1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Colin Mcrae DiRT, is my system good enough?

Discussion in 'Games' started by MiST91, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. MiST91 Guest

    decided to download Colin Mcrae DiRT (about 1 day on 576kbps :-(, as i have completed all the others and thought it's about time i played DiRT.

    okay here are my system Specs, <-- they are to the left but i'l write them anyway.

    CPU: Intel Core2Duo E6300 1.86GHz @2.8GHz
    RAM: 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 DHX 800MHz & 2x1GB OCZ 667MHz ValueRAM @800MHz
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-P35C-DS3R
    Graphics (what i'm worried about): Sapphire Radeon x1650pro 256MB GDDR3 @ 634/1600
    and i'm running XP SP2

    how will this game run on my system?
  2. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    I think you'll be able to play it with the eye candy turned down... it won't be pretty but it'll run :\
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I refuse to help you due to the piracy.
  4. anticlutch

    anticlutch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    Why post at all then?

    edit: MiST, if you have some spare money I'd suggest you upgrade your video card... the HD 38x0 series are getting pretty cheap now... the 8800GS's from nVidia are pretty nice too.

    edit @ Jr: haha I thought you were serious there for a second :laugh:
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2008
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Just to bust your buttons. :p

    It twas a joke! I was trying to edit my post!

    EDIT: You will be able to play it fine no questions asked.
  6. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,543 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    I found it VERY heavy on my last system.TBH it`ll probably rape a 1650
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yes but you guys also have to understnad, its just as heavily cpu dependent as gpu .
  8. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    yeah but gpu is more important, he can play it but on lower res with eye candy off
  9. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    itll run just not at great res and detail. Mostlikely 1024x768 at med res wich i do with most games.
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    you will probably only get 1024x768 med/low settings. thats about were i played it on my 3000+/7800GS
  11. MiST91 Guest

    lol, was getting a bit worried then "JrRacinFan" lol.

    yeah, well as soon as i get my Nokia N95 on thursday, and once i get paid again i will probz get a graphics card,
    how much ismy 1650pro worth? (in £££ if possable please :cool:)



    edit. i could get an Xpert Vision 8500GT Sonic Edition 256MB DDR3 today, is this card any better than sapphire radeon 1650pro?
  12. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    How d'you know he didn't download it from Direct To Drive? ;)

    Dude, don't get a 8500, how much are you willing to spend? Definitely think about a 8800GT or a 3850*. Best bang for buck these days.

    * - could be OC'd to 3870 speeds.

    Fun game, tempted to buy it myself after playing the demo.
  13. MiST91 Guest

    oh yeah, "direct to drive" ;) lol, i never use bittorent :rolleyes:


    no, what i ment was, i could swap my 1650pro for an 8500GT today for free, would it be worth the effort?.

    i could probably get a Geforce 9600GT, or a HD3870 (probably 3870) in a couple of weeks.
  14. MiST91 Guest

    i am looking to spend around £100 (as long as i get £30 for my current graphics card)
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    wait and get the better card you wont see a big increase going to the 8500GT
  16. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Definitly wait a few weeks or more and get yaself a 3870.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page