1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Club3d HD 6950 2gb flash probleme (i searched i tried but need more info)

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by GreiverBlade, Nov 23, 2012.

  1. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,248 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    Club3d HD 6950 2gb flash probleme [solved]

    hello everybody

    I got my hands on a Club3d 6950 2gb model: CGAX-69548F, that the previous user said : the flash failed and he had a shity mobo with no igp nor other pcieX 16 port avaiable (only x1 port no pci or other kind)

    i searched over the forum for solutions it does have a switch for bios but neither bios1 or 2 boot i saved the bios from it to see what went wrong it seems its a 6970 bios (so he tried to unlock it but failed and the backup bios seems to be same)

    this is the 1st gpu-Z pics i took at 1st start
    [​IMG]

    and here is the second
    [​IMG]
    between those two pics i tried ATIWinflash (GUI and cmd) with the corresponding bios http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/94271/Club3D.HD6950.2048.101227_1.html

    but seems that went also wrong...

    also Winflash under GUI give me the SystemID error, so mainly why i tried cmd with parameter:
    "atiwinflash -unlockrom 1" the card is on the 2nd pcieX 16 and i use a GeForce 405 in slot 1
    "atiwinflash -f -p 1 bios.rom"
    nothing worked it seems, i saw a status bar for a few second then nothing.

    i wonder if my mobo can be the probleme since its a ASRock 970 Extreme 3 the PcieX slot are 2 physical 16x but the second is 4x wired

    so setup during the flash:

    PcieX x1 slot
    Geforce 405 in x16 slot 1
    PcieX x1 slot
    Club3d HD6950 in x16 slot 2 (4x wired)

    the 2nd x16 slot is the n1 and the 1st x15 is n0 right? or does the X1 have 0 3 and that second x16 is n4? (pretty confusing i know)

    or i cant flash due to the x4 wiring of the slot i use?

    i still have to try the DOS bootable usb drive later when i will get back from work

    is it f.u.b.a.r or will the DOS methode possibly work.

    thanks for reading

    ps: i dont get the SystemID error ... what does it mean since its the same bios with same ID that the one on the card, i suspect that flashing went beyond redemption... :roll:

    i saw also that command line somewhere:"atiflash.exe -f -p 1 bios.rom -scansii"
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2012
  2. TC-man

    TC-man

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    348 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Try flashing the card in DOS with a bootable usb stick/pendrive, because Atiflash Winflash doesn't always work correctly.
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  3. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,589 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    From the GPU-Z screens it looks like the divice ID and sub system ID are intact ; this is good

    as you mentioned in the OP try flashing from a dos prompt

    How to make a flash drive bootable:

    go here http://files.extremeoverclocking.com/browse.php?c=21

    grab- HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool - v2.1.8 & Windows 98 System Files

    click Primary Download unzip the files to a folder on your HDD; make sure your USB Memory stick is attached to your PC; open HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool v2.1.8 ; select Creat a DOS startup disk/ select: using DOS system files located at: (these are the files you have just downloaded): browse to the files in win98boot; then start the process

    grab the latest version of atiflash here - http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...lash_3.99.html

    Next

    Put atiflash.exe and the bios on a USB key.

    Set the motherboard bios to boot from USB key.

    At command prompt type in:

    type c:\atiflash -i [this will show you the vga adapter information]

    next

    c:\atiflash -f -p 0 "biosname.rom" and hit enter.

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  4. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,248 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    indeed i will try DOS soon as i finished preparing all stuff

    i wonder i dont find USB boot in the ASRock 970 bios .... i wonder if its possible to do a bootable CD or use something like Ultimate boot CD or Hiren's one


    Edit: Subvendor 1787 = ATI AIB aka Club3D Sapphire Powercolor and some other

    Also i noticed Device ID is 1002-6719 its a ID from 6950, 1002-6718 is 6970 right ...

    stupid me ... i mixed the 2 ID ...
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2012
  5. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,589 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Is there no option here?

    Example: to boot from CD, HDD , SSD or *USB

    UEFI SETUP UTILITY.jpg

    nb: if not then any of the other bootables in your post ["bootable CD or use something like Ultimate boot CD or Hiren's"]should work fine.

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2012
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  6. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,248 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    funny i can start with the card now but ... :banghead:

    [​IMG]

    currently uninstalling driver and reinstalling them i suspect this will do the trick

    WOOHOO before i rebooted Gpu-Z showed 704 shader and i was scared xD then i rebooted and

    VOILA!!!
    [​IMG]

    big thanks Law-II i didnt know win98boot could be used like that im not bad when it come to computer hard and software but you helped me BIG time!

    also i feel sad for the previous owner xD he sold it to me for roughly 90$ weeellll i can finally put my XFX HD6850 Black Ed to a rightfully deserved rest and enjoy my resucited 6950 till i get the fund for a 7850 or maybe a 7890 or if im lucky a 7970 oh boy im happy that i could fix that one !

    huhuhu pretty stable (i know its only 10% and 8%) i wonder how much it can take @stock voltage (google is my friend and all shall burn in the righteous fire)
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2012
    Law-II says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page