1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Club3D Intros Radeon HD 5550 Card with 2 GB Memory

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    If you absolutely need 2 GB of video memory to talk about in your rig, Club3D developed an easy means to get there. Its latest ATI Radeon HD 5550 variant boasts of 2 GB of DDR3 memory across a 128-bit wide memory interface, and some out of the box overclocked speeds. The single-slot full-height card uses an active GPU cooler, and draws all its power from the PCI-E slot. The DirectX 11 compliant Radeon HD 5550 GPU has 320 stream processors, and a 128-bit wide memory interface, with clock speeds of 650 MHz core, 1200 MHz (2400 MHz effective) memory. Display connectivity includes one each of DVI-D, D-Sub, and HDMI. Club3D did not give out a price.

    [​IMG]
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,684
    i want the OC'd model to be called a HD 5555

    and 2GB memory? beyond pointless. 512MB is all these need.
     
  3. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Definitly agreed.
     
  4. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    not even 6 pin? not even molex? seriously? :shadedshu

    EDIT: I suppose would be good for a low power, low heat, HTPC for 1 or 2 60" monitor/s or TV's maybe?
    But still, 2GB?
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2010
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,684
    uh... why is it a bad thing that they dont have external power?
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  6. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    It's meant for very low end usage, there's utterly no point in throwing 2GB of memory on it. It's a huge waste of time. How about they throw that amount of memory on cards that are actually going to use it?.
     
  7. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I just thought that to warrant 2GB of memory you'd need a bit of power to use it to it's full potential? Can't imagine this card would be great performance wise for games, but would be good for low/medium settings on massive monitors I suppose.
    This card's sounding more useful the more I think about it, I'm just waiting to find out the price.
     
  8. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    It probably won't be to bad for some low end gaming, but the actual power backed behind that 2GB's is crap, hence making it pointless for most people.(especialy gamers) If you're gaming i don't see much of a point in this card, just save up a bit and pick up a 5770 or even a 5750, theres much more raw power behind those cards instead of just an overly excessive amount of memory. And even for the people who don't game, it doesn't make sence to why they would pick this card.
     
  9. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    Well it is running GDDR3 probably needs the extra ram to make up for the bandwidth.
     
  10. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Yes it's absolutely silly. Someone who justs want to "talk about having a 2GB card" would love this :laugh:
    Like Mussels said, 512MB would be fine. Less production costs, less consumer costs.
     
  11. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,884 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,562
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I wish they would put faster memory instead of more memory on these cards. Lower end cards like this and the G210/GT220/GT240 always seem to be bottlenecked by their memory configurations. Using Furmark, the only way the FPS would increase was by raising the memory speed. A GT240 1GB DDR3 gets about 11FPS at max memory speed of ~2000MHz effective, and a GT240 512MB GDDR5 got up to about 16FPS with the same core speed and maxed out GDDR5 (3.9Gbps). My GT220 and G210 were also very bottlenecked by their DDR2.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. punani

    punani

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    119 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Finland
    It will be great for advertisements.. you know, ridiculous ones like:

    "Supercomputer!! -AMD 2.6 Ghz processor, 6 gig RAM, 1TB HDD, Powerful ATI Radeon 2GB!!!! 500 € !!!" and then they have these old/slow components like Celeron, ddr 2 and HD 5550 2gb.. They fool alot of people that way.
     
  13. Fishymachine New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    208 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    How cheap is GDDR3 anyway?Seriously,why didn't they release a 5570 with a cheaper PCB and cooler?
     
  14. Tartaros

    Tartaros

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    194 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    They do marketing by numbers, if people wants more, they'll give more even if it's pointless. The fact is such vga won't ever use all that memory because it's gpu will bottleneck at such high resolutions. But is cheaper to put 2 gb of crap memory than 1 gb of good memory, and the ignorant will buy the one wich has more. Apart from hardware geeks, people still thinks memory is more important than a good gpu.
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,684
    electrical power consumption and performance have absolutely nothing to do with each other.


    in this case, the ram is just useless - even a 5870 cant use 2GB of ram.


    uhh.... again i am stumped by strange logic. because its running DDR3 its got half the bandwidth, so the ram is TWICE as useless. four times the ram it needs, at half the speed it needs...
     
  16. animal007uk

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Location:
    Warwick, Warwickshire, England
    2gig of ram is useless but i can see this being ok for gaming at 1280/1024
    Looks like it will beat a 4650 and i used to game ok with a 4650 at 1280/1024.

    It also would be usefull just for basic needs.
     
  17. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia

    It can stay with GDDR3, it's a budget card(grandma's internet machine isn't gonna see a difference). It mainly needs a huge decrease in memory amount as you said
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2010
  18. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    2GB memory is totally pointless for a HD 5550.
     
  19. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,743 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    984
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    OMG OMG OMG, this will kick GTX 480 ass, because it only has 1,5GB of VRAM and this one has 2GB OMG OMG :p
     
  20. MikeX New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    125 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    eyey

    this is definitely lure the customers whose thought that "more memory the better !!". ofcourse not speeds comes from the actual performance of the chip itself and they are probably priced correctly these days on the web.
     
  21. Baum

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    475 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Germany,Hannover
    is ddr3 that slow? even on 128bit it might be fast enought thus 2GB is maybe good for massive screens plugged to it :laugh:

    i wan't a HD 5550 with GDDR5 as the gpu overclocks like hell and the ram should follow that :laugh:

    then add some 6pin soldered by hand and a voltage mod :roll:
     
  22. baison

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Smart marketing ..

    i used to work in computer shop and when i ask ppl what GPU they have , many of them will reply with 128MB card or 512MB card "yeah it was long time ago" :) , i think this card meant to these ppl and trust me they are alot
     
    MN12BIRD says thanks.
  23. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    hmm if this were 6eyefinity i can understand, but this thing is really MEH
     
  24. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    Sapphire should make a HD5550 Toxic 4GB card. It will squash the 5800 series lmao :p
     
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,684
    DDR3 has half the bandwidth of DDR5.

    If you were to comapre them directly, DDR5 at 128 bit would be the same as 256 bit DDR3.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page