1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Chieftec Intros Nitro Series PSUs

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,368 (11.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,607
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Chieftec introduced Nitro series of 80 Plus Bronze and Silver compliant power supply units (PSUs), available in a wide range of price points. The series starts with 350W, 400W, 450W, and 500W models that have fixed, sleeved cables, are 80 Plus Bronze compliant, and are suitable for entry level gaming PCs. These offer basic power connectors which includes single 6-pin PCI-E, four SATA, three Molex, one floppy, and 24 + 4-pin CPU. These units are cooled by a 120 mm fan.

    Moving further into the series are 550W, 650W, 750W, 850W, and 950W models that offer modular cabling, and also sport 80 Plus Bronze compliance, and are aimed for mainstream-thru-performance segments of gaming PCs, with more connectors, including two PCI-E 6+2 pin connectors (for 550W, 650W models), or four 6+2 pin (for 750W, 850W, 950W models); six~eight SATA, four Molex, and 24 + two 8-pin CPU power. These are cooled by 140 mm fans. At the very top is the 1200W model, which boasts of even higher efficiency with is 80 Plus Silver compliance, and modular cabling. Connectors include 6x PCI-E 6+2 pin, 10x SATA, 8x Molex, and 24 + 2x 8 pin CPU power.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Among all these, the first sub-series (350~500W) uses dual +12V rail design of 11~18A rails, the next sub-series (550~950W) with single rail design of 44~76A, and the 1200W one using two 50A rails. All these models will be priced typically in their respective market segments.

    [​IMG]
  2. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    More PSU's To advoid

    But im not going to be shallow and just avoid them because of there last products blowing PC's in flames.

    They might have changed something up, and there might be high quality models.

    But probably to full extent i think not, and chieftec just got some random noisy lined low quality psu's that are finnaly modular!!!

    with 14cm advertising as cheezy as it gets!

    hahhaha :D
  3. Izliecies New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    134 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Chieftec makes quality power supplies, don't know what you're talking about.
  4. -FOG-

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    60 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    well personally, 2 of those "quality" PSUs have died in my hands, and I didn't mod or touch them anyhow.. they just died. Not telling you to avoid Chieftec but it isn't the brand I would rly go for..
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Chieftec are a good brand, really the mentality in these forums by some people annoys me, if its not a corsair PSU it muyst be UBER crap!!!!! :slap: :laugh:
    Edit: lol I didn't even look at your specs until after :roll:
    Frick says thanks.
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    chieftec isn't great but its not bad they are topower based im sure thats what all of there other stuff has been.

    as for the corsair comment agreed...waiting for corsair to sell a mess up and the entire forums going offline
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    gaaah! GAAAAAH!

    the higher end ones sound OK, but those low end ones scare me.
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,524 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    891
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Well, that's mostly because it's actually true. Corsair PSU's are excellent products from lowest end CX400 up to highest end AX1200. They don't have any filler products just because they need to have entire range of products.
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    a corsair 520W had my intel system stable at 4.2GHz.

    the same volts an on OCZ 700W, antec 550W and some random brand 650W i'd never heard of, were barely stable 100Mhz above stock, let alone the 1.1GHz the corsair let me get.


    Just because a bicycle gets you to work every day, doesnt mean it can keep up with a ferrari... despite the fact they're both 'transport' and work on the same roads.
  10. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Theres no reason at all that ocz or antec couldnt run an i7 at 4.2ghz. I agree corsair make the best PSU's though thats not to say others dont make god ones either, I have had numerous makes of PSU including corsair and for the most part all of them have been ok, running systems from duals to quads, overclocked and with dual gpu's no glitches. Including a chieftec which ran my last i7 rig at 4ghz+
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    i never had an i7, or said that they couldnt do it. i stated that they needed higher voltage and more tweaking to do it, due to their less stable voltages.

    I wish people would read a post in its entirety, before shouting fanboy
  12. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I never called anyone a fanboy, maybe you should also learn to read a post in its entirety. And I know you didnt mention i7, I chose an i7 as an example as they are among intels highest power chips.

    Also you didnt state they needed more voltage you said they were barely stable 100mhz over stock. tbf I would expect that with the unbranded PSU but find it hard to believe that an ocz 700w and an antec 550w couldnt power a rig with a 100mhz oc without it being unstable.
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    no, but you're bashing corsair PSU's, and then you disputed my post without even reading all of it.

    you still cant read, because i clearly do mention voltages.

    ******
    [​IMG]
    ******
    You cant beleive it makes that much of a difference? well, it does. corsair let you get much more out of a systme with the same voltages, because those voltages don't fluctuate anywhere near as much.


    (i put the *** things in cause i used a screnshot image, and you couldnt actually tell where the image was due to it being the same color)
  14. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Sorry but I have never bashed corsairs PSU's at all, infact I know they are among the best there is. I am saying there are other decent PSU's corsair is not the only option, people act like they are the be all and end all when infact other companies use the same OEMs and also produce just as high quality PSU's.

    I am leaving now, one beca use I'm starving :laugh: and 2 cause my words are being misinterpreted :confused:
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    well, i'm half drunk atm. wasnt when i posted the first message.

    yes, other companies with the same OEM as corsair are just as good... but corsair is available all over the world, and with better warranty. so we love them. lots.
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2010
  16. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    all i know is i owned a bunch of crappy psu's some lasting from 5 mins in life to half a year. from i got a tx750 it has stopped, one psu for over 1 year :), i dont know what you could do to get me to buy another brand of psu for myself.
  17. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    I've owned a lot of Chieftech power supplies over the years, and only 2 have ever burst into flames or started burning in other ways. That's not that bad of a record. This is with being left on almost non-stop for years.

    And yes, I still buy their products, just because the value can't be beat.
  18. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,302 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    London, UK
    they have great psus just some retards dont have the brains to use a decent psu.... :slap:

    why is it that you nerds have to make up shit that didn't happen just to get the point that you like cosair across
  19. EaGle1337

    EaGle1337 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    81 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes because sirtec makes great psus right? Not really.
  20. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,477 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,140
    Nice, more PSU's from Chieftech. They've proven reliable in the past, at least in my experience! :)
  21. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,302 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    863
    Location:
    London, UK
    their high end stuff i pretty good, obviously you get what you pay for, but uncessacy bullshitting is not right, i mean my PSU is great, some of my friends even bought some all of them find them perfect and very quiet :pimp:
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    you're using an 850W PSU to run a PC that uses less than 300W of power. of course its alright.

    Try running it above 600W and see what happens to it.
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    it will be just fine i have used the 650w version at a full 650w and it did just fine in fact it held on until around an estimated 700w before i popped it.
  24. SupperAssBASS

    SupperAssBASS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    34 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Trebinje, BiH
    Well, Chieftec 450w runs my system just fine... :-D
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,124 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,459
    again, an under 300W PSU...

    Can you imagine your PSU running my PC? it only draws 350W from the wall at load. 400W in peak synthetic testing.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page