1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Category Patch Cable (Cat5 vs Cat5e vs Cat 6). Is one better then another?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by EastCoasthandle, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    As the title suggest between patch cat 5/5e/6 is one really better then the other for internet use?
    I believe that Cat6 patch cable allows 1000BASE-TX while the others may not offer that as standard.
     
  2. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    East TN
    For internet use? I wouldn't think there would be. For my home networking, maybe. But CAT6 is made mostly for 1000Base, which is more a Corp or very large network system. CAT6 cables can handle alot better at long distance than a 5. I think around 100ft.

    http://discountcablesusa.com/ethernet-cables100.html
     
    EastCoasthandle says thanks.
  3. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Yeah, just for internet access.
     
  4. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,707 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    Location:
    East TN
    I wouldn't then. I have 1 CAT6 cable, which goes to the other side of my house. But to do it from PC to router/modem...... Naw wouldn't waste the time and money
     
  5. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Cat 5 patch cable should be more then enough for internet use.
     
  6. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,380 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,230
    All the 5e cables that were installed in this building years ago operate at 1000Tbase, aka 500Mhz.


    Noise, signal degradation, and crosstalk are the only limiting factors.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  7. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Yeah but that was years ago when they were heavily promoting the MHz aspect of the cable. Most of the ones on newegg are 10/100 based. But is that really practical for internet use?
     
  8. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    Cat6 can use up to 10GBASE-T, i dont think if cat5e can.
    But the answer to your question is no, it wouldnt effect your internet in normal use(eg using it to plug your computer into your router)
     
  9. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    So basically, whatever is cheaper...
     
  10. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    yup, unless you live in a place where emi or esd is gonna be a problem
     
    EastCoasthandle says thanks.
  11. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    But if you were looking to wire up a house, youd be better off doing it with cat6.
     
  12. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    gotcha. It appear that cat 6 (or is that Cat 6a) maybe replacing Cat 5e? Oh well...
     
  13. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I would use Cat6....wired my whole house in it, gigabit everything. Bought mine from www.monoprice.com. Phenomenal products and service!
     
    EastCoasthandle says thanks.
  14. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I nearly forgot about monoprice. They've been around for a while now!
     
  15. Munki

    Munki

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    As long as there is talk about distance for Cat5e, as some of you know I work for a school system, and every single run throughout schools are Cat5e. We have 1 MDF per School and several IDF's. The MDF servers the IDF's and the IDF's serve that halls computers. With that being said, you can imagine the length of some of those hallways. To say the least, they aren't lagging.


    Oh and if anyone was wondering we have fiber into the MDF and from the MDF to the IDF's :)
     
  16. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,747 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    get Cat6, why? meybe not now, but in 5 years thank me :p
     
  17. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    I just got a Cat6 50 feet wire for my internet. Ok its useless since my isp provide me 10mbps but at least ill have the newest technology for years and since its ROHS im happy to have it.
     
  18. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,838 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,706
    Location:
    IA, USA
    CAT6 is the best. It is the only cable certified for 1 gigabit network performance.

    CAT6 isn't much more expensive than CAT5e so in my opinion, there's no reason not to get it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. westom

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    180 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    What good is a 1 gigabit wire when your data is transferring at tens of megabits in bursts that never exceed 100 megabits? Nothing. Either cable is above or below what is required. Sufficient or insufficient. Advantages of a 1 gigabit cable do nothing for your data. Both Cat 5 and Cat 6 cables would suffer equally from adverse conditions such as noise.

    What are your future data transfer requirements? Only that would justify Cat 6 wire.
     
  20. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Youre right Westom. Same thing with HDMI Cables. 1080I or 1080P if it dont pass in one then choose the other but better already buy the 1080P since you know it take both range of signals and its newertechnology. It pass or not but you know thta it will if you buy the best right at the beginning. Ok for now you wont need the best cable but you never know in the future. Same as TV...the guys an have low budget hdtv at 720 or 1080I then later will get a 1080P hdtv...better go with the best cable for almost the same price ! :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page