1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Catalyst Software Suite

Discussion in 'General Software' started by fishnchips, Dec 24, 2008.

  1. fishnchips

    fishnchips

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    199 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    New zealand
    Hi is there any other drivers that are made for the 4850 at all. as for some reason i get Catalyst Software Suite not loading when windows starts xp 64 version.
    mom is the first error tried every thing to fix it..useing basic cd driver that came with the card...
     
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,976 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,631
    ok,

    OS

    Updates for OS including .net 2.0, Direct X

    Motherboard Drivers

    Video Drivers- Hotfix or non, depends on what your doin currently

    Sound Drivers
     
  3. fishnchips

    fishnchips

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    199 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    New zealand
    done both os net 2.0 and dx
    done the mobo drivers
    done the sound drivers
    trying 8.11 drivers now see what happens
     
  4. fishnchips

    fishnchips

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    199 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    New zealand
    tried the 8.11 now i just get CCC has crashed click the error code for details, blah blah blah.
    i may have to just stay with vista 32 and be done with it...
     
  5. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Odd. My 4850s wok perfectly fine, even if they are not in CF with 8.11 in Vista 64.
    Are you sure there aren't some leftovers from other drivers?
    Have you installed the hotfix?
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,619 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,142
    have you used driversweeper to remove (in safe mode if desired) all the drivers from the previous attempt, then try getting the drivers in after a restart?

    Sounds to me like something is getting left behind from the uninstalls and popping up on new attempts!
     
  7. fishnchips

    fishnchips

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    199 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    New zealand
    sweet as, i'll do that and see what happens. yer it was working fine till i did an update to the vid card drivers farcry said your drivers are to old blah blah so i updated. fool me eh lol
     
  8. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Sounds like you need a hotfix:)
     
  9. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    agree there is hotfix for 8.11 download it
     
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,742 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,539
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I just load the drivers and net framework, none of that other CCC cr*p, I do all my visual settings in ATi Tray tools (has more options for better IQ) and I use rivatuner to overclock, even when I did download the whole package in the past I just disabled CCC in startup.
     
  11. fishnchips

    fishnchips

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    199 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    New zealand
    whats the link for the 8.11 hot fix please. ok now for the sad news. booted into safe mode, started up drive sweaper and did the analyse thingy and so far so good clicked ok and clicks am i sure, clicked yes and what happens? it crashed... then it said drive sweaper encounted an error in the exe blah blah blah.. so tried to uninstall the CCC come up with errors as well. bloody blah blah. reinstalled 811 in normal mode and just waitingf orthe hot fix.. thats what get for UPdateing what a load of crap lo oh well at leas ei have 5kg turkey to eat that should cheer me up tomorrow :) santa has the ho ho ho's who is having a better xmas????

    Ok when i did the hotfix and no luck at all, now it comes up mom or its dependenciets....etc etc dam... spelling should of stayed in pre school... so anyway back to square one oh but what a ride... not... i think there is a unsigned version for ati or a different set of drivers thats on the net not made by ati etc. alt drivers for some video cards, just caint remember what they was.. so im stuck at the moment but just want it back up on the desktop is that so much to ask from these dam drivers???? Omega Drivers found it see how i go :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2008
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,742 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,539
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK

    The same thing happened to me last week (I was trying to get Crossfire working again so used CCC), I still dont know why but run error checker on your hardrive quick, on the next Vista reboot after the same symptoms as you have, windows automatically went into HDD recovery and corrected 157 errors!!!
     
  13. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    You just need to uninstall the CCC and drivers (from control panel) then re-install. I had the same problem after using driver sweeper.
     
  14. fishnchips

    fishnchips

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    199 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    New zealand
    silk yer tried that part..i have the omeaga drivers but not sure if i want to use them incase i get a system crash and loose it all again..not even sure if it supports the 4850 card...
     
  15. fishnchips

    fishnchips

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    199 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    New zealand
    Well omeaga drivers dont work on xp 64 how rude!
     
  16. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    I googled my error code and sifted thru the pages i found, there are some different options for MOM errors. Might want to try doing that
     
    fishnchips says thanks.
  17. fishnchips

    fishnchips

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    199 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    New zealand
    thats good if only i get the error code that comes with the error that mom is making....gonna download ati tray tool and see how i go from there... ha ha silly me downloaded ati tool and each time i loaded it i got a reboot crash.... dident even wanna run on the system.. might just change mobo and cpu and p/s and ram re seat them clean it out and sprinkle holy water on the case and say
    EVIL COMPUTER BUG!!!.... I COMMAND YOU TO LEAVE THIS CASE!!!! I COMMMAND YOU!! BY THE POWER OF THE SILICON VALLEY! I COMMMMMAND YOU!! LEAVE THIS CASE sprinkle sprinkle sprinkle! and hope like hell it works...
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2008
  18. fishnchips

    fishnchips

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    199 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    New zealand
    Well it half worked sorta like half a viagra pill to get things up n running i guess
    i downloaded super shell last week, thank god i did, so anyway i tried to delete my ati reg entries no go dont have permission yadda yadda yadda. switched to admin no go said i had half of the required permissions. so into supershell and bingo i now have permission to delete/change all my ati entries under wow64.. so my point is why would it not let me delete the ati entries? let alone change them. yet i am the owner adminstrator..
     
  19. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    I have come across that too, but i've never found a fix (didn't really search) i had to work around the problem.
     
  20. fishnchips

    fishnchips

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    199 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    New zealand
    i used supershell just to let me gain access.. sheese the things i gotta do..
     
  21. fishnchips

    fishnchips

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    199 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    New zealand
    Well now i have it back to square one, no longer getting any sort of errors, now it just wants to start and thats it. lol lol man what a screw up this CCC is..
     
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,976 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,631
    64bit changed alot of stuff about accessing registry entries that are driver related, thats my guess on your ordeal, also remember the 64bit version of XP is Server 2003 basically

    Vista 64 im sure is same way.
     
  23. fishnchips

    fishnchips

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    199 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    New zealand
    Im thinking your right but why just that entry? and nothing else? hmmm sounds like a case for moulder and scully!
     
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,976 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,631
    actually ive seen some with 64bit OS that were trying to clear contents of a Error.log file for Project Torque even after the game was shut down, they couldnt clear the contents of it, so im thinkin the OS is selective on what files to protect, probably check the options of the files etc.
     
  25. fishnchips

    fishnchips

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    199 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    New zealand
    Anyone come across this error code when starting CC..
    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page