1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Changing shader count 6950 to 6970

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by tommcat, Mar 28, 2012.

  1. tommcat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have tryed and tryed to change the shader count on my HD 6950 to the 6970 shaders, I have read all articles on how to do it with CMD and DOS methods and still won't change. RBE editor shows that its changed but stays at 1408 on GPU-Z.
    Sapphire Dirt 3 Edition HD 6950 2048GB
    BIOS Version-013.012.000.008.000000 (113-1E18620-S44)
    Device ID-1002-6719
    Subvendor-Sapphire/PCPartner (174B)
    Am I just stuck with a bum card or is there some other trick to this?

    Attached Files:

  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,766
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
  3. tommcat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes I did and still no change. I tried to use a differant 6970 bios but it wouldn't boot after that. Had to revert to old bios.
  4. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,382 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,320
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
  5. tommcat New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes it is duel BIOS and I have tried flipping the switch but still no change. I have read somewhere about a fuse on the GPU that prevents changing the shaders. Maybe that is what I have?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page