1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Catalyst control centre or control panel?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by TweakMaster, May 21, 2006.

  1. TweakMaster New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Would be interested in peoples opinions on what they use to adjust their ATI gcard.. ive found the CCC to be a bit of a resource hog adding about 3 extra processes on startup etc, since i upgraded to XP 64 i installed new 6.4 drivers but instead of installing the control center just installed an old version on control panel.. would there be any performance gain / loss if i did install the CCC or am i better off how ive got it setup now?
  2. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    843 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    What card do you have?
  3. {JNT}Raptor

    {JNT}Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    733 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    No loss If thats what you mean......I haven't run CCC since It came out....didn't like It then....don't like It now....to much extra bloat.

    Been running the 5.11 CP since they forced that CCC on us.
  4. TweakMaster New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    X800XT OneCool

    Yeah Raptor, im just like you man.. the other thing that made me deffo not want to use the CCC was down to the fact that we no longer had a choice of what to use.. it HAD to be the CCC and we HAD to install the .NET framework even though we'd never use it for anything else
  5. Juggernaut1987

    Juggernaut1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    157 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I hope they dump that stupid CCC. To use 5.11 is a to big step back. I hear from a lot of people they hate CCC.
  6. TweakMaster New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah the CP im using with the 6.4 drivers is from the 5.10 as they didnt do anymore CP's for the 64 bit windows
  7. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    843 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Stick with the CP.I only suggest CCC if you have a X1X00 series card.
  8. TweakMaster New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okie dokie mate, thanks for the reply

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page