1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

compatablity pci slots

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by rick_newton37, Oct 11, 2011.

  1. rick_newton37 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is the hp pavillion elite 9220f desktop, which only has 1 16X pci slot but extra 3 X1 pci slots( should be enough actual room), able to use Zotac Geforce GTS 450 (1Gb GDDR5) which requires 2 16X pci slots. i do know about power supply upgrade. i have this desktop im just not at home for thanksgiving. thanks for help. just need to know if there is enough room and it will actually work.
     
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm not sure what you're asking. No, that card doesn't take two PCI-E slots. Maybe you misunderstood it as being dual-slot, which means the card physically takes up the room of two expansion bays, not that it requires two PCI-E slots. The other thing I can guess at is you read PCI-E 2.0 thinking it needs two PCI-E slots, when in fact PCI-E 2.0 means version 2.0 of PCI-E spec, not that it takes two slots.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. ezekiel77 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    17 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah either that, or he misread the SLI which states that 2 slots are required
     
  4. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Doesn't help that he is confusing PCI and PCIe :rolleyes:
     
  5. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,801 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    it looks the first one its about your board that has 4 pci (16x and 3 1x)
    and the second one is you buy GTS 450 that eats space 2 slots
    am i right?
    if like that you just fine, so you can use 1 slot pci 16x and 2 slots pci 1x, the other pci 1x is not usable coz its covered by your vga card
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page