1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CeBIT 2009: OCZ Technology

Discussion in 'News' started by Darksaber, Mar 7, 2009.

  1. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,638 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    802
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    OCZ is making some waves with their Z Drive, which is a PCIe based SSD enclosure for four hard drives. They have a unit up and running in white, while it is also displayed in a black color. The Z Drive is intended to be used with four SSDs, which allow for some insane speeds. The entire unit is interfaced with a PCIe x8 and requires two Molex connectors. But wait - there is more!

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    You will also find a first prototype of an overclocked router, which OCZ will be offering in the future, as well as a new USB flash drive which comes with encryption, called "Lockdown". Their SSD line-up is also getting an addition with the Summit SSD. This is their premium offering.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    OCZ is also offering memory modules for the Apple products and they are also showing their prototype computer Case, which we first spotted at CES this year here as well.

    Source: OCZ Technology
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 7, 2009
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    An overclocked router wtf! :wtf:
    "Check this out I have my 8mbps adsl broadband connected at 1.38Gbps, YEAH!"
     
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,553 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    This part is a design fail:

    [​IMG]

    The two Molex inputs shouldn't be that close to each other. Several PSUs come with Molex connectors that have some kinds of grips. It would become impossible to place two of such connectors on this card.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. mechtech

    mechtech

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    251 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Agreed.

    But if you examine the pic closely is almost looks like the molex connectors were like that and they cut off the push clips from the connector.

    As they say, more than one way to skin a cat lol

    Would have been better to space them further apart or come with an adapter like dual molex to 1 pcie or something like that.
     
  5. aj28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    352 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Wrong concept... An overclocked router won't increase throughput, but what it will do is increase the responsiveness of your network (through, ya know, faster routing), allow for more effective management of environments with large numbers of connections (most wireless routers won't like serving at LAN parties), and allow for more efficient QoS without degrading performance or causing additional lag.

    Putting aside variance in the overall quality of the internal components and transmission power, router processing speed is the primary difference between a $40 router and a $120 one, even if they're both 802.11n certified for 300Mbps.
     
  6. EaGle1337

    EaGle1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    81 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Canada
    Cooler Master Stacker knock off much?
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,224 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,526
    my router hsa ran quite a few 50+ people LAN parties without a hitch. In fact, they dont have to do diddly squat apart from give you an IP and funnel internet traffic... and most internet connections are the limit before the routers.
     
  8. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    same here!
    how can a overclocked router have a increase in perf? You probable won't even notice anything!! But nice to see that people are getting more and more innovative!
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,224 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,526
    admittedly routers do use a CPU and ram, so its possible they're clocking one up and adding some cool stuff (torrent clients, teamspeak servers, smoothwall/proxy/web cache abilities)
     
  10. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,224 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,526
    i dont need to click to know that the things i listed already exist in routers ;)

    THey were just examples of what OCZ could be intending to do.
     
  12. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Overclocked? My new router is dual-core!

    http://www.sonicwall.com/us/products/NSA_2400.html

    Unfortunately the boss wouldn't let me take it home... something about not trusting me to ever bring it back :D ;)


    My only prob with the Z-Drive power is that it's on the end. Would be nice to have it on the edge, not the end of a device that long.
     
  13. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Speaking of their SSDs, Fusion I/O has an 80gb one that has insane speeds and plugs into a PCIe 4X slot. They can be raided but the problem is they cant be used for OS. I wonder if OCZ has improved on that any.
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,224 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,526
    put some form of RAID controller on there, and windows will be able to see and boot from it, with provided drivers. Its certainly possible.
     
  15. LoneEagle70 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    29 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    How much for that SSD? :eek:

    I would like one, even at lower size like 128GB/256GB where the price could be reasonnable. :banghead: I would keep my current RAID-0 for data.
     
  16. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    I can't see OCZ releasing it without boot support. Otherwise it's not as attractive as a roll your own SSD RAID setup.

    For the Z-Drive's estimated price I could grab an Adaptec 5808 and eight 64GB SSD's. Half the space, but you'd be pushing that controller to it's limits (~1.2GB/s) and can boot from it.
     
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,553 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Yes, I can see that. I shouldn't have to break a part of my PSU (and void its warranty) to get a product to work.
     
  18. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    I certainly see the resemblance and that was my thought as well. I'm really interested to see the internals of this case though, hopefully more pics will be coming soon. I like cases with the front door but what i dont see is a grill on the door for front air intake. If the trapezoid-shaped area on the bottom is a grill than this case just scored some extra points in my book. This is actually one thing i dont like about the new reincarnation of the CM Stacker (the one with black interior) it has a solid front door with absolutely no intake grills yet it can accomadate 1 or 2 front intake fans, the question is where are they going to suck air from if the door is closed? Just silly design flaw, IMO.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page