1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CMD Ping fake and Pingtest "real"

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by carlosedt, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. carlosedt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi guys, I know, I'm new registered on this forum, but I'm always reading techpowerup :D

    Sorry to don't share too much information right now, I want to be directly with my question.

    I'm having ISP Issues right now, I have my Ticket Support for Technical issues, etc.

    I live in South America and my ISP is called "Intercable" i don't have issues too much but nothing is perfect. I always have my 10mb speeds and my ping to games servers from NA are very nice though, like in aion i have 80-100ms. League of legends: 110ms. SWTOR: 75ms (east). etc.

    Intercable is known as a bad isp from "Azureus" because they're using traffic shapping just because Intercable its from "Comcast"

    Ok, my question is simple:

    How they "fake" my CMD tracer/ping? see this:


    Ping to google

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/ihqr98qeg1y30d7/image%201.PNG

    Tracert to google
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/elarw9ljk25qg2o/image%202.PNG

    Ok, now see my tracert to IGN, the server is located in LA (like League of Legends)

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/kh1bhifg3321y4m/iamge%203.PNG


    Now: league of legends

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/4z5dg5dv2893yh6/Screen10.png

    (i have some peaks to 300ms)

    I have 110-130ms to IGN (LA Server) and the same time, I have 300ms in-game, how is that possible?. Even doing ping to the League of legend server give me 115ms.

    I'm pretty sure that is because of the traffic shapping, because I have some friends without traffic limit and they don't have this high latency, they got the same ping from cmd and in-game servers. I'm just curious, I want to know how is that.

    some pingtest:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I know, I know, they're horrible, but isually I have a nice ping.

    Like this:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/tgthyffsq0rb7xs/Screen11.png

    I hope that you can help me! I don't have any idea how they do this.

    Additional information:

    Router cisco 2320r2

    Thanks all!
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2013
  2. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,430 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,252
    ping www.google.com -f -l 1468 -ttl


    you can add ">ping.txt" to the end of that without quotes and let it run in the background while you game and then then when you use Ctrl+C to end it you will have a nice text file that shows your dropped packets and times.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  3. carlosedt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thanks for the reply, I'm getting 100-120ms to League of Legends ip server using ping on cmd, i have the log, while in-game server I have 300ms+ I just want to know how they can block my tracert/ping. I only can see my real ping doing a Pingtest, nothing more works, speedtest neither, just pingtest or playing online games.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page