1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Club3D Intros Radeon HD 5550 Card with 2 GB Memory

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. Jokerrr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    of course its an slow card for you arrogant high end users.

    its slow for people like u who own 285 and 5850 and 470 video cards.
     
  2. driver66

    driver66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    indiana
    IT is just slow PERIOD..... give it a rest bro IT IS A PIECE OF SHIT :shadedshu

    As posted a few back The 4670 SMOKES it .......... = POS
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  3. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Agreed.:toast:

    I'm done fighting.

    The facts are laying for you right there jokerrr, but it's your decision on whether or not you want to believe these facts. So im not arguing with ya.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2010
  4. Jokerrr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i want to do parallel computing or computer clustering to increase the performance.

    i want to use my 8800gtx along with a 5550 and my new Q8400 with my old C2D CPU to work together to increase performance.
     
  5. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Oh yeah I can vouch for that! I work in a computer store and when I ask most people "what kind of video card do you have?" they reply with that "Uhh... a 512 Megabyte one" answer.

    So many times I had better cards with smaller RAM amount and people always take the one with more RAM! Even if it's a slower card and costs more!! For example just the other day a kid came in and said he wanted to upgrade his 3GHZ P4 with a decent video card to play Modern Warfare. He didn't want to spend much and I happened to have a 8600GTS 256MB GDDR3 for cheaper than everything else at the time. I suggested that to him and he looks at it and says "its only 256MB" and then he sees our usual cheap card the 8400GS 512MB DDR2 and says "I'll take that" to witch I pause, look at him and say "Okay.... you know it's slower right?" and I'm about to start rambling off specs when I just say Fuck it. He looked at me like I'm trying to fuck him around and instead He paid like $10 more for the 8400GS because it was a 512MB card.

    This exact type of thing happens at least once a week. It's actually frustrating because I want to do my best to try and help customers get the best of what they need for the price they want. But sometimes they just won't listen!
     
  6. Jokerrr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    MN12BIRD: because they are right. a 1GB or 2GB card is always better than a 256mb or 512mb card. they are right and u are wrong.

    the more video memory, the better.
     
  7. Jokerrr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    for my next card, i wont settle for anything less than 1GB.
     
  8. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    lol i love trolls give them a cheaper gpu with less memory that beats the crap out of the card they just love they still defend it its better then a troll or fanboy i do believe we are witnessing the evolution of the troll kind
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  9. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Right, so I guess according to you this 2GB 5550 is just going to destroy my 512MB 4870 right? LOL I guess I bought the wrong card. Silly me.
     
  10. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    A couple of posts ago he posted this in response to a guy using a 4870 512MB card:

    He's delusional.:shadedshu (he was probably that same kid that came into your shop lol)


     
  11. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    I'd like to see a 5550 running Heaven on DX11 max settings. :laugh:

    Its slow for a person who uses intel onboard graphics, the lowest a user would settle in for is the 5670 or else most save up and get a 5750/5770 which can actually play 90%-95% of the games the way its meant to be played.

    Its hard to imagine you got a 8800GTX 512mb, you could have got a 8400GS 1gb and played all the games on very high settings. :rolleyes:

    1GB cards are better than 512mb cards, but the card has to be powerful enough to use that memory. The HD 5550 should at max have 512mb of memory.
     
  12. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Oh God. I actually wondered if He was being sarcastic but it turns out He really is retarded.

    So I guess he thinks he's going to buy a 5550 and play Crysis on Ultra High? Wow.

    Oh and it has DX11 support? Really? Because we didn't know that already.

    Can't compare video cards to cars He says? Well boasting that this card has DX11 support is like bragging about your stock Toyota Corolla having Z Rated tires on it. Sure the tires can handle 170MPH but the engine doesn't have the HP to get there.

    DX11 games are demanding and this GPU (engine) doesn't have the HP to realistically use it. It would run Dirt2 or AvP in DX11 on high settings at WAY too low a framerate to be playable. So what your going to do is run games on low in DX11 or you could run them on high in DX9. Games look better in DX9 if you can put the settings on high compared to using DX11 and having to turn them all down! So low end cards having DX11 support isn't that big a deal and if you're a gamer it shouldn't even be a deciding factor.

    The 4870 has 800 Stream processing cores and this has 320. The 4870 GPU is clocked at 750MHZ and this is only 550MHZ. Oh and yeah this has 2GB of RAM but it's slower DDR3 on a narrow 128-bit bus. The 4870 has DDR5 on a wider 256-bit bus. So yeah this card has 4 times the RAM but its also FOUR TIMES SLOWER!

    Now is there anything wrong with mainstream cards? Low power cards? No. The 5550/5570 isn't a bad card for the price. But its going to get destroyed by something like a 4870! That's a fact!
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2010
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,401 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,700
    no, more memory doesnt mean shit. Are you going to argue that a celeron CPU with 8GB of ram is faster than an i7 with 6GB of ram, because more ram is faster? please.

    its very clear you are only here to troll. stop it now.
     
