1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Come all and rejoice with me!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Vincy Boy, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. Vincy Boy

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    182 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    St. Vincent and the Grenadines
    After about a month of terrible withdrawl symptoms caused by not having a PROPER computer :banghead: (check my system specs), things are looking up! I just ordered yesterday the following mouth-watering bits of hardware for my birthday today, YAY. What do you guys think?

    GIGABYTE GV-R485ZL-512H Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3:toast:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125238

    G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit ;)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231144

    ASUS P5Q-E LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard :toast:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131296

    Intel Core 2 Duo E8400:rockout:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115037

    XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler :D
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835233003

    Now I must wait for these things to be shipped all the way to Barbados via Fedex. Expensive no Sh!t. But it's my birthday and I'm worth it, lol.:p

    I just felt the need to share.:laugh:

    P.S. I've got a brand new Cooler Master extreme power 500W PSU. Should I be looking for better?
    Thanks for any input.
     
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Looks good, but I would have probably gone for 2x2gb of RAM, going from 2gb of 667 to 2gb 1066 ram wont really provide any worthwhile performance boost other than benches.
     
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    That psu could be a little low powered,only 2x16amp +12v rails.You could up it to a corsair hx520/650 for a little better security.
     
    Vincy Boy and alexp999 say thanks.
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Didnt see that bit I agree with tigger here. Get a corsair PSU if you can

    :toast:
     
    Vincy Boy says thanks.
  5. Vincy Boy

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    182 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    St. Vincent and the Grenadines
    I was thinking to get a 4gig set but funds were limited (had to skimp somewhere). Will look to get that in future. When I do should I add another 2 gigs of the same ram or go for a 2X2Gig set?
     
  6. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    That system won't use anything near 500W, doubt it'll cause any trouble. I've run more hardware on a far worse PSU.
     
    Vincy Boy says thanks.
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    You reckon that psu will be ok with them rails Dan?
     
  8. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
  9. Vincy Boy

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    182 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    St. Vincent and the Grenadines
    Will try to see if the folks at Promotech will take back this psu then. Selection may be very limited though and I doubt that they would have Corsair PSUs. Might be lucky to get an Antec. They do have Thermaltakes. I would just have to look for something with better specs and hope I can find a decent brand.
     
  10. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,914 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,979
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Yeah, you'd be best off getting a 600w+ psu. Think of it as a "insurance policy" for your system. Even though you'd probably be OK with what you have at stock speeds, you could be pushing things if you overclock the cpu/gpu.
     
    Vincy Boy says thanks.
  11. Vincy Boy

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    182 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    St. Vincent and the Grenadines
    Hope i can get the PSU replaced. Off to see if i can change it.

    I shall be posting some pics when I get my stuff. I'll try to make them a bit special and extraordinary :toast:
     
  12. Vincy Boy

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    182 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    St. Vincent and the Grenadines
    I can get my hands on this PSU in an exchange.
    Thermaltake Purepower W0129RU 600 WATT
    http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/Product.aspx?S=1170&ID=1527

    Any recommendation on it? The bugger costs the equivalent of US$185 here in Barbados but if it's worth the investment to safeguard my components I may just get it. But jeez that price is steep.
     
  13. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Niiiiice. I'm jealous bro.

    As far as the psu goes, 600watts will be enough power, but with a system like that, the 4850 won't last as long as the cpu/mb combo. You should invest in something a little more robust. I have an OCZ gamerXStream 700w and I've never had any issues with it. It's a real solid psu.
     
    Vincy Boy says thanks.
  14. Jmatt110

    Jmatt110 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Australia
    The thing I don't like about OCZ's GameXStream PSU's is thier smaller number of PCI-E connectors compared to say an equivalent Corsair.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page