1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Change my D: to my C:?? Help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by andrewsmc, Nov 18, 2008.

  1. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Any idea on how to change my D: to my C:... It wont let me. I jsut reinstalled OS, I was reformatting C: and i was also installing SP3 for xp, And it was going on the C: so it would not let me install it to C: because i am formatting it. Gr.. Wtf to do?
  2. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    [​IMG]

    Also, I reinstalled the OS on D, It didnt even ask me. But yes thats where i wanted it. I duno wtf i was thinking
  3. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    I have used Norton Partition Magic to change my drive space from D: to C: I think it has also an option on changing drive letters.
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Is it two differant parttions or drives?
  5. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    :wtf:you have completely lost me. i did not know it was possible to install Windows on anything other than C :confused:
  6. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Two diff drives
  7. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    YES you can install on any drive letter but the default would be C:
    andrewsmc says thanks.
  8. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Try removing the D: drive and see if windows automatically renames the boot drive as c: on boot up.It might work but i am not sure :)

    If not,you may be able to rename the single drive as c: in drive management.
    andrewsmc says thanks.
  9. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Ohz :) ok i will
  10. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    that's new to me.
  11. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Also, Another question. I had d/l Ubuntu once. And when i boot it ask if i want to boot with Ububtu. I never even actualy installed it. How do i make it to where it just automaticly boots up XP. I cant even find Ubuntu files. :\ Any other ideas shoot em at me guys.
  12. A Cheese Danish

    A Cheese Danish

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,963 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    your local vending machine
    Right click My Computer>click Manage>click Disk Management>Right click your D: drive>click Change Drive Letter and Paths...>and then Rename. Or you could use Partition Majic. Not sure if the first one will work or not.
  13. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    If drive C: is already taken then it must be remove first. Then reformat and partition again to make drive C: as Windows
    andrewsmc says thanks.
  14. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Wont work with the first idea. Is partion magic free? Also. This is not a partion. It is a Disc drive
  15. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Ok, Say i get done formating my C: now. And i want to reformat AGAIN and reinstall(to make it all on C again, But i want my D: now to be my C:). Can i reformat my D from window's(Concidering this is what windows is running on now.) or would i have to do it from BIOS? Sorry guys.. I know its late to be working you guy's brain :\
  16. James1991

    James1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    267 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Port Lincoln, South Australia
    try booting from it and see what it does.

    go into the msconfig thing and see if it is in the boot.ini file and if it is then delete that line out of it.
    andrewsmc says thanks.
  17. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,741 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,639
    Location:
    US
    It will not work if C is boot drive and D is were windows is installed. And if the C drive breaks down it will take windows with it as in the system will not boot.

    Best way is a back every thing up clean install and to keep things simple to only have one HDD installed when reinstalling windows.
    andrewsmc says thanks.
  18. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Im going to keep it simple, And take your idea. Now does this mean that i have to formatt D? And if so.. How? And if not do i select Repair windows when installing..? A few more details would be helpful thanks.
  19. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,741 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,639
    Location:
    US
    Make sure you have your windows license key handy and all the drivers for your system. :).

    Bed time for me GL.
    andrewsmc says thanks.
  20. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,237 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    I don't think it's possible to change the OS drive letter but, even if it is, i strongly advise against it: do you know how many paths the registry has that have, in your case, "D:\..."?

    Have you tried to switch the HDDs line up in the BIOS? In my Rampage Formula, i accidentaly screwed up with "SetFSB" and it reversed the order of my HDDs in BIOS. I couldn't reboot because it said it couldn't find the some files.
    I was already trying to re-install Vista when i noticed the HDD labeled as "C" was half that of "D" when it was supposed to be the other way around. Good thing i noticed: just changing the drives order in the BIOS fixed my problem.

    Perhaps something similar happened to you?
  21. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I think maybe i should have had that the other way around.If win is on d: then removing c: and booting off d:,should allow him to rename D: to c: in drive management,as long as no other drive,dvd for example,is using that drive letter.

    I guess the easiest way is to reinstall with the single hdd in that you want to be c: with your os on,then replace the other disc when win has installed.
  22. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    Sorry but already tried it.. Wont work
  23. andrewsmc

    andrewsmc

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    977 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Pikeville NC
    I will try this first
  24. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,237 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    302
    Bummer :(
  25. RadeonX2

    RadeonX2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,197 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    180
    Location:
    Asia, PH
    ok here it is Norton Partition Magic
    I will try this first as it stated that my PC might not boot after changing drive letter

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page