  14. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    Hey bro just give up. No use in explaining it to a person who thinks a HD5550 is better than a HD4870. lol :laugh: He'll just read our posts and think "these arrogant high end users are all wrong, 5550 has 2gb vram so its the best!" Some people learn thru experience, so let him buy the card and see for himself. :laugh:
     
  15. Jokerrr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    MN12BIRD: lol. u are just defending the 4870 because u own one.

    im not saying 5550 is a fast card. but i am saying that these days games starting to utilize 1GB and over VRAM and also quad cores.

    mdsx1950: if u are against the more VRAM, then how come u have 2 5970 and each of them has 2GB of VRAM then? why didnt u choose a card like 5770? why u chose 2 5970?????

    i just think that u are a hungry glutton since u had to settle for 2 5970. its just silly.
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,401 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,700
    in crossfire, ram isnt additive. so 2x 5970 = 1GB of usable ram, all up.

    he can buy whatever he can afford. stop being jealous.

    You've already been warned on the trolling, continue and it will have consequences.
     
  17. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Yeah 5970 is a dual GPU card (internal crossfire) and each GPU needs to have a mirror copy of what the other GPU has so the card might have 2GB on it but it can only effectively use 1GB right? So basically the fastest card on the market only uses 1GB right?
     
  18. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    I bought the 5970s for power and with the 2GB it can handle games like GTA IV(which require more than 1GB VRAM) HD5770s are superb cards, i bought one for one of my friends' sometime back.. I chose 2x5970 because i want the best! I worked, earned money, saved for months and bought what i want. Settling in for 2x5970s isn't "silly", it might be overkill but being able to play a game like Crysis on very high details or Metro 2033 on very high details is awesome!
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,401 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,700
    you only have one GB of Vram, even with two 5970's. you're technically running four 1GB cards in crossfire, and memory doesnt add in crossfire.
     
  20. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    Oh yeah. Forgot about that. I just got pissed when i read that guys post. :ohwell:
     
  21. Jokerrr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have recently upgraded my CPU to a Q8400 and will upgrade to ATI 5830 or 5850 in the future.

    but i would be happy that Nvidia an ATI make less high end GPUs and more budget GPUs.
     
  22. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    in my opinion theres to MANY gpus available

    5550 512 1gig 2gigs ddr2 ddr3 ddr5 (just an example)

    every low end gpu comes in around 10 flavors if you want a more convoluted system where the average consumer knows even LESS then sure lets give them more choices that they can be brainwashed with

    i remember when things were simple x300 x600 x800 or the same from nvidia where the x is the series the second number performance range now we got from nvidia 460 465 470 soon to be my guess 475 480 then 485 in 1 segment but this applies to other segments examples look at the 9600gt gs gso and there many incarnations or the and hell 9400 is now an integrated part

    use to be 3 ranges now theres x100 x200 x300 x400 x500 x600 x800 x900 then theres the xx50 xx70 xx90 the way it stands adding more choice would just screw things up more then they already are and that goes to both companies theres a reason the saying keep it simple stupid exists but then again brainwashing ppl and giving them a metric ton of choices makes just as much money and moves just as many gpus including garbage ones they need to salvage.

    and if adding more ram gets them more money thats what they will do..

    but in all honesty a 5300 5500 5700 ad 5900 series cards would be enough considering the 3 cards per tier thats used now since that effectively would allow 12 gpus skus then add in ddr3 or ddr 5 thats 24 skus toss in DDR2 and u hit 36 gpu choices that would be plenty... im to lazy to look right now but id say the hd 5000 series has more then 40 + skus on the market thats alot of choices and considering greater then half are in the lower segment your talking about. Id say theres plenty of choice for the every day sheeple to browse through

    also need to take into account different manufacturers aka Gigabyte Msi Asus sapphire afx evga bfg w/e then add those skus to different manuf to choose from make there own edits to say the 5550 say that came in ddr2 ddr3 and ddr5 thats 3 version of 1 gpu then add 512 ram 1 gig and 2 gig thats 6 version of 1 gpu now add in reference vs special versions with different coolers overclocked or non overclocked etc etc there again MORE then enough choices for low and mid range gpus way more then needed to the point of market flooding... / end rant
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2010
  23. Jokerrr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    why u blame me if ati or nvidia is trying to confuse the customers in order to cash in and scam?

    if thats the case then why we should keep quiet?

    we can easily sue them and get money out of them.

    thats what i want to do. my best friend is a lawyer, im going to ask him to sue ATI for trying to confuse and scam us. i mean it.

    im looking to get $1 million to $20 million out of them.
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,401 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,700
    Jokerr is gone. wave bye bye.
     
    crazyeyesreaper, CDdude55 and mdsx1950 say thanks.
  25. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    The 5700 series is affordable for 99% of the people and gives awesome performance.

    Are you the same person who was "planning to protest against Nvidia and ATI near their building" ? :laugh:

    LOL. I had a feeling he'd be gone.

    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page