1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cheap Quad Rig (Is this any good?)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by hooj, Nov 29, 2009.

  1. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    I want to go Quad but don't wanna fork out for an AMAZING Rig just yet so is this any good for my Maya, Photoshop, XNA, the Unreal UDK and a few Games like:

    Dragon Age: Origins
    The Elder Scrolls series
    Fallout 3
    Crysis, Crysis Warhead and Crysis Wars (my only REALLY taxing Games)
    Half-Life series
    Warcraft 3
    World of Warcraft

    I'm keeping my Graphics Card which is an Inno3D 9600GT 512MB

    Plus i'm getting Windows 7 for £30 because i'm a Student

    So please can you Guys and Gals(i think) give me feedback on this Rig, whether or not it is worth the purchase.

    Thanks

    Rig can be seen here.
     
  2. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    What rig?
     
    hooj says thanks.
  3. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Sorry lol its up now.
     
  4. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,487 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    looks good but you dont need such a big power supply. you can go with 550w + and be fine. id probably reccomend around 600 so you have enough headway for anything you want to upgrade with later down the line
     
    hooj says thanks.
  5. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Nothing wrong with that power supply. Leaves a great deal of upgrade room.

    I would envy that system. :p
     
    hooj says thanks.
  6. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    So in terms of the AMD Athlon II Quad, is it any good for it's price?

    I read the review and it looks OK and performs well for its cheap price tag but does anyone on these Forums have it?
     
  7. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,487 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    to tell you the truth if you drop money on that rig, i think your really going to be impressed by the price/performance ratio your getting. just becuase amd's arnt nearly as fast as intel quads doesnt mean they arnt monsters when it comes to multi threading as well
     
    hooj says thanks.
  8. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Cheers dude. :toast:

    I do want to go Intel at some point when i can spend like £800 on a Rig but for now as long as this Rig beasts all my Applications i'm fine for the time being.
     
    evilwillie0614 says thanks.
  9. angelkiller

    angelkiller

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I think if you're really gonna use 4 cores, it's a great deal. But if your 90% of the time you're only using 2 cores, the a Phenom X2, or X3 will probably get you more performance. OR if you just want the best performance in multi-thread apps, even if you only use them 10% of the time, the quad is the best choice.

    At the end of the day, it's hard to make a bad choice. What you picked will serve you well.

    But the PSU is indeed overkill. I used to run an OC'ed Q6600 and 2 4830s in Crossfire on 500W. I guarentee your system won't come close to stressing a 4-500W PSU. Even if you upgrade. If you want upgrade room, 650W is plenty methinks.
     
    Arrakis+9 and hooj say thanks.
  10. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    OK thanks for the PSU suggestions. I will drop it lower and buy an Uber PSU when i go Intel.
     
  11. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    909 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    get the hx 650w and maybe the phenom x2 it would serve you better

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2009
    hooj says thanks.
  12. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,197 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,982
    Location:
    Home
    I would go for the 720BE, about the same price but I think it is better for gaming
     
    hooj says thanks.
  13. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    You could get MSI 770-C45 people say it is great budget board and for the money you could 945-955 Phenom II. Even though AII 620 is nice CPU descent overclocker too 3.6+ GHz. Or you could keep 620 and get MSI 770 and save some money for better VGA.
     
    hooj says thanks.
  14. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,130 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    if you was going spend same amount as Nexus posted in his build i would rather go for this:
    [​IMG]
     
    hooj says thanks.
  15. hooj

    hooj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    398 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Londinius
    Thanks for the suggestion Kurosagi01 !!
     
  16. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page