1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Command line/tab

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by RavenMind, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. RavenMind New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hello. I've looked everywhere I can think of and can't seem to find a list of command line commands. Does such a list exist, and if so does anyone know where I can find it?

    Also, I read in an older post that a command to let you open GPU-Z to a specific tab was going to be included in the next release. I was just wondering if that is the case and if so, how do I use it?

    Thanks very much for a wonderful piece of software! :)

    RM
     
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,129 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,240
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Hi Raven. There aren't a whole lot of CLI switches. Here is a post I found from W1zz a couple years ago. I don't know if the list has changed at all since then, though.

     
    RavenMind says thanks.
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,863 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,793
    Just checked the code:

    -minimized, -dump filename.xml, -card 1

    Looks like I forgot adding the "go to tab" option

    edit: this has been added and will be included in next release
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2012
    Naki, RavenMind and Aquinus say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. RavenMind New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Wonderful! Thanks very much!
     
    Naki says thanks.
  5. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    294 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Is that -card 1 option meant to use used to go to card 1?
    Do we use it like this:
    -card 1 goes to 1st card, -card 2 goes to 2nd.
    Or is it like this:
    -card 0 for 1st card, -card 1 for 2nd?
    It will be nice to have both the -card and -tab switches available.
     
  6. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    294 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    QUESTION/suggestion:
    * Why not remember the last active tab?
    For example, if you are on tab 2 and close the program, then run it again, for the program to open tab 2 again. But if the -tab X command-line option is used, then the program goes to X tab, regardless of last active tab.

    Does that make sense?
     
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,863 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,793
    No plans to implement that. Many users (including me) look at tab 1, then click sensors tab 2 quickly and close the app. Expectation is that it will start at tab 1 again.
     
    Naki says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    294 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    OK, thanks!
    (I assume maybe this was suggested before...)
    May I ask, what exactly does such a routine have in mind - why look at tabs 1, then 2, then quickly close the app?
     
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,863 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,793
    check if everything is ok with the card and temps are ok, or which sensors are visible etc.
     
    Naki says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,703 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,791
    Location:
    Chicago
    I assume Powershell is better in this regard?
     
  11. Naki

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    294 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Do you mean Microsoft Powershell? Or something else?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)