1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Comcast's Super Fast Cable Modem

Discussion in 'News' started by Easy Rhino, May 10, 2007.

  1. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,506 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    Bonding together four cable lines, engineers at Cable Television Laboratories have developed a technology called 'DOCSIS 3.0' enabling transfer speeds of 150 megabits per second. Available in less than a couple of years, U.S cable provider Comcast will compete with Verizon's new FiOS service which delivers 50 megabits per second but offers nearly unlimited potential.

    Source: FOXNews
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2007
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    What, so they can charge us 4x what they do now? No thanks, I'm going to FIOS as soon as it comes to my neighborhood.
     
  3. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,506 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    well the rest of the article states the equipment costs the same so i guessing there wont be a price increase since verizon's fios is about the same cost/megabit. but yea you live in PA like me and we both know that cable is expensive for 6 mbps
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, Comcast prices are ridiculous here. I pay $45+/month(total with taxes and charges) for 6mb down/384kb up, my sister, who lives 30 min away, pays the same exact amount, for 10mb down/ 2mb up with FIOS. She had the same Comcast service as me before she switched to FIOS, also at the same cost.
     
  5. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,506 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    we pay the same price then :twitch: if fios gets here long before comcast can upgrade my connection to compete i will switch to fios.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Wow, prices are a bit cheaper here for Comcasts 6mbps connection (well now its 8MBPS and I think it goes up to 15 or 16MBPS) For like $37.95 for 1st 6mos then $42.00 for the rest of the time, its a bit cheaper, not much but some.
     
  7. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    i am still stuck with docsis 1.0 :(, i was delaying to buy a new modem just for 3.0.
     
  8. Saurian New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    40 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm getting hooked up with 5Mb/5Mb Fiber at my place next week for 45 dollars. I was about to pay 55 for 8/256k, which i had to get cable on top of that. I win.
     
  9. XooM New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    479 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Close to FrozenCPU.com
    Yay competition! Boo Commiecast...
     
  10. Benpi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    415 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Charter, in my city, claims that they could give all of their customers 100mbps Up and Down if they wanted to.
     
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,758 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,482
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    And do they want to?
     
  12. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I got charter here too. Its Comcast, Knology (Serving the greater Huntsville Areas) Charter Communications (Service Scottsboro, Larkinsville, Paint Rock, Gurley ((Where I live and you dont get shit for channels and no cable modem here) and Mediacom, which serves Brownsboro, Maysville and choice other locations. My sister has Mediacom online and its nice but not as fast as my DSL.
     
  13. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    If you're in England go with Virgin Media (formerly ntl). Great cable...they recently upgraded all 10MB customers to 20MB for free. I was on 1MB but I got a free upgrade to 2MB within 6 months of my subscription.

    I think they might upgrade the 2MB customers now. If not..

    bastards!

    Downside: My upload sucks.
     
  14. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,506 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    is it really MB as in megabytes or Mb as in megabits??
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    The 10MB is 1200kb/s (roughly, friend has it and it was something around there) and my 2MB is 240kb/s so I guess I meant megabits.

    My upload is only like 22kb/s :wtf: :shadedshu
     
  16. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,506 (4.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,357
    ahh yea thats megabits. and my upload sucks too. it equals roughly 45 KBps so
    360 kbps
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    I saw some guy with a 3MBPS upload.
     
  18. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    just to knitpick casheti :p 10mb would be 12000kb/s not 1200 or 1200KB/s, i get 6000kbps and thats on a slow 8meg line. wish i had cable again i loved it man 10mb line and a lot faster than dsl unfortunatly you cant get it in the town i live how f**king annoying is that :mad:
     
  19. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,961 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Ohio
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2007
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Juntao New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    slower is me

    We have 2 choices here one is verizon dsl and other is suddenlink(formerly charter). Both are only 3 meg and slower than life itself i would be ecstatic with 6 meg service.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page