1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CD/DVD drives wont show up

Discussion in 'Storage' started by CrAsHnBuRnXp, Oct 14, 2008.

  1. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,472 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    So my dad has lost all his CD/DVD drives in his computer. I cant get them to show up for nothing. They were working fine a few days ago then one just stopped showing up. By the time I went to see what was wrong, the other one started to do the same. I have tried different cables and different molex connectors along with different cables. One is an IDE and the other is a SATA. I swapped in two IDE DVD drives and those arent working either. Ive also tried uninstalling the Windows default driver for the drives and reinstalling them and it fails.

    Anyone have an idea?

    System is:

    AMD Opteron 165 @2.7GHz
    OCZ 2GB DDR400
    DFI Lanparty nF4 Ultra-D
    OCZ 600w PSU
    BFG 8800GTS 640MB
  2. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,472 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Bump
  3. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,743 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    CrAsHnBuRnXp says thanks.
  4. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,472 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    The text file doesnt tell me what exactly it does. It just goes on to explain how you should merge a registry file.
  5. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,743 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    198
    Location:
    Norway
    yes run the .reg file
    so it removes upper and lower filters on the dvd drives
    this is the main reason why cd/dvd goes away, happends sometimes when you install dvd burning software, anydvd and such
  6. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,472 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Had a feeling thats what it did but just wanted to be on the safe side. :)

    Rebooting now to see.
  7. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,472 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Gone one drive to show up but not the other.
  8. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Do they show up in bios ? Sounds like failing mobo.
  9. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,472 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Both do yes.
  10. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,472 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    I want opinions on his diagnosis. Cause I tend to agree!
  11. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
  12. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,472 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
  13. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Try a different cable, check your jumpers, check each drive alone, and if possible check a different ide port.
  14. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Try uninstall , reboot , scan for new hardware...
  15. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,472 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Yes, yes, no (not going to make much of a difference since Ive tried a SATA and IDE drive and im still not getting them), did.

    I mentioned that I did that. :)
  16. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Are they showing up in the device manager?
  17. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,472 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    With a yellow " ! " at one point yeah. That was before I removed the upper and lower filters. However, now only the one DVD drive shows up (the now working one) but the burner does not. It is detected at POST so the BIOS recognizes it.
  18. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I know there is a goofy issue with Itunes, do you have that installed?

    I would try to remove both the limit filters again, reboot and see if it works... :dunno

    After that, I would be shooting for a repair install..
  19. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Tried updating intel inf drivers ?
  20. dcf-joe

    dcf-joe

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    I do not know if this will help you, because I sped through the other responses and it seemed as if removing the filters did not help.

    But, I will try to help you. I do not have access to my computer now, ironically a storm just came through and took out the power. I am writing this message with my phone. This has happened to me recently, and I just googled "vista not recognizing dvd drive" (it doesn't matter if you have vista or not.) I read that I was to go into regedit - LocalSystem - CurrentControlSet - Control - Class - (4D36E965-E325-14CE-BFC1-08002BE10318) and remove the upper and lower limits.

    I do not know if those are the correct numbers, but I hope so. It took me a while to write this, lucky I have a qwerty keyboard on my phone.
  21. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,472 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Dad doesnt even listen to music on his PC.

    Dad wont take kindly to reformating his PC. He gets pissed everytime I do for some stupid reason. :banghead:

    On an nVIDIA based board?

    Tried removing filters already. Only brought back one drive.
  22. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I didn't say format, I said run a repair installation.
  23. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,472 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    That doesnt work either.

    Just spent the last 6 hrs doing that. Vista repair is useless. I could have done 20 wipes in a shorter amount of time.
  24. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Have you tried this:

    1) Power down computer.
    2) Physically unplug the drives.
    3) Power computer up fully.
    4) Shut down computer.
    5) Hook drives back up and power on.

    Perhaps Vista will take it from there.......:)
  25. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,472 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    No but I can try it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page