1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Club3D HD6950 Coolstream 2GB problem

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Tecnik, Apr 7, 2012.

  1. Tecnik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi I just registered at the forum to share a problem, hope you can help!

    There have been several people in one of the more regular forums I use with the same problem as I have had. As far as I can tell we all had similar issues, but with different PSUs, Motherboards and CPUs.

    In general the problem is this:

    - The card was either flashed to 6970 bios (through the guide on this forum) or OCed or both
    - During either playing a high-end game or burn-in test (FurMark) the PC would BSOD
    - Afterwards the card could no longer be run on the latest driver, only as a standard VGA Adapter
    - We all tried different drivers, reset all BIOS settings to default and did a fresh Win7 install without success
    - Temperatures have not been too high so cooling is not a problem
    - At least 2 have a good PSU (not me).

    From all of the above is why we think it must have something to do with the Club3D version of the card.

    Any additional thoughts would be highly appreciated!

    Tecnik
     
  2. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Welcome to the forum Tecnik.

    How is the monitor connected to the card, VGA, DVI, HDMI etc?

    One reason why I ask is down to a similar issue I had with my HD6950 (flashed to a 6970) where it wasn't being detected correctly (when connected via DVI) and refused to install the Catalyst suite or it didn't make any difference. Turned out that my DVI port on my monitor was failing. It may just be a weird scenario and not related at all but it might be worth seeing if having it connected via VGA makes any differences.

    Good luck, I look forward to your reply!
     
  3. Tecnik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It's connected through DVI. Do you suggest that something was broken through either playing games or running FurMark? In normal stock settings I didn't have any problems playing D3 beta.
     
  4. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    It's a theory; the card may have upset the monitor's DVI EDID (Extended Display Identification Data) somehow. I can't be sure and it most likely isn't the DVI port on the monitor (one way to be sure would be to change to VGA and/or try another monitor with DVI) but it's very a similar scenario to what I had.
     
  5. Tecnik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    We can all install Catalyst fine without problems, the problem is that it BSODs in Windows 7 when you've restarted. Before it was never an issue. Indeed I don't think it's the monitor, we all use different ones. If the card did upset the DVI it's still a problem originated in the card so I think we should send it back. Actually someone else has the same, but with the Sapphire version. I hope an official statement will be released in the near future.

    Thanks for the idea.
     
  6. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Have you debugged the minidump(s) if there are any?
     
  7. Tecnik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm not sure if I have any. I did look into the log files with the last BSOD I had did not have any Bugcheck information:


    - System

    - Provider

    [ Name] Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
    [ Guid] {331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}

    EventID 41

    Version 2

    Level 1

    Task 63

    Opcode 0

    Keywords 0x8000000000000002

    - TimeCreated

    [ SystemTime] 2012-04-06T07:40:22.880411200Z

    EventRecordID 562

    Correlation

    - Execution

    [ ProcessID] 4
    [ ThreadID] 8

    Channel System

    Computer Wiebe-PC

    - Security

    [ UserID] S-1-5-18


    - EventData

    BugcheckCode 0
    BugcheckParameter1 0x0
    BugcheckParameter2 0x0
    BugcheckParameter3 0x0
    BugcheckParameter4 0x0
    SleepInProgress false
    PowerButtonTimestamp 0
     
  8. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    The dumps will either be in the root of C:\ or in C:\Windows\Minidumps. I'm not quite sure what you mean in your post.
     
    Tecnik says thanks.
  9. Tecnik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This is the log file from the critical event (the BSOD). It didn't write any information because the power was lost too quickly and the system was busy.

    I don't have any minidump files in these locations. I looked it up but I couldn't really understand what Minidumps are.
     
  10. Tecnik New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Small bump . A lot of reading on my side still no luck . I ddid remember something with a registry change for ulps when I flashed it. Does win7 reinstall reset registry ?
     
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Minidumps are a log files that are created depending on type and severity.

    A fresh install of Windows will create a new registry yes.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page