1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Choose between 2 psu

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MohawkAngel, Jun 23, 2010.

1. MohawkAngel

MohawkAngel New Member

Thanks Received:
    Look at my setup on the side and I just added to it a PCI-E 1X TV tuner card.

I have a 500w cooler master extreme power the fan was noisy and theres no internal control to lower the rpm based on heat in the psu. So I change the 120mm fan for a Antec tri-cool blue led with 3 position swithc and plugged it on the molex connector outside the psu. But even at lower speed its still noisy.

Ive now got a hand on a HiPro 300w psu.
    +5v & +3.3v = 175watts max.
    +5v & +12v = 268w max
    Max output power 300w

It has a FPC control and less noisy so can you tell me if this psu could withstand my setup or i better stick with my noisy cooler master?

Thx

2. erocker

erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    Why not just replace the fan on the Cooler Master. I wouldn't bother with the 300w PSU, but it could most likely power your system.

3. AthlonX2

AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

Thanks Received:
    stick with the cooler master

4. Frick

Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

Thanks Received:
    +1 on changing the fan. Not a very difficult job (unless the wires are soldered, but afaik they don't do that any more).

5. MohawkAngel

MohawkAngel New Member

Thanks Received:
    I already paid for the 120mm fan and since i have a closed desk my computer is not easily accessible so i must always pull the desk to change the fan speed after opening the psu. on the other one i got a fan power controller. so it would solve my probelm and same time less noise and less powwer consumption.

6. erocker

erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

Thanks Received:
    A lower wattage PSU won't lower power consumption. The 500 watt will most likely because it is more efficient.