1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Change from Phenom II 720 to Phenom II 955

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by WojtasRed, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Is there any sense to change my CPU to Phenom II 955? It`ll cost me about 42$.
     
  2. AhokZYashA

    AhokZYashA

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    just unlock it..
    720 will unlocks to 955 with slight bump on the multi
     
  3. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    It MIGHT unlock. There's no guarantees, but a good chance.
     
  4. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    No, there`s no chance to unlock it on my MoBo.
    So, change P 720 to P 955?
     
  5. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    Depends. What do you want the extra core for? Are you just bored with your system? Is your chip a crappy overclocker?
     
  6. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    808
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    hell yeah man, why not, its only $42
     
  7. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    I didn`t overclock my P 720. But there are few games on 4 cores Battlefield Bad Company 2, Metro, Saboteur...
    So is it a nice idea to spend 42$ for extra core and a bit higher clock?
     
  8. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,822 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,444
    I would say save your money if your just getting it for gaming. I would go and bump the multi up on the 720 in your bios and get it up between 3.2-3.5Ghz. You may have to bump voltage up but shouldn't be that much. Just make sure you test for stability.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    So next upgrade for my rig will be AM3 next generation processor and DDR3 MoBo, right? There`s no sense to do this upgrade (720->955)?
     
  10. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    609 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    i have the 720 be and run @ 3.6 with no voltage increase...3.74 if i bump i t to 1.4..just overclock it....
     
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I think you should do the upgrade or look into overclocking if you don't wish to spend the cash.

    You really do have a golden chip or my board is crippling my chip. :p
     
  12. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    609 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    i can get it to 3.8 and boot into windows..but then get reboots...whats your chipset? mines rd770 and sb 600 southbridge...andthe scythe cpu cooler helps a ton...dropped my temps 9* c...didnt mean to crap on your thread.....but i would seriously try to oc before i buy a new chip.
     
  13. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    How big performance boost is, when you overclock P 720 to 3,4-3,6GHz per core(3cores)?
     
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Surprisingly enough, it is quite a big difference. Factor in a good nb oc also, 2.4+. It's quite a performer.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page