1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cheap modular PSU

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Pinchy, Nov 12, 2007.

  1. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I cant seem to find a modular PSU thats below $80AUD. So far im looking at getting a Coolermaster extreme 550W priced at $69, but I would much prefer a modular PSU as it is going into a Thermaltake lanbox, and cables are annoying with the side window.

    The only thing I need in the PSU is to be modular, but I would prefer one with a 120mm fan, and to be fairly energy efficient. It can be of even a low power rating. I'm currently running the computer on a 400W generic with 17A.


    I don't want to spend too much, so the cheaper the better :D.

    Thx in adv.
  2. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Too bad Pinchy, your dream PSU doesn exist :p. $80 AUD is a bit low of an ask for a modular PSU... least would be $110, the NEO HE 430W.
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    LOL after some more searching:

    http://www.thermaltake.com/product/Power/TR2power/w0146/w0146.asp

    $79 @ QCG. + Its got a 14cm fan :).

    Moral of the story: Never listen to TK :rolleyes:.


    Anyways, you guys know any more?
  4. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,481 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    473
    Location:
    University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine
    look for kingwin, they offer bunch of quality modular psus under 100, I got my 600W for like 100-40MIR=60 and I got the rebate back so it was all good
    so far it's handled my system and 1950pros in CF, and now my 2900pro it's a champ :)
    Pinchy says thanks.
  5. Woah Mama! New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    497 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Australia
  6. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Lol..couldnt find any in Aus. Thanks tho :D.

    I found one at Jantech for $82. Its like 1 hr away from me, so it might not be too bad postage wise.

    Thx for looking though :).



    So far its gonna be the TT power supply, unless there are any other cheap ones out :rolleyes:.
  7. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    call me crazy but in most cases a power supply is for one computer only so why not forget the modular and just cut off the wires you arent planning on using?
  8. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I was actually thinking about doing that :p...but I couldnt do it to a brand new PSU and its re-sale value goes straight down.
  9. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    haahaaa.. Don't think you need to be worried about re-sale value on a $60 psu Pinchy...

    Just cut the wires off and tape em up... If you really wanted to go all out you could de-solder em from inside the psu and remove them completely.. :)
  10. keakar

    keakar

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,376 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    just outside of new orleans
    if you think it through and cut it wisely in a place to allow reconnecting them later (say 2 or 3" after it comes out the psu), then save the wires so you can go back and resolder them back on for trading, reselling or whatever. with patience and proper sleeving it would not even show you ever cut them.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page