1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Case Gallery] CFM - A work in progress.

Discussion in 'Case Mod Gallery' started by oscllc, Mar 27, 2007.

  1. oscllc Guest

    To view this case mod, go here.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Specs:
    Undecided..

    Mods:
    Powder coating, blower mount..

    CFM started as a cheiftec beige sleeping pill..
    Decided to dress it up.. nothing much yet, but give me some suggestions..
    Sorry about the dust, it's been sitting for awhile :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 20, 2014
  2. caveman_1990

    caveman_1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Nice blower and paint job you got there. I got some questions. What amps is the blower running at? the dimension and is it going to be too loud?
     
  3. oscllc Guest

    Reply and a bit more info..

    It's powdercoat.. the only thing I'm decent at.. I wish I had painting skills like that ;-)

    I'm not sure about the amps on the motor but it's a universal 1/3 Horsepower, spinning at a maximum of about 2075 RPM. It will be running on A/C current and this will of course be controlled by a rheostat with temperature sensing (mainly overtemp override capabilities) and yes, I still have to work that one out, but I think I can adapt an old HVAC project to it)

    It has a 5" squirrel cage type wheel that will push between 350-400cfm. It's ideal for this application as it pushes more air, but at a lower pressure than other types of blowers.
    As for noise, I don't have measuring equipment here, but by ear, it is no louder than a typical setup with 4 or 5 common 80mm fans (exhaust, side, intake, psu, etc....) when running at half rated speed, which should be more than adequate for a very hot machine.

    CFM will draw from the cold air intake, through a rough filter, past a grounding mesh, and then through the custom deflectors I will install that will transport the cold air quickly and efficiently to all the needed components and then out the dual 80mm exits in the rear, plus the psu exit.

    The goal here is no preheated, reused air. You know what I mean.. intake goes past hot hdd's, hot videocards, hot cpu, then maybe out the back if the exhaust is good enough, or up through the already hot psu.

    Since the blower can replace the air in a 2500sq foot room in I'd guess in about what, 10-15 minutes.. (someone do the math for me?) It should have NO problem cooling the entire system. (remember, this system will have NO other smaller fans whatsoever.. only heatsinks.. no cpu fan.. no powersupply fans, no intake and no exhaust fans.

    Ps: on http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/details.php?id=682 I *LOVE* the way you used a slot1 sink and fan for the memory.. I would have never thought of that until I saw it there.
    Nice thinkin.. Does it do the job well? If so, I have a box of about 50 of those. :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 27, 2007
  4. caveman_1990

    caveman_1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    For the squirr cage are you going to use some tubing to carry the intake air onto your compoundments? If so how are you going to distribute them into the cpu,ram GPU and the HDD? So you are trying to run a full passive cooling computer? LOL :p no fan on your PSU!!!!.

    Yes. the P3 CPU HSF works like a dream but I did not measure it but when I touch it, it is not hot or warm it is cold.^_^. LOL why do you have so many so them?(50 fans !!)

    Can you post the spec of your computer.

    Try to put in some LED fans. Looks very well on my pc case. And maybe custom mod some homemade WATER COOLING system like me ^_^.
     
  5. oscllc Guest

    Yes.. and I'm not trying to run a passive cooling system, it WILL be one, no question, no worries. The sheer amount of cold air I'm pushing into the components heatsinks will more than easily cool the entire rig even if my airflow implementation is crap :).

    However, I considered doing it via heatpipe, by standard radiaton and by direct routing through the heatsink. I think the most pratical one would be just blowing over the radiating fins of the heatsinks. Hell, I might try all three.. but come to think of it, routing them through a sink like water cooling systems would prolly cause way too much turbulence and likely generate a bit of heat itself just by necking down the airflow that tight.

    Also in that confined of a space, I think the efficiency of the system would drop dramatically. Water and air are completely different beasts in that respect.

    As for LED fans, this is not the case for it. This is purely an experiment in cooling. I will prolly put some white CCFL's in to highlight the install though, but thats about it as far as plans go now. Later as the case pushes forward, I might go as far as to try to make it a truly environmentally controlled case. Humidity, Pressure, Tempature... etc.. I wonder if I can keep the cpu from changing temperature regardless of the ambient.. or load...
    Some exceptions, obviously, but you get the idea. Hardware would *love* a case like that.

    As for specs, which one? I have 21 machines, 9 modded. If you mean this one, I have not selected anything for it yet.. I still need to choose everything from the mobo to the optical.

    Water cooling.. never held much interest for me. I might try one some day just for a laugh or when/if I decide to tackle a total environmentally controlled box and it becomes part of the method.

    50 slot 1 cpus and coolers...they came from about 3 or 4 retrofitting jobs combined that I did back then.. businesses in the area I lived in then were always on the bleeding edge.. as soon as Intel went FC-PGA, they all just *had* to be upgraded again. I got the leftovers. lol

    Really, for CFM, what it boils down to is I just don't know yet. I'm mulling it over.. have yet to decide anything really, except that the outside is a silver flake teal, and the inside is flat black. :)
     
  6. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    994 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    Pretty damn good idea. 9/10 for it. sounds good, from what I can tell, looks good too. Eager to see how the finished product performs.
     
  7. Zalmann

    Zalmann New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    910 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Nice paintjob, I'm a bit put off with the blower though, it's sticks out too much. Apart from that, it looks great. Would love to see more pics once it's complete. 7/10
     
  8. oscllc Guest

    Yeah, I've been thinking about a customer cover for it..
    Dont know yet :)
     
  9. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    994 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    Ahh, hell no. It's got that hardcore industrial look about it. I'd leave it.:p
     
  10. caveman_1990

    caveman_1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    oscllc what is the best spec that the BEAST you have out of the 21 machine you got there?
     
  11. oscllc Guest

    I think you are asking what the specs are of the best machine I own.. If that is the case, this would be it now. (It just jumped ahead of the rendering machine about a week ago.)

    My general use machine, just rebuilt:
    Asus p5b-deluxe
    Core 2 QX6700 (going to get an arctic square for it soon, when settled on a proper case)
    8gb Corsair DDR2 (800) (But for some reason, the board only shows 7gb)
    Asus eN7950GT
    NeoHe 550
    Barracuda 750 x2 (sata 300, mirrored volume)
    Barracuda 750 x2 (sata 300, stand alone volumes)
    Caviar 500 x2 (sata 300, striped volume)
    Raptor 10k 74gb

    (yea, thats over 3 tb. I know. Now ask me about my backup solution since I only have about 400 gigs free atm..:p )

    Adaptec SATA RAID 2410SA
    Live 5.1 (Don't EVEN laugh, the x-fi just went into the audio machine)
     
  12. caveman_1990

    caveman_1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Haha at "Live 5.1" but why would you put in 8GB of ram, WINDOW XP 32bit OS only support 3.2GB of ram I think. Unless you have a 64bit OS. Are you running a server or something? Man you got to like that QX6700 !!!
     
  13. oscllc Guest

    Vista, and yes. No server.. just daily use, and the 6700 is a beast.. I love it, hasn't flinched yet regardless of what I've thrown at it. Only Vista and its nearly non existent 64 bit driver support has caused problems :)
     
  14. caveman_1990

    caveman_1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    269 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    ok
     
  15. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,408 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    AZ
    7 for the paint job
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page