1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Catalyst 10.11 -Dual Monitor Flicker

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Mike0409, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Anyone experiencing a monitor flicker on their second monitor with the new ATI drivers?
     
    MAGMADIVER says thanks.
  2. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,161 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    its common been around since the 5k release man happens if you overclock and sometimes at stock
     
  3. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Any fix for it?
     
  4. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    yeah.. i um.. am pissed.. the fix a few issues in 10.11 but that came back.. which means the only way i was ever able to fix it was to modify the low level clocks in the bios of my cards to only go to 400 instead of 157 like they do.. 157Mhz isn't enough to push two monitors apparently lol..
     
  5. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Mines not even overclocked..pretty annoying flicker..
     
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I get it at 400/1250mhz.

    can you explain exactly what you do/are doing when it happens? I pay pretty close attention to oddities I notice, and my flicker only happens when clockspeeds change.
     
  7. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,161 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    i can tell you right now dave whenever the card percieves a 2d load greater then desktop and low lvl 3d load it causes flicker this means..

    opening a web browser with any kind of flash on it steam any im client etc when it opens it causes flicker that dissappears after a split second as just about anything will cause the cards to change clock speeds
     
  8. Mike0409

    Mike0409

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,142 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Primary monitor is ok, extended monitor flickers. Almost seems like an invisible line, then it gets all crazy. Thought it was a connection issue, but it just started when i updated to 10.11, 10.10 has no issues.
     
  9. MAGMADIVER

    MAGMADIVER New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    254 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    FT. LEWIS
    I was running 10.10 and had no flicker but then I installed 10.11 and the flicker occured...changed back to 10.10 and the flicker continuted....WTF? Had to do system restore to resolve the issue.
     
  10. Toj New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just downloaded the 10.11's and was having the same issue except it was pretty severe tearing. I noticed my 5870's fan was cranked to 100% so I checked under the ATI Overdrive tab and for some reason it had it ATI Overdrive was enabled. It had the frequencies set to stock but for some reason it was screwing with scaling between 2d/3d and dual screen.. Anyways, disabled it and now everything is back to normal.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page