1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

COD4 20 FPS when I look at smoke! 8800GT

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by mikel33, Dec 11, 2007.

  1. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hello,

    I have recently purchased an 8800GT SC. In COD4, I average about 200 FPS, but when I look at smoke, my FPS drops to the 20's! I didn't have this problem with the 2900 Pro. I've tried latest drivers and tried running the game on its lowest possible settings, but still get that 20 FPS when the smoke gets heavier. Anyone play COD4 that can help me with this, I would REALLY appreciate it! Thanks




    Q6600, 2 GB OCZ Ram, AW9D Max Motherboard, 320 GB WD, XP
  2. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    i think it's a driver problem, probably the next will fix this
  3. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    are you having the same problem? I am concidering an RMA, but if it's happening to others as well, I'll wait for a fix.
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,525 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,045
    have you tried to change the options for smoke edges in the game menu to see if there is any bennifits there?
  5. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Yeah, I've tried that. I've tried everything at minimum.

    Do you think my card is defective?
  6. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    bump
  7. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    99% sure it's a driver issue...
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,597 (13.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,986
    I'm almost certain you are maxing out your video memory. Smoke uses heavy particle effects that rely heavily upon your vmem. Esspecially since you are using a 24" monitor.
  9. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    I am going to say drivers here.
  10. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    740 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    If that was the case then the game should run fine when the op reduced it to minimum settings.

    It doesn't however.

    This leaves the most obvious suggestion of a driver issue.
  11. JousteR

    JousteR

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    168 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Cod2 was the same tbh..
    When i played in clanbase some servers removed it in there config as certain pc's couldnt render/handle smoke grenade..?
    But..........with a powerful up to date card like yours you would think it would handle it..?
    I run a 8800gts 640 and it's fine all full settings even in matches in e-dom..

    So i would also say it's a driver issue at the mo..:)
  12. mikel33 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Well, I'm not really talking about a smoke grenade.. I'm talking about the ambient smoke and DUST that is in all maps.. some spots have it thicker than others. For example, the main road in cross-fire is loaded with this smoke.. and as I trave; the main road I'll get into the 20s..

    I hope everyone is right in it being a driver issue and not a bad card.
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page