1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cheapest effective upgrade of Q6600 ?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Fif23, Feb 21, 2014.

  1. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi there ! I am looking to change out my Q6600/DDR2 combo for something newer, probably used but still significantly faster than Q6600.

    I have no real complaints, I can run Diablo fine and browse the web pretty fast. So I do not want a new expensive combo. The problem is the motherboard lost it's audio capabilities, the CPU fan died, so I figured I would just get something else.

    Any specific suggestions ? Perhaps a Phenom II or AMD FX ? I7 940 ?
     
  2. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,321 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    AMD FX would be a good upgrade my bro went from a Q6600 to a 8320 and is loving every second. but a 6300 series would be good too!
     
  3. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,942 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    if the PC is still fine for your use the just by a soundcard and carry on.

    grab a Xonar DG which is dirt cheap or a Creative Sound Blaster Z/ZX/ZxR which are on the more expensive side of the scale if you wish to throw more money at it.

    If you really wanted a complete overhaul though but are on a tight budget, i recommend going the intel i3 4xxx (Haswell) route. I built my dad a similar set up with a i3 4130 and even though its far from an enthusiast grade CPU, it has performance in buckets

    It totally pounds your Q6600 into the ground
     
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,942 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    I think the 4130 is a better option if on a budget

    It 'Almost' trades blows with the AMD FX8320

    The only test the FX8320 really takes off is in multi-threaded performance otherwise everything is more or less identical
     
  5. ST.Viper

    ST.Viper

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Slovakia
    First of all. How much are you actually willing to spend together for cpu and mobo?
     
  6. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks !
    Wow 200% upgrade for the i3....

    I have a guy here selling Asus Rampage Extreme LGA1366 + Core I7 960 for 220$. From what I can see in your linked comparison website the I3 and that I7 are pretty similar.
    Should I get the I7 combo with the great board and OC the hell out of it ? Or would you still get a new I3 ?


    By the way, for my uses I should look at Single Threaded Performance, correct ?
    MT is all that 3D Studio and the likes, ey ?
     
  7. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,359 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    CZ
    FX 6300 + 8GB 1600 ram + GA-970A-UD3P. My friend has a HD 7970 paired with that and plays Planetside 2 maximum settings @ 1080p with 0 overclocking and gets at worst 40FPS.
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,942 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    you can if you wanted to but IMO that i7 960 is old tech, There is no upgrade path for it beyond what it is.

    If you have a bit more cash though the you can buy into a i5 4440 and a cheap $100 motherboard if you dont care for overclocking. for a mobo, CPU & RAM combo it shouldnt cost you above $400 for a decentish setup so long as youre not too demanding.
     
  9. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,654 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    2nd hand 2500k and a z68 mobo all day every day.

    dont say this too loud as there are amd fanbois everywhere! but an fx4 aint much of an upgrade from a q6600.
     
    MT Alex says thanks.
  10. TomJane

    TomJane New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    A lot has already been advice. My simplest suggestion would be to go either for Q9400 or Haswell.
    Q9400 is next generation and it works at par and is cheap too. If you have a little increased budget
    than going with later is a better choice.
     
  11. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,654 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    if you want to stay 775 only get a 9x50 chip as those had all the cache, those without the 50 did not :thumb:
     
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,942 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,367
    waste of money. The Q9400 isnt a much of a step forward in terms of performance


    The i3-4130 is better than the Q9400 & the Q6600

    At the end of the day it comes down to budget.... but i would not get that Q9400 over a i3-4130. It might be a Quad but Haswell is just so much more efficient.


    If it had to be a C2Q chip though, id be looking for a Q9550 or Q9650 chip and those arent cheap as they are still very very capable CPUs
     
  13. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Guys thanks ! Great options here.
    What's a good OC board to take an FX-4 or Phenom II 980 high in the sky ? Again, within 100$ used.
    By the way, is the AM3+ socket still active and under development ? If so, may be worthwhile for me to get a new, good OC board for that, with a cheap used Phenom 965 and just enjoy it.

