to short(er) cables used in patch panels.
    A 10 foot patch cable and a 10 foot network cable are electrically identical (given they are of the same type, cat5e, cat6 etc.)
    Cat6 is preferable over cat5e for gigabit connections as it has better transmission properties and is superior in electrically noisy environments.
    The length limitation on cat6 is the same as cat5e which is 100 meters (328 ft.)
     
    yogurt_21 and sttubs say thanks.
  7. adrianx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    324 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bucharest ROMANIA
    on the long distance remember to not to get very close at the power line or any device that can produce electric /magnetic fields...(like microwaves ... washer machine, electric motors, wall mounted power line, hair draier big tvs, or any fixed power tools)

    this will affect the transfer rate for you data that transit the utp cable, inducing noise on the cable and rise the numbers of data re-transmission.

    best regards
     
    sttubs says thanks.
  8. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,808 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    Aye, and this is why we have FTP cables.
     
    sttubs says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page