1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CM Storm Sentinel: Right Click stuffed

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Sensi Karate, Dec 9, 2010.

  1. Sensi Karate

    Sensi Karate New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    383 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Hey all, haven't been active on this forums since April due to real life and other things but its great to see its still alive and kicking. :)

    Anyways I came on because I knew someone here would have a solution to my problem. I've had my CM Storm Sentinel Mouse for about a year now and its been great for me and helped me get those BOOM HEADHSOT moments on BFBC2 and most recently own up in LoL. However yesterday my good luck with the mouse turned around when it started acting up on me. The right click slowly deteriorated yesterday from really easy to press down right click (not much applied force needed compared to the left side) to absolutely NO force needed to press down the right and finally to it sticking on right click and couldnt stop right clicking. Eventually it completely stopped right clicking and now the right click doesnt even work even with as much force I apply to it as possible.

    I took off the clicker covers on-top of the mouse and looked at the two tiny green clickers (dont know the technical term for them). The one on the left side which is working perfectly, when pushed down needs the correct amount of applied force to click and makes a 'clicking' kind of sound and then pops back up when let go. The right side however is completely weak and when pressed down no 'clicking noise' is made and barely moves.

    I tried taking off the outer shell of the mouse (the case of the mouse I guess) and nearly took it off completely (there is like three sections to the outside case which confuzzled me) however their are these 'snap in' or 'click in' parts which join the inner and outer case (which im trying to get into) together, and its impossible to click them out since there is no room for me to get something in their to unclick it.

    I really want to fix this mouse as soon as possible and RMA and other manufacturer warranties are a no go zone since I don't have the receipt or anything else and its warranty is nearly gone (to my knowledge) in Australia.

    If you have any knowledge of how to dissamble the CM Storm Sentinel Mouse or any mouse similar or have had a similar problem on your mouse which you fixed/know how to then please share. :D
     
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,050 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,623
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    It sounds like either the microswitch has failed, or there are dry solder joints connecting the switch. I don't think getting another microswitch is going to be possible, because these are usually custom parts and not easily (or cheaply) obtainable.

    Does that button have the normal "clicky" feel to it, or does it feel degraded? If so, then the switch is certainly faulty and you're out of luck.

    If you're handy with a soldering iron, then you can try touching up the solder joints and hoping for the best.

    I reckon your best bet is to just get another mouse. I'm sorry I can't give better news on this one.

    But hey, welcome back to TPU. At least some things are looking up! :toast:
     
    Sensi Karate says thanks.
  3. Sensi Karate

    Sensi Karate New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    383 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Thanks for the warm welcome back qubit. :toast:

    The button does have a sort of degraded feel to it and doesn't click as it used to. It degraded from perfect clicking yesterday to where I am now, with not able to right click at all. Yesterday when it started showing signs of losing its normal click I took off the cover of the right clicker and it still had 'some' clicky feeling to it. Im just staggered at how fast it went from good to bad. :ohwell:

    If anyone else has any information privvy to help I'd be more then welcome to it. I don't really want to fork out another $100 on another gaming mouse.
     
    qubit says thanks.
  4. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Same thing happened to my right-click and middle-mouse button (my mouse is years old). I took it apart with a screwdriver and cleaned a ton of dust and dead skin out of it and it's back to almost-new again.
    Hope this helps man :)
     
    Sensi Karate says thanks.
  5. Sensi Karate

    Sensi Karate New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    383 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Thanks for your help man. Im'ma try and take it apart again to see if I try and get it apart this time. :p

    Any more information would be invaluable. :)
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  6. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    If you're having troubles getting it apart, take off the rubber feet on the bottom, screws are sometimes hidden under there. I never bothered putting the rubber feet back on as it slides better without them (they were very worn).
    Other than that, it's an easy job ;)
     
  7. Sensi Karate

    Sensi Karate New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    383 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Do you have the same mouse as me? Since this mouse has three different outer shells all joined together and they are all joined to the inner shell. The two joints are exactly in the middle of each outer shell and need to be 'clicked' to remove them, and its impossible to get anything in there.
     
  8. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Just noticed that the mouse is supposed to come with a 2 year warranty. I know you said about it being a no go, but people have RMA-ed mice and been sent another with no questions asked. Someone RMA-ed one and just told them what shop he bought it at (the shop had since closed and they managed to get out of showing a receipt).
    Someone emailed logitech about a broken mouse that was yeeeears old and got sent an RMA number, he went through with it and got a new one well outside of warranty.

    Personally, I'd try the RMA before taking it apart. If unsuccessful, I would just force it apart and get the superglue out :p but then I've never spent money on a mouse, so I wouldn't feel like I'm losing out if I broke it ;)

    Can't seem to find any guides on the net about getting it apart, unfortunately.
     
    Sensi Karate says thanks.
  9. Sensi Karate

    Sensi Karate New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    383 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Thanks for all the help man, much appreciated. :D

    The reason I didn't want to RMA was because I couldn't find the receipt and had nothing to say I actually bought it. However after scrounging around my wardrobe I found the receipt and after ringing up, they actually had documents themselves of my purchase so I'm RMA'ing the bitch and getting a brand spankin' new one. :D

    Cheers for your help. :D
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  10. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,050 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,623
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    You got the receipt, brilliant. :D No more messing, just get that replacement. :)
     
    Sensi Karate says thanks.
  11. Sensi Karate

    Sensi Karate New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    383 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Haha yeah I just want to have my 5600 dpi twin lazer back so I can start Booming Headshot's and getting First Blood's. :D

    Thanks for the help all, much appreciated. :)
     
    qubit says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page