    I see good AMD boards are generally cheaper.. And the used CPU's on ebay are also really cheap, as long as it's mainstream and not FX-9 and other useless stuff like that.
     
  14. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,413 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Am3 + is unlikely to last much longer but that doesn't matter if you understand intels near yearly socket swap malarky ie neither has much upgrade potential beyond more cores later so id suggest a decent am3+ mobo like a gigabyte ud3 (cheap but capable) and an fx4300 .you will see a decent amount of improvement over a q6600 in part due to ddr3 and could get a cheap 8 core fx in a few years off ebay etc
     
    More than 25k PPD
  15. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,504 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,353
    Honestly, as someone who has a q6600/8 gigs ram/ gtx 570 I would simply buy a new cheap cpu fan and a cheap sound card. That is $60 in total cost for you and you get to continue using an amazing CPU. I am not upgrading my rig for a long time.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,488 (11.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,768
    if you want better single threaded performance, an i3/i5 is your best bet. trust me, i went from a 6 core AMD to my i5 and i'd never go back for gaming.

    for video encoding and such the AMD hexcore works great, but sadly games are still dominated by single threaded performance.

    personally i say fix up your PC to get another 6 months out of it (CPU fan + cheapo soundcard, hell maybe even ebay a $10 USB one?) and save up for a whole new machine that kicks the pants off it.
     
  17. rhino

    rhino

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    129 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Surely but surely for your needs you can't go wrong with a nice little AMD FM2 A8 with an ASUS F2A85-M. 200 bucks and if you ever want more graphic performance you can bung in a further G card or two.
    I don't recommend buying anything 2nd hand. There is nearly always a reason why the current owner has upgraded from it.
    However, as has been mentioned, a quick patch up and saving up for a quantum leap sometime in the future won't be disappointing either.
     
  18. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,684 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Before any recommendation can be made with any sort of reasonable accuracy I think a couple questions are in order.
    A: What about your current platform are you unhappy with if anything (other than components failing)?
    B: What do you use your computer for? You mentioned Diablo (3?) but that doesn't really tell us what the entirety of the machine is used for. Is it just for gaming?
    C: How much are you looking to spend?
     
  19. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    820 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    You sound just like my brother - he's been bragging on his Q6600 rig for years. Three weeks ago I built an i3-4130/MSI Z87-GD45 Gaming/8GB DDR3-2400MHz/840 Pro 128/GTX 460 rig, and I let him borrow it for a week to try it out . He hooked it up as an HTPC/music server in his living room, and he was blown away by the speed and the graphics quality on his 55" flatscreen TV - so I sold it to him for what I had in it (~$500). He still uses his old system for work and general office duties, but he's really taken with the new rig. He was also stuck on Win XP 32 bit, and now he's finding out how much better Win 8 Pro 64 is.
     
  20. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,607 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    If this system comes with DDR3 and good cooling for the I7 that is a good deal and will be a huge performance gain.
     
  21. rhino

    rhino

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    129 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Nooooooooo!
    Must be new.
    Why spend 200 hundred bucks on 2nd hand when you can get a funky new rig for the same?
     
  22. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,607 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Because while you might get a Funky new rig, it won't out perform the i7 9xx series at $220. An i3 is not going to beat an i7 9xx series which have plenty of potential even if it is a little older. Those are all high-end parts. the i7 9xx series has a min of 8mb Cache and the top of the line i3 has 3mb. The only thing the i3 does better is take less power.

    I am not saying the lga1366 is a future proof socket..lol. Its dead. But there is still plenty of performance that can be delivered from this socket.
     
  23. rhino

    rhino

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    129 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    If the gear is good.........
     
  24. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,577 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    612
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I've never gotten any used computer part off ebay that had any problem with it. Most are for sale because the owner upgraded, not because anything is wrong with it. It's a very smart way to shop for upgrades if cash-flow is short.
     
  25. rhino

    rhino

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    129 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Help, help. The i7 mob is ganging up on me.
    Well, if it works you won't be disappointed.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page