1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CM Hyper 212 Plus Fan

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Evolved, May 17, 2011.

  1. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    The stock fan that came with the cooler always stops spinning, randomly.

    Strangely, it "tries" to spin, but then stops for a few seconds, and repeats, as if it is struggling to rotate.
    I would have to give it a spin boost with my finger to get it going.

    Sometimes it just works as it should.
    It is plugged into the motherboard (CPU Fan 4-pin).

    Can anybody give me some insight as to how to fix this, without having to connect directly to the PSU?
    Could this be a MOBO or BIOS issue?
     
  2. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Basically, the fan is running in PWM mode. When your CPU gets hotter, it will spin up accordingly, and when the CPU is colder, it will spin slower, down to nothing.
    Had the same "problem" with a Scythe Shuriken before.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    This is the issue, if your bios has temperature control, lower the temperature at which the fan "bottoms out".
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  4. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    but even if my cpu is under load, it won't spin.

    honestly, the only possible way it will spin, is if I give it a boost.

    Just now, as I turned my computer on just a few mins ago, my fan wasn't even spinning.

    I had to open my case and give it a boost.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,954 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    Plug the fan into a different header. You can also try using a molex adapter and use a 4 pin. If neither of those things remedy the situation, the fan is junk.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  6. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I've plugged it into the other only 4-pin on my mobo (system fan 2), and it runs at all times, but only at 400rpm or less.

    Wouldn't it only run at 400rpm as well, if plugged directly into the PSU?

    Seems to work best under CPU Smart fan control when plugged into the CPU Fan 4-pin. It gives me 1200 or more rpm.
     
  7. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    +1, try a different power connection.

    If it fails to spin with a MOLEX connection or separate power connection then it may be trashed.

    You could try spraying the inside with some WD-40 or lubricant of sorts and just give it a good spin in each direction to grease the gears abit.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,954 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    No, it would run at it's max rated speed.
     
  9. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,921 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    not if its broken
     
  10. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    My hyper 212 plus is brand new, just bought 3 days ago.

    damn that would suck if it is broken?! wow!
     
  11. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Have you tried connecting it to a 3 pin header on your motherboard? That should get it to spin at it's highest rated speed, 2000rpm's I believe.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  12. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,921 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    how are you measuring the rpm? - you do know the bios and monitoring programs don't always get it right
     
  13. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I can still connect to a 3-pin header, even if it's 4-pin? okay ill give it a try.
     
  14. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    im using speed fan or bios.

    i know it's not spinning... i just check inside my case
     
  15. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Yes, the fan will run at the voltage from the header(12V).

    The fourth pin is for PWM support which regulates the voltage to the fan and thus automatically controls the rpm of the fan.



    Edit, what temps are you getting?
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  16. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    on idle, i get 41/38, according to RealTemp.

    if I run prime95, i get 50 on load, and 60 on load from IBT.

    I just connected the fan to the 3 pin header. still not spinning on its own.


    EDIT: just gave it a boost with my finger... now it works :confused:
     
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,954 (12.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,382
    The fan is defective.
     
    Evolved says thanks.
  18. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,308 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,488
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    If you have a fan of the right size, ad it as replacement, else it is time to use the warranty.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. txsouthpaw

    txsouthpaw New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    If you just purchased the cooler, get an exchange. Otherwise, MC sells the exact fan for $11.99 (CM BladeMaster 120mm PWM). I am surprised to hear that you are having problems with it, as I own three of these that perform quite nicely. I suppose there will always be defective units.
     
  20. Evolved

    Evolved New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Problem has been solved.

    Plugged it into a 3-pin header, the one beside the CPU Fan 4-pin header.

    Works perfectly now, with 1200rpm or higher at all times.

    Thanks a lot for all the help people! :)
     
  21. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,915 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,121

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page