1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Check out our rigs.

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by JATownes, Jun 12, 2011.

  1. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    My brother and I were chilling for the weekend, added a Noctua NH-D14 to his rig with 10, yes count em, 10 Xigmatek 1800rpm fans. Here are our rigs today before a long gaming session.

    What do you guys think?

    Rig 1:

    Asus Crosshair III NB-2600/HT-2600
    Phenom II 965 @ 3.9Ghz 1.46v
    Corsair Vengence DDR3 2x2Gb 1600Mhz
    ATi 5770 Crossfire
    Corsair TX850 PSU
    InWin Dragon Rider Chassis
    10 x Xigmatek 1800rpm Case Fans
    Noctua NH-D14 CPU Cooler

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Rig 2:

    Asus M4A79 Deluxe NB-2600/HT-2600
    Phenom II 965 @ 3.9Ghz 1.46v
    Patriot Extreme DDR2 1066Mhz
    MSI TwinFrozr 6870 Crossfire
    Corsair TX850W PSU
    2x60GB Patriot Infreno SSD RAID-0
    CM690II Advanced
    7xXigmatek 1800rpm Case Fans
    Scythe Mugen II w/Gentle Typhoon 1800rpm push/pull

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    And here we are ready for a game session:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Just thought I would share some of the fun. :toast:
    streetfighter 2 says thanks.
  2. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,390 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,223
    grow em big in texas, eh?
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  3. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,855 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Nice amouint of airflow, how did it affect your temps?

    I have 8 fans in mine if you count the fan on the V8, i think i could fit 10 in if i swapped out the big ass 200mm's. The only problem i have with that much airflow is all the damn dust :(
  4. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,581 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    thats why we need dust filter :toast:
    yeah it draws alot of air and alot of dust so thats why i need to clean it up once a month
  5. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    He went from a Corsair H-50, and temps dropped about 3-4 degrees. It idles at about 34*C and full load rarely go higher than 55*C. It was a nice upgrade.
  6. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,893 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,182
    If dust is a problem, make sure you have more fans (or more specifically, more CFM) for intake compared to exhaust. Then put filters on your intake fans. Some sacrifice on temps, but the dust issue would be addressed.

    @JATownes: Add another fan to the NH-D14? :p
  7. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,855 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Nice that's a good little boost in cooling :)

    I do have a lot more CFM on intake, i have 2x 120mm hi-CFM side intake + 1x 200mm front intake (with filter) then i have 2x low CFM exhaust + 1x 200mm top exhaust. I can;t get dust filters here :( i was thinking about ordering some from the states, but the shipping is pretty expensive. I have tried tights (the wifes) as filters, but they just get clogged up and blown off by the high CFM fans.
    There is some metal mesh on one of the windows at the place i work, i am thinkiing about grabbing a pair of scissors and then cutting me off a nice square portion :p
  8. roy cline

    roy cline New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    seminole tx
    We installed 10 fans total:
    Intake: Front 2, 3 on Side door, Behind CPU
    Exhaust: Top 2, Rear, 1 on Side Door

    We wanted to add another to the Noctua, but the RAM sinks are to tall. :banghead:
  9. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,893 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,182
    Try what I did. I've just replaced my filters last week with a "new batch." The old ones lasted more than 2 months before turning dark grey. I'm sure you've read about it in my post in the Ghetto mods.
  10. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,855 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    can you link yer post? i think i saw something but don;t remember what page it was on in that mega thread.
  11. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,893 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,182
    Find it on page 31.
    silkstone says thanks.
  12. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,855 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Ha ha, i do remember that post. Yea, i can't get hold of that either and i don't feel like bastardising my current air-con all for my PC :toast:
  13. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Looking pretty good man. Where in Texas are yall from? From Houston myself. Too bad you're not from the east end; we have some big lan party style events coming up here in the H-Town this summer.
  14. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    You're using foam on the door to dampen vibrations? (Oh I see it's stock. Word. :D)

    Do the cold-cathodes add horsepower? :D

    Also, very impressive wire management on both rigs.
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2011
  15. roy cline

    roy cline New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    seminole tx
    Cold cathodes are like chrome on a bumper..it always makes your stuff faster :)

    Seminole Tx is where i live and my brother in-law Jason (JATownes) is in Midland Tx.

    I've been thinking about hitting a lan in Dallas next month ..
    http://www.meetup.com/LAN-Party/events/21701821/?a=me1o_grp&rv=me1o
    Houston is'nt that far away I could always use a vacation. If you want to give me some details i would appreciate it.

    Thanks for the compliments..much respect to TPU and its band of misfits for keeping the computer world on its toes. My hats off to ya!
    streetfighter 2 says thanks.
  16. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    That's a decent drive out to Dallas. Maybe I can take a little time off and head out to that one, it sounds fun. I've been thinking about hosting a LAN/BBQ party this summer at a local community center here. I will definitely PM you this evening and send you some info.

    Take it easy!
  17. roy cline

    roy cline New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    seminole tx
    sweet..i'll get with jay and try to plan something. ill look for a pm..thanks again!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page