1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Change Motherboard Boot Up Picture

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by sonnytiger, May 31, 2011.

  1. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    My motherboard (You can see it in my system specs) Displays the image of some quad engine airplane thing, is there any way to change the image it displays on boot?
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,485 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,896
    Only if the option is present in the Bios. Some boards have it, some don't. I don't think yours has it.
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    I know Athlon could do it in a bios editor even if the bios didn't actually support it. I have no ides where to look or what to look for, but if you are capable of editing the bios at the lowest levels I think it can be done. He used to make cool boot screens for our DFI NF4 boards;)
    sonnytiger says thanks.
  4. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,334 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    I have the software for modding AMI BIOS, but as I haven't used it yet, there's a good chance of bricking your board.
    sonnytiger says thanks.
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    agreed, modding the motherboard bios in any way can lead to you owning a paper weight if you don't know what you are doing;)
    sonnytiger says thanks.
  6. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,334 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Looking for a test subject though... You're looking to upgrade anyway right?
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,861 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rochester area
    lolt
  8. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    well, i do plan on upgrading actually in a few months, but i need to save up more money yet. But i prefer to keep it in working order cause it would make a very good spare system.
  9. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,334 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Let me know if you change your mind. It's actually a very simple procedure from what I gather. It's just that I've never done it before.
  10. sonnytiger

    sonnytiger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Lower Sackville, NS
    ok, i will do that, i want to do it to, awesome customization thing!

    I think the image has to be quite small, judging from the compression of the one on my motherboard.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page