1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Command line/tab

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by RavenMind, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. RavenMind New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hello. I've looked everywhere I can think of and can't seem to find a list of command line commands. Does such a list exist, and if so does anyone know where I can find it?

    Also, I read in an older post that a command to let you open GPU-Z to a specific tab was going to be included in the next release. I was just wondering if that is the case and if so, how do I use it?

    Thanks very much for a wonderful piece of software! :)

    RM
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Hi Raven. There aren't a whole lot of CLI switches. Here is a post I found from W1zz a couple years ago. I don't know if the list has changed at all since then, though.

    RavenMind says thanks.
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    Just checked the code:

    -minimized, -dump filename.xml, -card 1

    Looks like I forgot adding the "go to tab" option

    edit: this has been added and will be included in next release
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2012
    Naki, RavenMind and Aquinus say thanks.
  4. RavenMind New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Wonderful! Thanks very much!
    Naki says thanks.
  5. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    184 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Is that -card 1 option meant to use used to go to card 1?
    Do we use it like this:
    -card 1 goes to 1st card, -card 2 goes to 2nd.
    Or is it like this:
    -card 0 for 1st card, -card 1 for 2nd?
    It will be nice to have both the -card and -tab switches available.
  6. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    184 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    QUESTION/suggestion:
    * Why not remember the last active tab?
    For example, if you are on tab 2 and close the program, then run it again, for the program to open tab 2 again. But if the -tab X command-line option is used, then the program goes to X tab, regardless of last active tab.

    Does that make sense?
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    No plans to implement that. Many users (including me) look at tab 1, then click sensors tab 2 quickly and close the app. Expectation is that it will start at tab 1 again.
    Naki says thanks.
  8. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    184 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    OK, thanks!
    (I assume maybe this was suggested before...)
    May I ask, what exactly does such a routine have in mind - why look at tabs 1, then 2, then quickly close the app?
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    check if everything is ok with the card and temps are ok, or which sensors are visible etc.
    Naki says thanks.
  10. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    I assume Powershell is better in this regard?
  11. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    184 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Do you mean Microsoft Powershell? Or something else?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page