1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[WTB][US] Cheap Mobo, CPU and RAM

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by Taz100420, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    Ok one of my friends' mom has a Dell computer with a socket 478 Celeron and 256 mb of ram. She keeps getting a BSOD for some hardware issues and told her to basically upgrade the mobo, proc and memory. So what I need is a LGA 775 or AM2 mATX board preferably with onboard video. As for the processor, I would like something dual core, nothing really fancy, she is mostly using it for online, chatting and a few games which arent too graphics intense. I would say anywhere from 1GB-2GB should be suffice. I dont need a top of the line equipment just nice, cheap, and working stuff. Her budget ATM is $100. A bundle deal would be great but am open! Thank you for looking!:toast:
     
  2. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i think i have 2x512mb DDR2 sticks around someplace. They could be yours for a fair price
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,233 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    sent pm.
     
  4. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    PM'ed
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  5. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
  6. Zedicus

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2004
    Messages:
    490 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    if its that old of a dell you will probably want to get a psu too as dell did a bad bad thing and repinned the ATX plug. so if you plug a dell psu into a non dell board you will fry the board.
     
  7. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i am unsure if this is true or not but if needed i think i have a 350w Antec Smart power 2.0 thats been opened to be painted and fan was replaced i think it is also missing the inside fan grill but i could let it go really cheap if needed and would provide pics :toast:
     
    Taz100420 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    Well all this is goin in the dell case and its mATX, so I would need a mATX PSU. She really dont have all that much to spend as she is on a "fixed Income". But I maybe be able to squeeze an extra $20-$25 on top of the $100 budget.
     
  9. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,233 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I think its better if you measure the current mATX PSU so you can try to match one and avoid frustrations.

    and oh is it one of the slim cases or regular mATX tower type case?
     
  10. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    regular mATX tower. I cant exactly remember the model of it tho. Ill see if I can find it somewhere. I know it came with a 15" LCD monitor

    EDIT: Its a Dell Dimension 2000 series, I think either 2350 or 2400
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2010
  11. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,233 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Looks like it might take regular ATX PSU too. Just measure it for sure, so you can actually buy a quality ATX PSU for cheap than a mATX PSU.

    Also make sure you get a 45w or 65w one, since there is no side vent, the cpu will be cooking inside.
     
  12. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,920 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,429
    I have some Socket 775 CPU's:

    Two Pentium 4 2.8GHz SL7PR S775 CPU's. Asking $15 for each.

    One Pentium 4 521 2.8GHz SL8HX S775 CPU. Asking $15.

    One Pentium 4 3.0GHz SL7PU S775 CPU. Asking $20.
     
    Taz100420 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Varalith Guest

    For what it's worth Taz, the 2000 and 3000 series were manufactured by a company in Taiwan if I remember right. Those systems use a standard ATX power supply because the board inside of them is not actually a Dell board. I think it should have somewhere around a 350-450w PSU inside of it, however it won't have the 20+4pin ATX 2.0 connector.

    If you wanted though you could buy an ATX connector adapter cheaper than a new supply. And if you want to change that supply out, it IS a standard ATX PSU opening.

    And I worked at a Dell call center when those were being manufactured, so from our training on pulling parts for those from the inventory, we had to get those from a seperate list than the "real" Dell systems, and that was why (as they explained it to us).

    As you can see those didn't turn out too hot though, they sold a lot of them, but the backlash from their super crapiness may have prompted Dell to stop selling non-Dell systems with Dell badges. Of course....Alienware is still in business and they sell Clevo Dell badges laptops so.....go figure. :roll:
     
  14. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    ah ok one thing I did not know lol. I have worked on the computer but never opened it up b/c I havent had the need to but now, I do lol. I do have a 20>24 pin adapter for the PSU.

    Ok if now someone posts a motherboard within in price range, I will have all I need and I wont have to order what I posted from the Egg. I had a P4 3.06 GHz I loved it. I get a mobo and Ill def. get the P4 3.0Ghz from ya

    Yea I'll ask her if she wants me to insert a fan on the side case. Id have to cut it but shes knows Im good with a RTX. She saw my computer :p
     
    t_ski says thanks.
  15. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,233 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Taz100420 and brandonwh64 say thanks.
  16. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    Ah yes. With T_Ski's P4 and this mobo, she will be much happier than the old smelleron lol. Now if Pos_Pc can find his RAM, I'll be set. I will know by later on today about the money as she has to go outta my town to get it. But I will be PM'ing later on!

    Oh and I may need a small sata HDD for a O/S swap. She cant use her computer now and needs to get all her personal info. off the drive b4 I wipe it clean. I only need like a 10Gb-20Gb as I will be using this as a storage drive in her comp. She mainly just puts pictures in storage.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2010
  17. bucd

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    OH
    Hello hello,

    I know this may be out of her budget. But I think it's a great combo for what she needs. Just take out the hard drive and optical drive from the old and put in this one and you got technically a brand new, very capable system.

    http://www.mwave.com/mwave/skusearch_v3.asp?scriteria=SA02243

    NOTE the $10 disco for members, free to join.

    -D
     
  18. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,233 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    you might actually get one of these and be done with it

    http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=221-8994&cat=SYS
     
  19. Varalith Guest

    And to be honest with you, that suggestion about the side fan wasn't bad....but I don't know that it's really necessary.....you're replacing the stock dell passive heatsink with the low rpm exhaust fan and the shroud with another cooling solution better suited for the new chip, so I think you'd be just as good to put a higher rpm 80mm (I think that's what's on the back of it) fan where the exhaust fan was and just leave it rather than go through the hassle.

    I mean....I don't remember there being much need for side fans on web surfing computers anyway. If I remember correctly, that was more of a case modder/lan party/gamer thing that came along in the early Athlon days. I wouldn't put an i series chip in that case, but any single core chip should be fine without side ventilation imo.
     
  20. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    Yea thats way too much for her but thanks anyway!:toast:

    Im tryin to steer her away from prebuilts. I hate prebuilts lol. I like the warranty from the Biostar board on the egg and may just get that as she has grankids that like to snoop around if ya know what I mean lol.
     
  21. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    Yea I have a lot of customers with kids "GOD BLESS THEM" hehe how I make the $$$
     
  22. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
  23. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    what size HDD are you looking for? IDE or SATA?
    I found a 1gb DDR2 677 stick(1 stick) that works great and i may have a HDD also if still needed i maybe wiling to part with my Pentium D 925 :cry:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I think that i have him covered on everything else but not 100% sure if we have a deal :confused:
    if we do just say so and i will pack them up and wait for the MO :)
     
    Taz100420 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    Pm'ed deal done :toast:
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page