1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Comcast

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by v12dock, Jul 31, 2010.

  1. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,558 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    301
    So my ISP decided to raise my bill $50 a month.. So I am thinking of switching to Comcast, I just would like peoples feedback on there service.
     
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,901 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    I think it depends on were you live like for me we had only 1 issue with comcast which we got 2 free months during the issue. So over the last 5 years we have recieved the speeds they said we would if not more some times. the 2 places we have lived have both been in houses.

    How ever i have a friend in IL and he's had nothing but line connection issue's with comcast although the problems been that bad for him they charge him a 1/3 of what the bill should be. Keep in mind that 3 places he's lived seems to be more problematic in multistory house type places which they had never been able to fix his issue 100%. Packet loss been very common and course real gaming \ teamspeak issue's.
     
  3. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,836 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,532
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I haven't personally used Comcast, but I believe they enforce a 250GB monthly internet cap. My friends who use Comcast don't appear to have many issues with them.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,070 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    comcast + torrents = hell
    comcast - torrents = good
    comcast + cap + torrents = very bad
    comcast - torrents + cap = ok.

    ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,901 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    lol, so true although i don't torrent unless it's some thing i cannot get hold of any other way. Cap lol 250GB frigging high cap i'd say and they let ya go over that they just charge you extra :p.
     
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,208 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Florida
    20/10 connection through comcast. i have to say its good stuff. i havent had any problems with them. my speeds are consistent.
     
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,933 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    I switched to Comcast from AT&T about 8 months ago, and haven't looked back.

    I paid $40 for the DSL Elite package which was 6Mb/768Kb(Download/Upload).
    At first I switched to the Comcast $45 package which was 15Mb/3Mb. It was so much faster than the DSL, and in 8 months has not gone out but once for about 15min. However, my speeds were never lower than what I paid for, even during peak hours, in fact they were almost always running at 20Mb/5Mb. After about 2 months I decided to upgrade to the $65 package which is 30Mb/7Mb and I get pretty constant 35Mb/10Mb speeds now.

    I've also downloaded way more than 250GB a month without issue, and never had problems with my torrents.
     
    freaksavior and driver66 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  8. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    Like it was mentioned above. Yes, they do enforce a 250 gig/month bandwith cap. Funny thing is, i went over one time and nothing seemed to happen. I think its not a bad ISP but then again im not paying for it, my folks are. On the bill it showed i went over the 250 gig cap but when i called em they said that your service stops if you go past the cap. Good thing you dont get charged i suppose..

    EDIT: BTW, on torrent i get a stable 1.4 MB/s. sometimes better...


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2010
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,208 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,565
    Location:
    Florida
  10. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,216 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    i have comcast here in pa, its alright i suppose though the upload is pretty crap in comparison to anything else in the area, though i do like the fact im not tied into a contract so i can up and move to another service when ever i want.
     
  11. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,070 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    This is new to me, I thought Comcast blocked the torrents uploading
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I have comcast and they don't block torrents at all. I also use PeerBlock and proXPN to protect myself while torrenting.

    Anyways, I've had good luck with them.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,933 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    I've never experienced that, the uploads are slower than the download, but I get less upload bandwidth. Uploads are still faster than with my DSL.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  14. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,706 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    449
    Location:
    East TN
    Love comcast, max download speed i've seen was 2.0mb and upload 500kps. I have 15/5 no caps
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page