1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Catalyst 10.9 Battlefield Bad Company 2 5870 Multi-gpu Performance

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by cadaveca, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Seems to me like 10.9 fails. I've specifically chosen this app, due to it's mention in the 10.9 release notes, for having a new profile. But let's take a look at the numbers...system details and such will follow in the next post. There are 4 runs...the first 2 are single card, the third is dual gpu, with the 10.9 profile, and finally, 10.9 driver alone, without the profile. First big huge graphs showing gpu load, clocks, etc:

    single #1:
    [​IMG]

    single #2:
    [​IMG]

    dual gpu with profile:
    [​IMG]

    dual gpu no profile:
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    phobias23 says thanks.
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    that seems right california dave,it's load balancing between the two GPU's
  3. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,904 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,489
    Whats the bottom line in FPS?
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, and the performance boost offered by the profile works well too...increase avg FPS from 47 to 61. CPU load is basically pegged @ 100% though.

    Settings are maxed out, including 8xAA, but not v-sync, 1920x1080.

    But, things become interesting when there's no AA...I gotta do another run of that, but there's 0 performance incease...so AA is basically "free".

    Later I'll do some runs with a closer view of the FPS graph, so you can see for yourself. In CF, the minimum is 0FPS, both with profile and without, single card minimum is 20FPS. I need to do more runs to see exactly where this occurs...might just be map loading, so I'll have to take a closer look.
  5. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    My crossfire 5850 with 10.9 drivers was a nightmare. I got horrible scaling and my game kept crashing. Also, my FPS was at 40-50. My 2nd GPU was only going to 30% while my 1st GPU was at like 70% ....I went back to 10.4a's and now I get 80% for both my cards and I avg about 70-120 FPS
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, DX11 is broken.:rolleyes: I'm using DX10. ;)
  7. phobias23

    phobias23 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    307 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Havana City,Cuba
    Give me a gun Ill shoot the CCC.:mad:
    haaaaaaaaaa! whats wrong with ATI.
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Uh-oh!

    Negative scaling!

    :slap:

    Single card:

    [​IMG]

    Dual Card:

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,015 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    thats half your problem. DX11 has multi-threading for the graphics engine, 9 and 10 dont.

    if you went to DX11, you'd remove the bottleneck from your CPU

    (well, you would if BC2 wasnt such a CPU whore, and eating your other cores up already anyway)
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, but of course, ATi broke DX11, and not for just me either, so DX10 or DX9 are the only stable options.
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Perhaps that's the reason for the problem.... Very interesting.
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,015 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    i ran into all these same issues on crossfire, it simply needs more CPU power than a single GPU.


    with games like BC2 that totally whore up your CPU in the first place, its not a good place to be in, for a crossfire user.

    for me, DX11 + 6 core = WEEEEEEEEEE, so i'm all good.

    how is DX11 broken anyway?
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    I understand that, I ran CrossFire with a 4ghz PII x4 and a 2800mhz NB. It performed flawlessly. I'm wondering on this DX11 thing, as there's another member here who has DX11 issues, low and behold they have CrossFire issues as well. I wouldn't even know how to reproduce the DX11 error.
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    CTD is DX11.:( Some people get it, some don't. I have a 6-month old install, and a brand new one, both do it.
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,015 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    32 or 64 bit OS? the game natively supports large address aware, which means it may use upto 4GB of ram... i can see that being hit fast in a 32 bit OS at high settings (which ofc, crossfire users would run)
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Win7-64bit, 8GB of ram. ;)
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,015 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,405
    do me a favour then:

    test in DX11 and see how teh results differ, and try turning down some settings or quitting background tasks that would use your CPU while playing BC2.

    Im confident that if you can free up CPU power, your scaling will improve.
  18. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,116 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    567
    Do all of you have the Steam version?

    I went out to the store and got mine and I've never had the ctd others have mentioned since BC2 launched.
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    No change.

    :cry:

    Yes, I do.
  20. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    From my understanding BC2 needs more CPU juice, Crossfire needs more CPU juice, and most BC2 Crossfire users simply abandoned 10.9. Did you test these online since SP GPU load is usually higher with much higher FPS?

    The scaling and performance here looks pretty unimpressive but you need a completely seperate driver set to comare it to.

    If you want the best driver for BC2 crossfire 5xxx series you need 10.4a with 10.7 profiles.

    This also made me think abou the thread comparing AMD to Intel in gaming tests. This is one test where C2Q and current AMD architechture gets destroyed by i7 (with HT off even). My C2Q needs to run 4ghz to compare to an i7 @ 3.4ghz in BC2.
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2010
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I'll take a look, for sure.

    I'm starting here merely because it was mentioned in this months release notes. I don't know what's wrong, really...or if anything is even wrong in the first place.
  22. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    Could you humor me and give the drivers I mentioned a run though? ... caribbeanDave

    10.4a here

    10.7 profiles here

    if anyone else felt compelled to try these I made it easy for you
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2010
    grunt_408 says thanks.
  23. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,025 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    795
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    I got a HD5970 running with this game using 10.8 drivers and 10.9 drivers and they both gave me horrible performance with em, using 10.8 profiles and 10.9 profiles, it still gave me constant lag issues and weird hiccups:wtf: so I solved my own problem by uninstalling the game:laugh:

    I remember using 10.4 drivers with my HD5870 crossfire setup and they performed really really well:rockout:
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Got it;)

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  25. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    yea i have the same issues as cadaveca and guess what my BC2 game is RETAIL not steam.

    10.4a = game runs fine in DX11 fps since i use vysnc is pegged at 60 and never drops ever period in online play i can run tests if you want cadaveca im running completely stock everything right now :toast: 965be ram is 1333 cl7 win 7 64bit pro 2x 5850 stock reference cards

    i can honestly say 10.4a = no CTD no issues what so ever period sadly ATi cant seem to get there shit right the last 6 months or so
    grunt_408 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page