1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Company of Heroes will get DirectX 10 patch Q1 2007

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Jan 20, 2007.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Company of Heroes, one of the best RTS games of 2006, may be the first game to be patched to use DirectX10. The patch, which can be expected sometime in March, will redo a lot of the textures. It will also add several new features, streamline the graphics engine, and generally make things look prettier. The DX10 version of Company of Heroes will actually run faster than the DX9 version, however once you add in all the additional gameplay features THQ plans on adding, the two versions of Company of Heroes will perform about the same.

    Source: The Inquirer
  2. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I can't imagine COH looking prettier, but I can't wait!
  3. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Makes no sense to me, they are better off producing a expansion pack and charging $20 for the experience IMO.
  4. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    So you'd rather spend $20 than get something for free?
  5. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    So will DX10 run on our older cards? I have an ATI Radeon 9800xt. Will DX10 run on XP or will it run only on Vista?

    I DONT want to upgrade to VISTA whatsoever after reading some of the information out there. Even when I build a new computer in 6 months or so it will not have Vista on it.
  6. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,114 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,125
    Mebey in software emulation or with multi pass to achieve the same. So really no. Not as fast at truly native DX10 hardware will.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  7. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    Steevo,

    Will I have to get VISTA to use DX10? I sure hope not
  8. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,114 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,125
    Yes.


    Unless for some reason Micro$hit backports it.




    Sucks Dunnit. I still have a key for Ultimate however and will see about getting a free copy for all my hard work.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  9. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    yep to guttboy
  10. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    You need to re-read what I posted.
  11. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    &%W@(% @#*&&!!!!!

    I have been reading the posts on VISTA and it seems like with all the DRM issues and the talk about if there is a change voltages etc it wont do things well.....how will that affect OC'ing for us....

    Reason for asking is I LOVE Company of Heroes....just started playing it last weekend. It runs OK on my laptop and on my gamerig but as some of us here I like to get the best graphics I can (max settings)...if the patch comes out for DX10....will we all be screwed if we dont have vista? I think so....I believe they could stop providing updates/support for DX9????
  12. Bob The Fish New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    121 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta Canada
    DX8 stoped recving updates not long after DX9 came out and this will probly so for DX9 to DX10. Shame M$ is forceing Vista on us gamers so we can play new games.
  13. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Vista will have DX10 and dx9L

    DX10 is not backwords compatable at all. So there is no way for it to work on XP seeing that it works underDX9.
  14. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    The entire underlying architecture has been changed on how you interact with the API. You can't just change something like that on XP. Though I can't see it being impossible to create some type of emulation layer on XP for dx10 - nothing is impossible.
  15. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I re-read it 5 times. You said it makes no sense to you, that they would release a DX10 patch for free. They should bundle it with an expansion pack and sell it for $20.

    So to enhance the current game to DX10, we have to spend $20. Regardless if there are some silly expansion maps.

    Am I missing some secret hidden message here?
  16. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Wow, Company of Heroes is an RTS game? Like Warcraft and stuff?
  17. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    OMG war eagle HELL YES!!!!!!!

    Absolutely incredible...and the camera abilities are insanely cool! Check out this link to some of the games being played on TSN!

    Take a look at this link here...I have watched just about all of the vids on here and they are simply incredible!

    http://www.tsncentral.com/ondemand/311206926919/
  18. overcast New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    737 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    It's an action oriented RTS. Absolutely amazing. Nothing like Warcraft or it's clones. It focuses on frontline combat and squads, not base building.
  19. Mad-Matt

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    180 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    UK, Lincoln
    they need to fix all the current gfx issues with thegame and dx9 before worrying about dx10 :|
  20. spectre440 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    948 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Israel

    something more along the lines of "one of the best RTS games of all times" would have been more appropriate, imho. :)
  21. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,410 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    definetly
  22. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    What is tsn central? Some kind of gaming showdown website? I've never heard of it.
  23. Guttboy

    Guttboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    291 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Colorado
    Its like the ESPN of gaming...LOL....listen to some of the episodes for CoH....they are pretty addicting to watch!
  24. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,410 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    Tales of Heroes is frigin amazing, helped me so much

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page