1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Clearing CMOS

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ripsky4501, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. ripsky4501

    ripsky4501 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Does resetting the CMOS by switching the jumper pin back and forth reset the BIOS to its original version? I ask because I am thinking of updating my BIOS from version 1502 to version 1904 but if 1904 doesn't work I want to be sure that I can reset it back to 1502.

    Thanks!
  2. TeXBill

    TeXBill

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,358 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    TX
    No, it resets the bios back to the default settings.
    More than 25k PPD
  3. ripsky4501

    ripsky4501 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    17 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So if for some reason the BIOS update fails, I'm SOL?
  4. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah . Unless you can RMA the MB .
  5. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    If your BIOS flash fails, make sure you don't let the computer power down. Just keep trying until you can flash it successfully. Change USB pens, if needed, or try to load different versions. Some motherboards load a backup BIOS, preventing your motherboard from becoming a paperweight. Check if yours has that feature.
    You could post something useful while you're at it, you know. Post whoring isn't seen as good practice here and is not tolerated.
    MasterInvader says thanks.
  6. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,381 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,933
    Location:
    Mexico
    There are boards with removable bios chips (example pictured). You could use a programmer to try and re-flash if the flashing goes bad. You can also acquire blank chips and load them with the bios.

    If the flashing fails and you haven't turned off the PC, you can keep trying until it does.

    Attached Files:

    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page