1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Choosing a CPU based on GPU's and Resolution

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by RCoon, May 9, 2013.

  1. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    5,396 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,099
    Location:
    Gypsyland
    de.das.dude, suraswami and HossHuge say thanks.
  2. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,009 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    483
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    This is why I went with Bulldozer. I game at a high res and the programs I use the most are Handbrake and Windows movie maker which both use all 8 cores.
    Last edited: May 9, 2013
  3. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,409 (7.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    how come I saw a beastly improvement from the 4100 to 8350.... btw I didn't read all the review (not enough pretty pictures)
  4. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    869 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    217
    Location:
    CZ
    the 8350 is a new generation and has frequency improvements along with improvements to the architecture and the 4100 was the worst of the bulldozer line up
    d1nky says thanks.
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,443 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    921
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Is the 4100 not a quad core and the 8350 an octocore ( at least in AMD's terminology) or did I miss something, I think your answer lies within :)
  6. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,409 (7.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    so is an A8?
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,622 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,278
    A8s are quads with a different gpu from an A6, A4, A10
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    Intersting on the scaling once you become non-GPU bound.
  9. Mactronix

    Mactronix New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Messages:
    8 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Where is the financial balance point though ? Sure you don't need too much CPU grunt at high resolutions like 1440p. Thing is how much does a 1440p screen cost ? I have no idea but would guess at least £500 + ? You can get a decent 1080 X 1920 + a 3570K and a 7950/660 Ti for just the cost of the screen :eek:
    Also while its nice to dream I cant justify one rig for gaming and another for encoding.
    So back in the real world you want something running something between the FX6300 to FK3850 range or 2500K / 3570K to give you a good balanced and usable computer.

    Mac :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page