1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Chicken Patty's motherboard: Possibly fried

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by JrRacinFan, Dec 9, 2008.

  1. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ok since he does not really have access to internet at this time I decided to post on behalf of him.

    Here's what he has tried so far and all results in a no post:

    -Clear cmos with battery taken out and using the jumper
    -Minimal bare boot with 1 ram stick and no drives connected

    As an FYI, he does get all 3 green lights on his HD4870 for power ok. This happenned after he installed NB SB and Vregs for watercooling. I am thinking he has a short from one of the waterblocks to the motherboard.
    Any ideas?

    PS: He does not have a backup psu or video card to try and is unable to gain access to a replacement.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2008
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  2. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Take a blow dryer to make sure that if there is water it evaporates faster.
     
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Already done. Was only a few drops.
     
  4. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,784 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    he try to set it up out of the case ?Might be a short on the back were the stand offs are.
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Having him try that, will post back with results.
     
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Hey thansk Jr. Came over to a buddies house to post some stuff here.

    During installation, had a few drops fall on the SB block while connecting a water tube. I cleaned that off, and blow dried it with the block off. Then the block was blow dried also.


    While removing the stock heatpipes (push pin style) i scratched the bored just a little, nothing major. So don't think it was that neither.

    So far i've triend each stick of ram in each slot, even my old super talent RAM. No post, done bare boots, nothing. Different slots for the video card nothing.

    I dont see any of the block shorting against nothing, I used a thin piece of paper to see if the mounting harware for the blocks had clearance between anything possible that can short against it. Anything such as Caps, or anything from the board.

    Right now, i'm going to try my video card on my buddies computer and see if it boots on his comp. This will eliminate one possbility. I'll post back in a few.


    Thanks for the help everyone!!
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  7. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I would check for signs of capacitor failure... when I got water on my mobo (not my current but my PII mobo w/ slot cartridge), I saw that it had actually blow a cap. Not just 1, but 2. The droplet ended up on the cap, making a somewhat small short, but it was enough. I replaced the caps and it was good to go.
     
  8. Bytor

    Bytor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,051 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    I had a post problem with my M3A32-MVP MB and resetting it wouldn't help. Someone suggested I unplug the power cable from the wall, put the cmos jumper in the reset position and remove the cmos battery and leave it out over night.
    Well me being me I waiting only 4 hours and put everything back to normal and the thing booted.

    Not saying this will work, but what the heck..

    Good luck mate...
     
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    could be bro, but I dont see any capacitors looking bad, they all lookl in perfect shape. Is there anyway to tell for sure?
     
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    video card is ok.

    Has to be a short somewhere, or it already shorted and my board is gone.
     
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ok so video card is ok ...

    I don't know if you want to chance it further and attempt to try his psu in your rig or not.
     
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    naw can't do that. Its gotta be a damn short.
     
  13. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I'm sorry to hear about this CPat dawg :(

    Honestly that's absolutely rotten news. Are you still within warranty? Any chance for an RMA?
     
  14. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    My Max board was DOA for almost 2 months... I tried everything from even making sure it wasn't a short and anything else... Well, after a month being out of the case, in the box so I could gain some cash to send it back, I bought a board to hold me over... The Dang board I got was DOA, but to make sure, I tried my Mobo again.. It started right up...

    When you do something major to the system, as a bad oc, or something like maybe a little water, it does sometimes takes time to get the system up and running again. I've been out of a computer for about 4 months of the time I've been a member of TPU due to ocing and DOA stuff.. I say, unplug, Clear the Cmos, and take the battery out for around 12-24 hours.. That should drain any power out of it.. If not, then you might have to grab another one..

    Lol, if I could of had my computer running for the months it was down, I'd be like Fits on everything! :roll: You'd da man fits
     
  15. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Take every thing out of the case ! For god sake put all stack cooling back on ! and then try it out . sounds as if your mobo is gone . due to water getting on it or that scratch . no matter what if it is a short you will know taking it out and setting it up out side the case .
    But if I were you RMA that mobo it is gone !
     
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    You guys may not beleive this but Chicken Patty just tried a different cpu & mobo combination with all other existing hardware. Resulted in no post, so I am beleiving it to be his power supply. Any thoughts?
     
  17. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,240 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    If anything else has been switched and resulted in a "no post", it would be a logical conclusion.

    Anyone near with a PSU to lend to try this? Just to try and make sure it is, in fact, the PSU.
     
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I was trying to talk him into attempting a different psu. I dont know what stopped him.
     
  19. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Just have him Test the PSU by two ways. Volt testing to make sure when it's on, your getting the right current. Then Jumping the main power line to trick the PSU on.
    Or, just change it all out all together..
     
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    alright guys.

    Last night I put in my old mobo, nothing


    back up CPU, nothing

    Tried different card, nothing


    Right now I am going to try a different PSU.

    Keep you guys psoted, and thanks for the help.
     
  21. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    I would say it's the PSU or the plug/cable. I had a PSU with a donky wire that if bent would cause the whole rig to die and refuse to post.
     
  22. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Well I just tried my PSU on my buddies rig and it booted right up.



    Recap


    Computer powers on but does nothing, not posting

    So far I have changed:


    Motherboard M3A79-T, and alos tried my old M3A32-MVP Deluxe
    Ram: Tracers 1066, one stick, two sticks, different slots, nothing, tried my buddies working DDR2 667 nothing. Tried my old stick of Super Talent DDR2800 and nothing.

    I also took board out of case to make sure it was not shorting with nothing, still no post, stock cooler, completely factory board, nothing shorting against nothing.

    I tried my video card on another computer and worked fine, my buddies video card on mine and no post.

    I took out my Phenom 9950 and replaced it with my Athlon 64. I've exhausted all options.

    What now?


    My guess is my board crapped, and then the back up board probably got damaged while not in use. What do you guys think????
     
  23. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,303 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,097
    hard drive craped out?
     
  24. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,303 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,097
    yeah look at the top of the capacitor for any signs of bulging and a brown liquid crap that has dried on the top of it.
     
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    yeah but if the hard drive failed the computer would post and then just say hard disk error or whatever it says.

    Mine the monitor stays blinking the light and nothing happens, but everything is powered on.


    all the capacitors on both boards look good, no bulging, liquid, nothing.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page