1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cheapest proc ever!

Discussion in 'Hot Deals' started by suraswami, Oct 27, 2008.

  1. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  2. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,798 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,680
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Sempron. *sigh*
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    You get what you pay for. Though suraswami is right, e-mail/office machine doesn't require anything better.
     
  4. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    wow that's awsome. i could think of 100 uses for computers with that proccy. i mean cheap linux box, emulator machine, file server for the home, nas box. so many things.
     
  5. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    cheap , good for low profile pc with mobo with built in card you can make a pc under 100$
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,380 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    at 1.8GHz, it will be 720P capable, 1080P capable with an accelerator video card (aka, good onboard video/780G)

    Great for budget builds (non gamer) thats for sure.
     
  7. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,582 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    Lol one of the computers I put at work has a celeron 333Mhz and 128MB RAM. It only runs Microsoft Word and Excel (on XP), and it does its job fine.

    Old games run fine as well - you know like Sonic the Hedgehog, Prince of Persia I and II.... but obviously our clerk doesn't game at work... Previously I had set up this pc for my daughter, but then I put this at work and took the 1600+ AMD for her.

    So yeah... a 1.8Ghz will be more than fine for office work.
     
  8. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    You could take the fan off the stock heatsink and use natural convection to cool it. Silent file server, anyone?
    That is really cheap.
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,380 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    combine with a board like this,
    and a case like this

    and you can have a HD capable media PC/netbox for... well, for very damned little.
     
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,798 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,680
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I can't even stand using a Sempron/Celeron after a clean install of XP. Update and installation routines alone take twice as long or more. It is so worth the extra $40 to step up to a Athlon, Pentium, or Core processor. It'll pay for itself in not wasting time doing pretty much everything.

    "Require," no, but time is money.

    I thought this thread was actually going to be about the VIA C7. I've never used a VIA processor but I am interested to know if the responsiveness is on the level the budget or mainstream chips.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I have used S754 Sempron 2600 (with just 128 kb cache) on my previous generation media center PC for almost a year. It really played BF2 on 50" screen, played all my movies, recorded shows and browse the internet while AVG is updating and scanning without a hiccup. So don't know if its only for you.

    My FIL still runs a PC with a Socket A Sempron 2500 and he feels it is super fast :D He does PowerPoint presentations for his work and creates loads of charts with data in Excel and also uses the machine to convert docs to pdfs. Its a work horse.
     
  12. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Ya real cheap, really not too bad either...

    Anyone know if stock for stock how this would compare with a P4 3.0 HT chip in gaming?
     
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,044 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,106
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103196

    Only $5 more, 100MHz faster, lower power usage, and comes with a heatsink.

    I can agree with this actually, even with the dual core Celeron E1400 I just tested, the machine is a little more sluggish with lower end processors like this. However, will that really be noticeable to the people using the machine? No, not really, unless they are used to super powerful machines. And will it be any better with a slightly faster Athlon? No, it really won't.

    Moving from the Celeron machine I just built, to the Pentium E2180 machine, and there is very little difference really. Updating and installation takes about the amount of time on both, so simply saying avoiding the Celeron isn't accurate.

    And furthermore, when overclocked these processor can scream, and be just as snappy as their higher end counterparts. When I took the Celeron E1400 to 2.4GHz, the machine seems much more responsive, and I couldn't really tell the difference between it and my Q6600 at the same speeds when doing basic tasks.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  15. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Pfft whats an I/O plate..... :p Not even using one with this DFI board. Altho both of those paired would make a midrange gaming platform. Just add hd3850/HD4670 and above.
     
  17. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I can't bring myself to run a board without one... I know its not really a big deal its just something that would drive me up the wall....:ohwell:

    But ya it would make a great entry level gaming system, I have a x2 4200 laying around and am thinking about buying that board for it.
     
  18. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I have this board,

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813153073

    It has all the OC options u would ever want, I mentioned before, its poor man's OCer. Add a used 3850 from here and you are set for budget gaming or even watching HD.

    Or get this Foxconn for decent onboard graphics

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813186143
     
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,044 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,106
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  20. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    And oh I Wish Frys sells this proc with a ECS board for combo price of $30:D heck even $20:roll:
     
  21. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,232 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I would go with the BE2400 instead. At default its 45w and OCs nice too.
     
  22. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,044 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,106
    True, luckily they are the same price. :rockout:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  23. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,798 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,680
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I was referring to Pentium 4/Pentium D, not the "Pentium Dual-Core" of today. No offense but Pentium of today has been degraded to Celeron status. They are practically interchangeable.


    Instructions per Cycle (IPC) * Cycles per Second (Hz) = Instructions per Second (I/s)

    That equation is the great processor equalizer. Celerons and Semperons have pathetic IPC. For theoretical sake, lets say it is just 2 IPC (this is a very liberal) and use your given speed of 2.0 GHz. That gives use the following:

    2 IPC * 2.0 GHz = 4.0 GI/s

    The Core 2 is in the neighborhood of 3 IPC and let's go with the same clockspeed of 2.0 GHz:

    3 IPC * 2.0 GHz = 6.0 GI/s

    Theoretically, your processor at 2.4 GHz grants you the following:

    2 IPC * 2.4 GHz = 4.8 GI/s

    As you can see, still well under the Core 2 processor. Realize that overclocking results in a higher frequency of errors and a lower IPC as a result. Assuming these IPC figures are correct (not certain on Celeron), you'd need to have your clockspeed at 3.0 GHz to match a Core 2 at 2.0 GHz.


    Why I think the IPC of Celeron/Pentium is much lower is because Pentium 3, Pentium 4, Athlon XP, Athlon 64, Pentium M, Core 2, Core, and Athlon 64 X2 are all extremely responsive on an OS released at about the same time. The ones that have consistently stood out as not being responsive are the likes of Pentium, Celeron, Semperon, and Duron. Because of their tiny caches, their IPCs are at least half if not lower.

    The main shortcoming of these cheaper processors is a much smaller cache. Benchmarks typically don't show this because they are designed to work with small caches. Where it becomes blatantly obvious is in tasks that require larger caches (like games) and simple day to day operations. Higher clocks can increase the instructions per second to a level that nullifies the difference.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,044 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,106
    I was talking in present day terms, when someone makes a comment, that is what I expect they are talking about. And the Celeron's of today are certainly not the Celeron's of yesteryear. And quite frankly, I would take a Celeron Dual Core over a Pentium D any day. As for the Pentium Dual-Core's being pretty much Celerons of today, I agree. In fact, I've said this since before the E2100 series was even released: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=20105&p=187004


    Most of this is not accurate. The IPC on the Celeron's(E1000 series) and Core 2 Duos are the same. Which makes most of what you have argued inaccurate. The main difference is that due to the smaller cache size, there are more cache misses, so time and instructions have to be wasted waiting for the information to be transferred.

    This means that in programs that are largely cache independant, the Celeron will perform pretty similar to the Core 2 Duo.Mainly this is anything that doesn't involve a lot of data movement, office apps and such fall into this category, which is why these processors are often used in machines that are inteded for office tasks.

    Benchmarking definitely picks up on the lower cache hindering performance, especially gaming benchmarking. But again, it depends on the benchmark being run.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  25. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,798 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,680
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Cache misses = few instructions successfully completed per clock = fewer instructions completed per second. Whenever a component of a processor is waiting, it is a works against the IPC count and inherently, I/s count.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page